We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Warpool Court Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in St Davids
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

Very disappointing. Overpriced. Our room was in the attic and there was no wash basin in the bathroom it was in our room all for the bargain price of £200 a night!!!

St David's is beautiful and we will be returning. However we will not be staying at the warpool.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Lrcjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    64
    26
    11
    13
See reviews for
43
129
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Arranged our Annual reunion dinner for retired Regional Agricultural Managers at the Warpool on 15th May 2013. 15 couples had DBB and I cannot praise everyone at the hotel enough.The meals were excellent -thanks to a superb chef-Mark Napper.The staff could not do enough for you and everyone returned to their homes all over the UK full of praise for the event at the Warpool Court and the wide range of experiences that Pembrokeshire has to offer.Finally a sincere thanks to Rupert Duffin who assisted be greatly over the passed 12 months in sorting out all the arrangements.
W Roy. Davies retired Regional Agricultural Manager-Midland/HSBC Bank.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
30 Thank 602WRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Recently spent two days, Sunday and Monday on a holiday weekend, in this Hotel. The premises itself was beautifully positioned in well kept gardens. The reception rooms and bar were very good, and everywhere was very clean. The bedrooms were were adequet, even though they were a little on the small side by todays standards - we were on the top story, but I believe that rooms on the middle floor are larger. We enjoyed our breakfasts very much and indeed had several very interesting discussions with other guests while having a nightcap before retiring.
The biggest disappointment was that the restaurant was closed both evenings which we found very strange on a national holiday weekend. The available gastropub food in both St Davids and Portgain was disappointing to say the least.
It seems imcomprehensible that a hotel of this standing would not have evening meals available for guests. Otherwise, we enjoyed our stay and found the staff very obliging in every way.

Room Tip: Make sure the restaurant is open for evening meals!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank geraldandmargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Davids, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Just had another meal at this new restaurant at the Warpool Court Hotel. Excellent food and reasonable prices and certainly worth a visit. Mark has a wealth of experience having cooked for the famous and not so famous!

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
33 Thank ReallywildB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Lewis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We stayed on a three day 'spring special break'. We received a warm welcome and a tour of the public areas which are quite fascinating. Our room was lovely and had a fantastic sea view. We were a little disappointed with the Garden Restaurant as it is very small and tables are much too close together. Why not use the breakfast room which is so much nicer and means that guests actually have the table that corresponds to their room. We were given a different table each evening but on the last evening we asked to use one of the front tables but were told it had been reserved for the owners! Hello? Why should the owners be treated differently? The restaurant is franchised out so why did they have preferential treatment?
The food was lovely and the chef was very accommodating with my allergy to onions (apart from the mistake one evening when the vegetables were garnished with spring onions so had to be returned). We laughed it off as everything else was so lovely, including the waiting staff who were few yet very efficient. Breakfast on the last morning was a bit disappointing as the bacon had been under the lamps for too long so was very rubbery. We heard other guests complain although we didn't mention it. We were told that the restaurant is only open 5 nights a week and this seems very strange for a hotel. I know there are restaurants near by but I like to dress for dinner and if the weather was inclement (typically British) I know that I would not be happy to walk down to town. All in all though, a lovely experience and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucindaLucile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Hidden away away just a stone's throw from the Cathedral in St David's this is a special family hotel. We'd visited several times before and it was pleasing to find that Rupert, the manager, has retained his old magic. Spirits were lifted by rafts of spring bulbs along the drive, then the warmest welcome for us and also for "first timers" and our dogs! Nothing too much trouble and the climb to room 20 well worth the effort, what a view!. The restaurant has been franchised out to Mark Napper who has created a pretty, modern dining room which is a great improvement and his food will surely gain a great following. A shortish menu, but with something for everyone; beautifully presented food with sensitive touches. Great breakfasts in our room with the view too. This location and quality come at a price but I suspect that many our our fellow guests will also be returning.

Room Tip: Well worth the supplement for sea views especially on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
27 Thank jtaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Had a great long weekend here . The Mark Napper restaurant had great food and knowing I was Vegetarian changed the meal every night .
The Room swere exceedingly comfortabl with some excelent artwork ( Especially the John Knapp Fischer whom I was already a fan of and now I have seen more of his work )

Only issue fo rme was I had to walk into St Davids to get som elunch for my Mother who had decided to have a quiet day reading and we should have known this the night before.
Staff were very friendly especially those on the evening shift last wekend

Room Tip: Sea view is a must and worth the premium, Plenty of local art to enjoy as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Derek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Davids
0.5 mi away
Twr y Felin Hotel
Twr y Felin Hotel
#1 of 6 in St Davids
172 reviews
0.4 mi away
St. Davids Cross Hotel
St. Davids Cross Hotel
#2 of 6 in St Davids
313 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grove Hotel
Grove Hotel
#4 of 6 in St Davids
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
1,164 reviews
18.7 mi away
Slebech Park
Slebech Park
#3 of 6 in Haverfordwest
473 reviews
12.8 mi away
Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warpool Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warpool Court Hotel

Property: Warpool Court Hotel
Address: St Davids | Pembrokeshire, St Davids SA62 6BN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > St Davids Peninsula > St Davids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in St Davids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Warpool Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warpool is set in 15 acres of extraordinarily peaceful, prime, private coastal land with direct footpath access to the Pembrokeshire Coast. Guests have exclusive use of our covered, heated swimming pool open from mid-April until the end of September. There is an all-weather tennis court available at all times for our guests. Swimming pool towels and tennis equipment are provided without charge. There are ample terraced lawns, perfect for relaxing and enjoying the sea views or for taking a beverage or tea in a quiet corner. There is a lawned area for croquet and separate fields for kite flying, golf putting, throwing a frisbee or essential dog exercise. Most importantly, a mown swathe from the garden through the land to the south enables visitors to link to a footpath to the coast - perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Warpool Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warpool Court St Davids
Hotel Warpool Court
Warpool Court Hotel St Davids, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing