We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Davids
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bryn Awel Bed & Breakfast St Davids
Ranked #2 of 18 St Davids B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2014

This is a really nice B&B. Room was spacious, clean and lovely decorated; and most importantly the bed was comfy. The owners, Jane and Pete, were very friendly and I received a very warm welcome upon my arrival for my one night stay.
They were also very helpful, offering me a lot of great tips about touring around St. Davids. Jane was also very accommodating with my late breakfast request and my late night request on batteries.
One thing I would add is that it would be perfect if room temperature could be self-adjusted in the room.
I did enjoy my stay at Bryn Awel B&B. It was lovely.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smartalice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeteandJaneBrynAwel, Owner at Bryn Awel Bed & Breakfast St Davids, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thank you for the great review, we enjoy welcoming guests from all over the world and its always a pleasure to ensure that the information we provide helps everybody get the most out of their stay in St Davids and the peninsular.Hope to see you here again when you visit west wales! Thanks again, Best Wishes Pete & Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

Registered for the Tour of Pembrokeshire back in September 2013, with the cycle ride in April 2014. Started looking for somewhere convenient to stay straight after registering. Bryn Awel is on the high street at the top near the Oriel y Parc visitor centre - and the start of the cycle sportive. On arrival we were welcomed in and the 2 bikes wheeled through to a lockable shed in the back garden. Bags unloaded and car parked in a parallel side street we were welcomed again with a pot of tea. We were in the upstairs front bedroom and it was great. Modern furnishings, comfy bed and a small TV. And very important, as phone reception in St Davids can be patchy, free wifi. Bathroom was great, and after a long day of cycling - a bath with shower. Breakfast: cereal, yoghurt or hot cooked to order. After the battering the weather gave us this year, if I do the cycle ride again then I will be booking Bryn Awel again. We were looked after very well.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil_Dr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeteandJaneBrynAwel, Owner at Bryn Awel Bed & Breakfast St Davids, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thanks Phil, your positive comments on your stay here at Bryn Awel over the tour of pembrokeshire weekend are much appreciated. What a great event, even the weather didnt dampen spirits. It was great to meet you both and well done for completing the circuit, we have had a busy year so far with bikes, as a cyclists friendly bed & breakfast, and we hope to see more here through 2014. Look forward to to welcoming you back here in the not too distant future! Best Wishes Pete & Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Myself and my wife had an excellent stay over the Easter weekend (2014) at Bryn Awel in St Davids. We were blessed with good weather so made the most of the beautiful local area, but when we returned, our rooms and the B&B in general were clean and comfortable and our hosts were friendly and welcoming! The B&B is located near the centre of St Davids with all its amenities, with free parking available down a side street just around the corner. We'd certainly recommend to anybody wishing to stay!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeteandJaneBrynAwel, Owner at Bryn Awel Bed & Breakfast St Davids, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Hi Alex, thanks so much to you both for staying here at Bryn Awel and for your positive review and recommendations too! Lovely to meet you and we hope you both make the trip west to stay with us again in the near future. Best Wishes Pete & Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We had an excellent stay at Bryn Awel over the Easter weekend. Pete and Jane are welcoming and friendly and have a lovely B&B. They went out of their way to ensure we had a great stay, provided lots of information on walking and restaurants in the local area. The B&B is in an excellent location walking distance to everything in St Davids, was only a few minutes walk to TYF adventures where we did coasteering/kayaking and a short walk to a great coastal path with beautiful coastal walk. The breakfast was excellent with a great selection of food. The room was quiet, peaceful and perfectly clean. We will recommend other friends and family stay here when they visit St Davids. Thank you for a great weekend!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeteandJaneBrynAwel, Owner at Bryn Awel Bed & Breakfast St Davids, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Hi Laura, wow thanks or your great review, you seemed to enjoy your stay here at Bryn Awel and having fun on the awesome coastline on the peninsular. Thank you for your review and for recommending us to others, hope to see you here again in the near future. Best Wishes Pete & Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Jane greeted us - by name - at the door, and soon had a pot of tea ready for us, along with all sorts of information and helpful suggestions for our time in St Davids. Our room was in the back, quite tiny for two with luggage, but spotlessly clean and with a comfy bed. I peeked into the other two rooms the next day and saw that they are a bit larger and brighter. Guests can also use the lounge which is very cozy and inviting. And when Pete gets the garden finished, it will provide perfect quiet little spots to relax in. The hot breakfast was wonderful, and the omelettes especially tasty. St Davids is one of our favorite places in the world, and we are glad to have found the perfect place to stay there.

Room Tip: The room at the back is cozy but a bit smallish, the middle room is a little bigger and brighter. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nlsauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeteandJaneBrynAwel, Owner at Bryn Awel Bed & Breakfast St Davids, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Hi Alice, many thanks for your lovely review it was great to have you stay here at Bryn Awel, and so glad you enjoyed it. Probably something we should have mentioned is that all our rooms have room thermostats so that guests can set their rooms to what ever temperature they like, a real must when we have guests from all over the world. Thanks again for the great review! Best Wishes Pete & Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Having stayed in St Davids for years we are really pleased to have discovered Bryn Awel at the beginning of April 2014. From stepping in to leaving we could not have been looked after better. The property had a great relaxed atmosphere, the room was comfortable and the lounge which is for guests use only was fantastic , it was home from home (unfortunately our lounge isn't as nice). Peter and Jane where great hosts and were genuinely interested in what we had been up to (they manage this in a style that is not intrusive in any way) and had great knowledge of the area.

The accommodation its self was very clean the beds were comfy with lovely soft pillows and our room was very quiet so a great night sleep was assured (I am a light sleeper and I am fussy about noise in Hotels B and B's etc.) In the morning we were cooked a lovely breakfast at a time that suited us.

The location was spot on it was great to just walk out and have everything at our feet , there are plenty of places to eat and drink close by.

This will definitely be a place we use as a bolt hole in the future as an escape from the rigours of a very busy life and a place to come and wind down.

Thanks Peter and Jane for a great stay.

George and Tory.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geo747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeteandJaneBrynAwel, Owner at Bryn Awel Bed & Breakfast St Davids, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Hi George and Tory, thank you very much for staying with us a few weeks ago and for your great review its much appreciated. Hope your house move went well and wasnt too stressful! It was good fun chatting with you both and we enjoyed having you to stay here at Bryn Awel, and glad to hear we are one of the places you will escape to when the need arises, you are always welcome. Thanks again for your positive comments and hope to see you again in the future, Best Wishes Pete & Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Reading previous reviews leading up to this review, there is little that we can add. We have stayed in quite a lot of bed and breakfasts over the last few years, but have only occasionally received a welcome such as Jane and Peter give. They were genuinely interested in why we were staying and remained interested in our holiday throughout. We took heed of their advice and had a wonderful time. They both treated all guests in a friendly but professional manner and they could not have been more helpful.
The room was spotless, bed comfortable, breakfast delicious and plentiful. The bed and breakfast is ideally placed in St. David's with just a short walk to the centre and the restaurants/pubs. We only wish that we were just a little closer.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front and we slept well. If it not too hot, shut the window as it faces the mai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poppypower17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeteandJaneBrynAwel, Owner at Bryn Awel Bed & Breakfast St Davids, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Hi both, it was great to have you here to stay at Bryn Awel, Jane and I enjoyed meeting you and chatting and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here and in St Davids so much, you really did get out and about to take in what the area has to offer. Thank you very much for your lovely comments we enjoyed running the B&B and living in such a great area. Appreciate you are a fair distance away but we hope that you get back here again in the near future and come and stay with us too! Thanks again, Best Wishes Pete & Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Davids hotels
0.2 mi away
Twr y Felin Hotel
Twr y Felin Hotel
#1 of 6 in St Davids
234 reviews
0.1 mi away
St. Davids Cross Hotel
St. Davids Cross Hotel
#2 of 6 in St Davids
358 reviews
0.4 mi away
Warpool Court Hotel
Warpool Court Hotel
#3 of 6 in St Davids
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ramsey House
Ramsey House
#1 of 18 in St Davids
459 reviews
0.2 mi away
The City Inn
The City Inn
#16 of 18 in St Davids
84 reviews
0.5 mi away
Penrhiw Hotel
Penrhiw Hotel
#3 of 18 in St Davids
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bryn Awel Bed & Breakfast St Davids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryn Awel Bed & Breakfast St Davids

Address: 45 High Street, St Davids SA62 6SB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > St Davids Peninsula > St Davids
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in St Davids
Price Range: £40 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our friendly family-run bed and breakfast is open all year round and offers 3 en-suite double room accommodation, a comfortable guest sitting room and a welcoming breakfast room. To take a Virtual Tour of our Bed & Breakfast, please search "Bryn Awel St Davids", and click the see inside image. We are centrally located in St Davids, opposite Oriel y Parc Visitors Centre, only 5 minutes walk from St Davids Cathedral and 10-15 minutes walk from the Pembrokeshire Coastal Path and stunning beach at Caerfai Bay. Bryn Awel is ideally positioned to enable visitors to take advantage of St Davids main attractions. We provide the traditional full-cooked and cold breakfast options, using locally sourced organic/naturally reared meat, eggs and dairy products. Vegetarians are also very welcome. We provide packed lunches and luggage transfer can be provided and as keen walkers and cyclists ourselves we are always on hand to provide local advice, information and directions for our guests. We look forward to welcoming you at Bryn Awel Bed & Breakfast, St Davids. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bryn Awel Bed & Breakfast St Davids Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing