We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mark Napper's Garden Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Warpool Court Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in St Davids
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Just had another meal at this new restaurant at the Warpool Court Hotel. Excellent food and reasonable prices and certainly worth a visit. Mark has a wealth of experience having cooked for the famous and not so famous!

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
33  Thank ReallywildB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2013

We stayed on a three day 'spring special break'. We received a warm welcome and a tour of the public areas which are quite fascinating. Our room was lovely and had a fantastic sea view. We were a little disappointed with the Garden Restaurant as it is very small and tables are much too close together. Why not use the breakfast room which is so much nicer and means that guests actually have the table that corresponds to their room. We were given a different table each evening but on the last evening we asked to use one of the front tables but were told it had been reserved for the owners! Hello? Why should the owners be treated differently? The restaurant is franchised out so why did they have preferential treatment?
The food was lovely and the chef was very accommodating with my allergy to onions (apart from the mistake one evening when the vegetables were garnished with spring onions so had to be returned). We laughed it off as everything else was so lovely, including the waiting staff who were few yet very efficient. Breakfast on the last morning was a bit disappointing as the bacon had been under the lamps for too long so was very rubbery. We heard other guests complain although we didn't mention it. We were told that the restaurant is only open 5 nights a week and this seems very strange for a hotel. I know there are restaurants near by but I like to dress for dinner and if the weather was inclement (typically British) I know that I would not be happy to walk down to town. All in all though, a lovely experience and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucindaLucile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Hidden away away just a stone's throw from the Cathedral in St David's this is a special family hotel. We'd visited several times before and it was pleasing to find that Rupert, the manager, has retained his old magic. Spirits were lifted by rafts of spring bulbs along the drive, then the warmest welcome for us and also for "first timers" and our dogs! Nothing too much trouble and the climb to room 20 well worth the effort, what a view!. The restaurant has been franchised out to Mark Napper who has created a pretty, modern dining room which is a great improvement and his food will surely gain a great following. A shortish menu, but with something for everyone; beautifully presented food with sensitive touches. Great breakfasts in our room with the view too. This location and quality come at a price but I suspect that many our our fellow guests will also be returning.

Room Tip: Well worth the supplement for sea views especially on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
27  Thank jtaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Had a great long weekend here . The Mark Napper restaurant had great food and knowing I was Vegetarian changed the meal every night .
The Room swere exceedingly comfortabl with some excelent artwork ( Especially the John Knapp Fischer whom I was already a fan of and now I have seen more of his work )

Only issue fo rme was I had to walk into St Davids to get som elunch for my Mother who had decided to have a quiet day reading and we should have known this the night before.
Staff were very friendly especially those on the evening shift last wekend

Room Tip: Sea view is a must and worth the premium, Plenty of local art to enjoy as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Derek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

We had an enjoyable stay here and a sunny few days, but I didn't feel the hotel was good value for money.

Below are some pro's and con's.

PRO'S:
Beautiful views
Good location, only ten min walk to town
Lovely grounds (great for our lively Labrador)
Friendly service (all reception and waiting staff were friendly and helpful)
Nice breakfast, and delicious dinners

CON'S:
Bed was so hard, we stayed 3 nights and I found it hard to get a comfortable night sleep (I stayed in spacious master bedroom).
Room was noisy at times with the room upstairs keeping us awake some nights (would recommend top floor room to reduce this).

Our favourite beaches in the area were Broadhaven South (40min drive) or Whitesands (10min drive).

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank horse-rider77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Every now and again you find something or somewhere that exceeds expectations and could not be improved. The location is dramatic and beautiful, the staff are welcoming and helpful without being intrusive. The room was presented beautifully and kept that way during our stay. In the restaurant the atmosphere is cosy and the menu is good without being pretentious. The breakfast menu includes not to be missed kippers, fantastic marmalade and unlike some fine restaurants the breakfast cook can poach an egg. Overall great value for money.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
27  Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We returned to Warpool Court after its Winter closure. We were a little apprehensive of the new arrangements for dining but need not have worried. Mark Napper is now in charge of the catering, having previously been at Warpool some years ago, and having a very successful career including his own highly-regarded restaurant.

The old Summer Lounge is now Mark Napper's Garden Restaurant, with 24 covers and an excellent menu. The old winter lounge is the reception area for the restaurant , with log fire and interesting paintings and personal touches. Mark is a skilled chef with an obvious passion for his food. The home-made bread is his speciality and was wonderful, especially the sun dried tomato.Served with Welsh butter, we would have been happy to eat just this! There were several choices of Starter, including amongst others Solva crab salad, excellent soup, smoked salmon and mackerel salad, plus vegetarian option.

Main courses came with appropriate vegetables in generous amounts, and beef medallions with hand cut chips and a pepper sauce was beautifully done. Sourcing local produce, Mark's fish dishes were excellent and Whiting fillet in Panko crumbs with a minted pea puree and hand cut chips was the best we had had in a long time, being a wonderfully fresh, thick fillet cooked to perfection. The menu changes regularly and there were new dishes each day during our stay, and again included a good vegetarian option.

Deserts were equally enjoyable, with the Bara Brith bread and butter pudding instantly becoming a favourite. Delicious ice cream, panna cotta and other dishes featured. Chocoholics are catered for too, and the cheese board featured local cheeses.
Coffee with home-made fudge and mints completed a very enjoyable meal.
As Mark's restaurant is run separately, you may find it easier to pay for meals as you go each evening. Wine and bar is added to the hotel bill.

Mark is also responsible for breakfast, and smoked haddock with poached egg was a great start to the day, although a mysterious half hour wait did occur one morning. We look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Room 4 has the best view of the bay.The hotel hot water tanks are behind one wall, so it can get war...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Granjan48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Davids
0.5 mi away
Twr y Felin Hotel
Twr y Felin Hotel
#1 of 6 in St Davids
238 reviews
0.4 mi away
St. Davids Cross Hotel
St. Davids Cross Hotel
#2 of 6 in St Davids
359 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grove Hotel
Grove Hotel
#5 of 6 in St Davids
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Slebech Park
Slebech Park
#3 of 6 in Haverfordwest
517 reviews
22.5 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
1,238 reviews
12.5 mi away
Ocean Haze Hotel
Ocean Haze Hotel
#4 of 6 in St Davids
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warpool Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warpool Court Hotel

Address: St Davids | Pembrokeshire, St Davids SA62 6BN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > St Davids Peninsula > St Davids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in St Davids
Price Range: £173 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Warpool Court Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warpool is set in 15 acres of extraordinarily peaceful, prime, private coastal land with direct footpath access to the Pembrokeshire Coast. Guests have exclusive use of our covered, heated swimming pool open from mid-April until the end of September. There is an all-weather tennis court available at all times for our guests. Swimming pool towels and tennis equipment are provided without charge. There are ample terraced lawns, perfect for relaxing and enjoying the sea views or for taking a beverage or tea in a quiet corner. There is a lawned area for croquet and separate fields for kite flying, golf putting, throwing a frisbee or essential dog exercise. Most importantly, a mown swathe from the garden through the land to the south enables visitors to link to a footpath to the coast - perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Warpool Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warpool Court St Davids
Hotel Warpool Court
Warpool Court Hotel St Davids, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing