We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It felt like a home from home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Davids
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bryn Awel Bed & Breakfast St Davids
Ranked #2 of 18 St Davids B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It felt like a home from home”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We received such a warm welcome and attentive care from Jane and Pete that it felt like staying with friends. Bryn Awel is well placed in the center of town, it has a nicely appointed guest lounge, our room was comfortable and we enjoyed good vegetarian breakfasts. There are plenty of options nearby for evening meals. Pete was on hand with maps, leaflets and local knowledge to ensure we made good use of our time. We had a lovely day on Ramsey Island and with plenty of great walks in the area, we feel sure we will be back at Bryn Awel again sometime in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeteandJaneBrynAwel, Owner at Bryn Awel Bed & Breakfast St Davids, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Great to meet you both and a great review,thank you very much! You seemed to pack in a lot whilst here in St Davids, and we were glad to help you have an enjoyable stay. The trips to and around Ramsey are exceptional as you said. We hope you stay here at Bryn Awel next time you come to the area. See you soon, Best Wishes Pete & Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    22
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
209
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed at Bryn Awel for three nights recently and couldn't fault our stay with Pete and Jane. They are a lovely couple who offer a high level of customer service. We received a warm welcome on arrival and the accommodation was very comfortable and the guest house is well positioned. Both Pete and Jane are very knowledgeable about the area and offered good advice about places to visit and walks to undertake in the area. The weather was very kind to us during our stay particularly on the day we visited Marloes Sands. We would definitely recommend anyone visiting St David's to stay in Bryn Awel, you will not be disappointed. We wish every success to Pete and Jane for the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neanderthalprima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeteandJaneBrynAwel, Owner at Bryn Awel Bed & Breakfast St Davids, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Hi Both, thank you for your positive review of your stay with us here at Bryn Awel, it was great to meet you and we hope to welcome you here again in the future. Its great when guests say that they couldn't fault their stay here because it just reminds us that we are on the right track in providing a good place to stay in the heart of St Davids, whilst being to enjoy the area ourselves too! See you here again we hope, thanks again! Best Wishes Pete & Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

This was the start of our walking holiday in Wales, which was booked with a tour company. Although there was a misunderstanding with our arrival time, Pete and Jane (our hosts) quickly helped us feel welcome and get settled in. The house and our en-suite room were lovely and comfortable. The B&B is on the main street of St. David's, a short walk to everything we needed and half hour walk to the coast. Pete and Jane are excellent hosts! We really enjoyed getting to know them during our short stay. They offered recommendations and local information and even booked a table for us at a nearby restaurant when we arrived back after a long day of hiking. We also enjoyed a delicious Pembrokeshire breakfast each morning! We would highly recommend this lovely B&B to anyone who wants a comfortable base for exploring this beautiful part of Wales.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeteandJaneBrynAwel, Owner at Bryn Awel Bed & Breakfast St Davids, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Hi Both, great to hear from you and thank you so much for your great review! It was good to meet you on your tour of Wales, and we are so pleased that we were able to make your stay in St Davids and walk along the Pembrokeshire Coast Path a positive and enjoyable one! Next time you are over from Canada please be sure to drop in to see us. Thank you for staying at Bryn Awel, Best Wishes Pete & Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherington, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We decided to go away to St Davids for a few days break and Bryn Awel was recommended and we certainly weren't disappointed. We had lovely weather for our trip and Jane & Pete made our stay even more enjoyable. Our accomodation was fabulous and we were given a very friendly welcome. Their walk recommendations were great and they couldn't have been more helpful. We had a lovely few days and would certainly go back and stay at Bryn Awel again. Great hosts, great accomodation, great location and great weather - who can ask for more!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeteandJaneBrynAwel, Owner at Bryn Awel Bed & Breakfast St Davids, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Many Thanks for your really positive review of your stay with us here at Bryn Awel, it was great to meet you both and we hope to catch up with you again in the future. We always like to see people enjoy St Davids and the peninsular and if advice and tips from us makes that easier then that's great to hear! Thank you again, see you soon Best Wishes Pete & Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2013

This was our first visit to Pembrokeshire and we weren’t disappointed. We got the train to Haverfordwest and had a fine bus-ride to St David’s. We have nothing to add to the well-deserved superlatives about Bryn Awel and about Pete and Jane’s welcome and general helpfulness, but if you do go, it is worth going for longer than a couple of days. We had a full week with them and we found we were able to cover different sections of the coastline every day. A couple of them were walkable from St David’s direct, and for the others we made use of the surprisingly frequent and extensive bus service that runs in and out of St David’s and around the coastline. We were perhaps lucky to get very good weather for our walks around the breathtaking coast, but we would still have done the walks without the sunshine. A highlight of the week was a trip around Ramsey Island in a boat from St Justinian’s (don’t take a car there, you’ll have trouble parking. Catch the bus that runs every 15 minutes). Other highlights were King Lear at the Bishop’s House, and visits to the Cathedral and the visitor centre, where you can easily spend half a day. St David’s itself is small but well-provided for in shops and restaurants. A tip about eating: the Bishops and the Farmers Arms pubs do very good food but get frantically busy around 7 o’clock, so try the Old Cross Hotel, which is just as good food-wise and doesn’t get as crowded. For beer drink Rev James. Our one small disappointment of the week was the Saffron curry restaurant. Everyone kept saying how wonderful it is, but when we arrived at 7 o’clock on Thursday 8 August we found that the table we had booked the previous evening had been given to someone else, even though we turned up at exactly the time booked. To rub salt into the wound, our fellow guests at breakfast the next morning were saying what a wonderful time they’d had at the Saffron the previous evening! All in all, though, an excellent week’s holiday. You can park there easily enough, but don’t take a car. Oh, and don’t try to resist the local ice cream.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KenStannard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeteandJaneBrynAwel, Owner at Bryn Awel Bed & Breakfast St Davids, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Great to hear from you so soon, and thank you so much for your kind words and positive review! It was great having you both here for the week, and you were lucky with the weather too! You seemed to get so much out of the area, using the coastal bus services which are brilliant, and it means that you dont need to bring your car here as you said. You are very welcome to come back and stay anytime and we both look forward to seeing you again. Thank you again, Best Wishes Pete & Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Two teachers staying in Pembrokeshire for the first time...we couldn't have chosen a better B and B. From the first phone call, Pete and Jane were friendly, professional and couldn't have been more helpful. On arrival, we were greeted with a very warm welcome and our hosts made sure we knew lots about the local area before venturing out. The room was clean with modern decor and a lovely bathroom. The locally sourced breakfast was great. Location was central, with a short stroll to local amenities and easy drives to beautiful beaches. Pete and Jane even provided us with one of their own jackets on a rainy day. We would recommend this B and B to all!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeteandJaneBrynAwel, Owner at Bryn Awel Bed & Breakfast St Davids, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Wow, great review thank you so much! Great to meet you both and thank you for staying at Bryn Awel, we only wish that the weather had been kinder to you, but you did get on with it, and lending guests waterproofs is all part of the service! Perhaps next time it will be sunnier? We do enjoy running our B&B so helping guests get the best out of their stay is just part of that. Hope to see you here again soon, Best Wishes Pete & Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Living in Bridgend, South Wales, we decided to have a weekend break in St David's & chose Bryn Awel - what a good choice. A lovely warm welcome with a pot of tea and a chat to tell us about some local walks and places of interest, as well as places to eat.

Despite no on-site parking, it is only a very short walk to park in the street opposite, so very convenient. The guest house is also well situated - a pleasant walk to the coastal path, and close to shops, the Cathedral, pubs, cafes etc.

Some fabulous photos on display in the hall, dining room and living room - all of local scenic spots & taken by Pete & Jane. They are very enthusiastic about their location and keen for all their guests to thoroughly enjoy their stay. Of course the weather helps as well, and we were lucky to have mostly dry & sunny weather.

Really enjoyed the weekend, perfect for a short break away.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayhowell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeteandJaneBrynAwel, Owner at Bryn Awel Bed & Breakfast St Davids, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
What a lovely review thank you very much, it was great to have you both to stay here at Bryn Awel, and we hope you make the journey from Bridgend again to stay with us at some point. You were quite lucky to avoid most of the showers this time! Thanks again for your kind words, see you soon! Best Wishes Pete & Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Davids hotels
0.1 mi away
St. Davids Cross Hotel
St. Davids Cross Hotel
#2 of 6 in St Davids
312 reviews
0.2 mi away
Twr y Felin Hotel
Twr y Felin Hotel
#1 of 6 in St Davids
175 reviews
0.4 mi away
Warpool Court Hotel
Warpool Court Hotel
#3 of 6 in St Davids
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Grove Hotel
Grove Hotel
#5 of 6 in St Davids
283 reviews
0.5 mi away
Penrhiw Hotel
Penrhiw Hotel
#3 of 18 in St Davids
197 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ramsey House
Ramsey House
#1 of 18 in St Davids
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bryn Awel Bed & Breakfast St Davids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryn Awel Bed & Breakfast St Davids

Property: Bryn Awel Bed & Breakfast St Davids
Address: 45 High Street, St Davids SA62 6SB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > St Davids Peninsula > St Davids
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in St Davids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bryn Awel Bed & Breakfast St Davids 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our friendly family-run bed and breakfast is open all year round and offers 3 en-suite double room accommodation, a comfortable guest sitting room and a welcoming breakfast room. To take a Virtual Tour of our Bed & Breakfast, please search "Bryn Awel St Davids", and click the see inside image. We are centrally located in St Davids, opposite Oriel y Parc Visitors Centre, only 5 minutes walk from St Davids Cathedral and 10-15 minutes walk from the Pembrokeshire Coastal Path and stunning beach at Caerfai Bay. Bryn Awel is ideally positioned to enable visitors to take advantage of St Davids main attractions. We provide the traditional full-cooked and cold breakfast options, using locally sourced organic/naturally reared meat, eggs and dairy products. Vegetarians are also very welcome. We provide packed lunches and luggage transfer can be provided and as keen walkers and cyclists ourselves we are always on hand to provide local advice, information and directions for our guests. We look forward to welcoming you at Bryn Awel Bed & Breakfast, St Davids. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bryn Awel Bed & Breakfast St Davids Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing