We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Warpool Court Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in St Davids
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Stayed recently for one night at the Warpool Court Hotel. Could not fault the staff in reception, a warm welcome and both very helpful. The hotel itself is in a good location for St David's and has direct access to the coastal path.

Booked a country view double room at £170.00 for bed & breakfast. The room itself would have been of a reasonable size but had eaves on both sides of the room. Neither my husband or I are tall but found you had to be a bit of a contortionist to make tea or get into bed. Wallpaper was also starting to peel in a couple places. Found the breakfast buffet the next morning to be a bit limited but cooked breakfast was of a good standard. Coffee and toast brought to the table promptly but after that had to ask for jam/marmalade/sauces and more coffee. We just felt slightly underwhelmed.

This hotel has a great deal going for it, but perhaps needs to have a re-think on its prices.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2013

Staying here was a really good choice. We arrived without a booking but staff were friendly and helpful. The room rates are a bit quirky but the receptionist was happy to show us around before we booked. The restaurant is run separately and this did cause some confusion (no evening meals Sunday or Monday). When we tried to book dinner for the Saturday evening we were told they were full. However after some discussion they agreed to let us eat out on the terrace. It was a lovely evening and the table was beautifully laid with blankets over the chair backs in case we got cold. The dinner was by far the best of our holiday, and we had stayed in 2 other well known hotels in the area. It's not cheap but we felt it well worth the money. Quiet with access to coast path and a short walk into St. David's.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank angela44Holt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We have just returned from a stay at The Warpool Court,a hotel that we have visited many times before. We found the changes to the Restaurant very good and dining at Mark Nappers Garden Room was a lovely experience, already looking forward to next year!
John and Margaret Delany

Room Tip: We have stayed in most of the rooms and found them all lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
39  Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

This is a superb hotel - totally classy without the slightest hint of pretentiousness. We had a standard room, which was of perfectly acceptable size, with an absolutely beautiful sea view. We found this hotel to be faultless in all respects - food, cleanliness, friendliness.

In particular, we would wish to pay tribute to the wonderful staff we came into contact with who made our stay such a memorable and happy one:

The very nice and efficient gentleman who served us breakfast, whose name we unfortunately we didn't catch;

The three cleaning ladies, whose constant and wonderful good humour cheered us up every time we met them, and who were so friendly to our dog Nellie;

And of course Marianne on the front desk, so friendly and hard-working and professional, and again so kind to Nellie.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room - it's fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
34  Thank jrl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed here on our honeymoon. We didn't have a reservation but the lady on the front desk was very accommodating, showing us three rooms we could choose from and giving us a deal as we were last minute arrivals. The rooms were comfortable and clean although the television was very small- strange for a large room.
The staff were friendly and accommodating, recommending a restaurant and booking us a table as well as drawing maps to various sites we wanted to visit. The breakfast was plentiful and very nice.
The best part for us was the swimming pool- an outdoor covered pool that was perfect in the heatwave we have just had.

The one thing that I would say is that if we had paid full price we would have been overpaying compared to other similar quality hotels, however seemingly not for the area.

Room Tip: The mid price country view rooms are roomier than the cheapest ones and much better value than the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank robynbobbins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

Very disappointing. Overpriced. Our room was in the attic and there was no wash basin in the bathroom it was in our room all for the bargain price of £200 a night!!!

St David's is beautiful and we will be returning. However we will not be staying at the warpool.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Lrcjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Arranged our Annual reunion dinner for retired Regional Agricultural Managers at the Warpool on 15th May 2013. 15 couples had DBB and I cannot praise everyone at the hotel enough.The meals were excellent -thanks to a superb chef-Mark Napper.The staff could not do enough for you and everyone returned to their homes all over the UK full of praise for the event at the Warpool Court and the wide range of experiences that Pembrokeshire has to offer.Finally a sincere thanks to Rupert Duffin who assisted be greatly over the passed 12 months in sorting out all the arrangements.
W Roy. Davies retired Regional Agricultural Manager-Midland/HSBC Bank.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
30  Thank 602WRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Davids
0.5 mi away
Twr y Felin Hotel
Twr y Felin Hotel
#1 of 6 in St Davids
224 reviews
0.4 mi away
St. Davids Cross Hotel
St. Davids Cross Hotel
#2 of 6 in St Davids
353 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grove Hotel
Grove Hotel
#5 of 6 in St Davids
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Ocean Haze Hotel
Ocean Haze Hotel
#4 of 6 in St Davids
57 reviews
22.5 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
1,216 reviews
12.9 mi away
Wolfscastle Country Hotel
Wolfscastle Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wolf's Castle
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warpool Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warpool Court Hotel

Address: St Davids | Pembrokeshire, St Davids SA62 6BN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > St Davids Peninsula > St Davids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in St Davids
Price Range: £157 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Warpool Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warpool is set in 15 acres of extraordinarily peaceful, prime, private coastal land with direct footpath access to the Pembrokeshire Coast. Guests have exclusive use of our covered, heated swimming pool open from mid-April until the end of September. There is an all-weather tennis court available at all times for our guests. Swimming pool towels and tennis equipment are provided without charge. There are ample terraced lawns, perfect for relaxing and enjoying the sea views or for taking a beverage or tea in a quiet corner. There is a lawned area for croquet and separate fields for kite flying, golf putting, throwing a frisbee or essential dog exercise. Most importantly, a mown swathe from the garden through the land to the south enables visitors to link to a footpath to the coast - perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Warpool Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warpool Court St Davids
Hotel Warpool Court
Warpool Court Hotel St Davids, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing