We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Informative and fun afternoon for all ages”

Pembrokeshire Sheepdogs
Ranked #25 of 32 things to do in St Davids
Attraction details
The BORDERers
Level Contributor
108 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Informative and fun afternoon for all ages”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We took four generations of our family to see the sheepdog demo and everyone enjoyed it, including our collie puppy. Lots of thought went into showing the dogs skills but with some funny turns included such as the dog driving a quad bike and naughty Spud the escaping collie. Tea and cakes were excellent and well priced and merchandise was good quality. Lovely walks to the cliffs for super views from normally private land. Limited season so catch it before they close - great family fun and you learn a lot about the physche of a collie!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank B0rderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    5
    0
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great fun visit”
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

This was something a little bit different and the kids loved it. Really liked the naughty dog running in to the crowd and the quad bike riding. Learnt a lot about the training process and they are very clever dogs.

Its a lovely walk afterwards down to the coast and very nice homemade cakes too.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank DaveBush19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
“Happy dogs but very unhappy geese”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

It was lovely to see the working relationship between the shepherd and the dogs, however, the afternoon was marred by the part of the show involving herding of the geese. This was only about 5 or 10 minutes long but the geese was very obviously distressed, one of them had a nasty looking sore on it's wing and would therefore have felt even more vulnerable. Part of the act was to have the dog herd them up a slide and then they would slip down into a paddling pool. The children (understandably) loved this but the geese did not, It must have been obvious to all the adults that the geese were very stressed and I found it disturbing to be part of a group in which the animals feelings were being bypassed in the name of entertainment and children were being encouraged to laugh instead of respecting them.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

This was our second visit and we enjoyed it just as much as the first time. The demonstration provides a good overview of sheepdog training for the uninitiated with lots of fun elements to keep children entertained (look out for the sheep which change colour by magic!) There's a small covered stand and outdoor benches for the audience to use. We took a picnic and ate it before the show. You can go for a walk through the farmland to the cliff tops before or after the sheepdog demonstration and there's a small counter selling cakes and drinks. This is a working farm so everything is very informal - that's probably why we like it so much!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank JesterJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A surprisingly fun afternoon”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

My husband wasn't that keen to visit but we both thoroughly enjoyed our visit. It was a great well thought out show and it was very interesting to see the dogs at work. The dogs were lovely and even naughty at times!!!
It is a relaxed, family run farm in a lovely area.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pembrokeshire Sheepdogs also viewed

St Davids, St Davids Peninsula
St Davids, St Davids Peninsula
 
St Davids, St Davids Peninsula
St Davids, St Davids Peninsula
 

Been to Pembrokeshire Sheepdogs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing