We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice position but a bit dated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Warpool Court Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in St Davids
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Great position with lovely views from the dining room out to sea. Room was a good size but bathroom very dated and shower cool at best. Quite expensive too for what it was in my opinion. Staff were very friendly though.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wolftastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarpoolCourtHotel, Manager at Warpool Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

The fact that the staff were appreciated is very important to us and we have taken note of your other comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

We had an excellent two nights in this lovely city. The staff at the hotel were very welcoming and our room was well appointed. Dinner in Mark Napper's Garden Room Restaurant was excellent although rather expensive and the room lacked atmosphere. The waiter, although friendly and efficient was dressed inappropriately for a smart restaurant and would have looked more at home in a garden centre. We only ate there on the first night and then at the Grove Hotel on the second night. The Warpool Hotel has a wonderful location with great views from the breakfast restaurant and from many bedrooms. The breakfast room was far nicer than the Garden Room and the breakfast was superb served by efficient and well presented staff. It is ideally located and just a short walk into St Davids. We look forward to returning to St Davids at some time and will definitely stay at The Warpool.

Room Tip: Book a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BossKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarpoolCourtHotel, Manager at Warpool Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Thank you for your very positive comments.
We have passed on your observation concerning evening restaurant staff attire.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Warpool Court.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Promised to be good, although expensive, we were won over by the picture of the view from the garden out to sea; indeed a lovely garden not very far from the cliffs. Unfortunately the hotel itself, although not far from beautiful coastal walks, did not live up to expectations. Furniture old and cranky, no water in our room (we had to go to garage outside St David's for bottled water as shopping and other amenities very poor). Had to eat out first two nights as hotel restaurant only open on certain nights - choice of restaurants for eating out very poor. Hotel restaurant franchised out, food ok but service poor. Promised wi fi in room but this would only work in the lounge/bar area. Not wonderful service at breakfast although the food was nice. Television in room could not have been much smaller. Kettle lead would not reach plug so had to stand it on floor by door and it smelled of burning plastic every time we used it. Cups were not very clean and the lady who cleaned the room rinsed them in the bathroom basin and then put them back on our tray.
This Hotel is extremely expensive for what you get. You are paying for the location and not much else. The hotels we usually use give us so much more for so much less. You would have to pay us to use this one again, and I doubt we would use it even then, don't know how the type have the sauce to charge what they do.

Room Tip: My tip is go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Earleyres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarpoolCourtHotel, Manager at Warpool Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

We gather that you stayed August 2013. It is clear that you were unhappy about the hotel and St.Davids itself and we are sorry about that.
Bottled, still and sparkling water is provided in all rooms.Kettles, cables, some televisions and solid wooden toilet seats have been upgraded since your visit. This is a constant process.
It has to be said that 99% of our guests thoroughly enjoy Warpool Court, our friendly staff, food, facilities, art collection and antiques(in some rooms) and generous chunk of land on the Pembrokeshire coast. Several recent visitors have begged us not to change anything. We are restricted to some extent because this is an old, listed, manor house. However, we do strive to create the right balance.
We apologise that you felt let down and would have done anything to imrove your experience had we had the opportunity to do so.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We had been told about this hotel by friends so decided to have a break and stay 25/10/13 to 28/10/13 we booked RAMSEY ROOM beautiful room superb bed and gorgeous bathroom the tiles in the room were amazing , i can only say the staff and owners were so good to us , nothing was to much trouble ,my pol roger champagne was in the fridge cooling for us on arrival , we had evening meal in the restaurant run by mark a very competent chef and lovely waitresses , the food was SUPERB SUPERB SUPERB MY ONLY COMPLAINT WAS THAT ON SUNDAY THE RESTAURANT WAS CLOSED !! so no evening meal so we had sandwiches and wine from tescos ! but it was still great , i am going to visit this hotel again 2014 cant wait jan and daz x

Room Tip: I loved ramsay room but we did take a peep at scomer room and it was better , calm quiet hotel good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank jandaz06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We were upgraded to this place when our original overnight stop for day 4 of our walking tour along part of the Pembrokeshire Coastal Path managed to overbook. We certainly did well as a result as this place has real character - in addition the rooms were comfortable and the breakfast was excellent.
And we also stayed in for dinner at Mark Napper's Garden Room - see separate review.
Weren't we lucky?!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank GrumpsDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

Located at the edge of St. David's this hotel is a short walk to shops, the Cathredal and several trail heads on the Pembrokeshire coastline. Staff are very friendly and helpful. You cannot go wrong here.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
45  Thank mjrg59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We were very disappointed with the hotel. The only things going for it are the view and property, but it is not hard in that area to enjoy both and stay in much more updated and less expensive accomodation. For the prices they charge, the room was small, queen bed (called a king) was not comfortable and there was very little room. There were few amenities and the room was shabby as are the corridors. We did not try the restaurant but enjoyed a meal in the local pub. Breakfast was mediocre at best and assigned seating only added to the frustration. The tables at the window looking over the garden were empty the whole time we were eating our breakfast, but ours was assigned to the back of the room. Really! the staff was trying hard, but could not make up for our disappointment. I did not see the fitness area which I would like to have used but was told it was 15 minutes away. the pool was terrible and change rooms were small and awful.

Room Tip: I would not recommend this hotel at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank anne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Davids
0.5 mi away
Twr y Felin Hotel
Twr y Felin Hotel
#1 of 6 in St Davids
231 reviews
0.4 mi away
St. Davids Cross Hotel
St. Davids Cross Hotel
#2 of 6 in St Davids
355 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grove Hotel
Grove Hotel
#5 of 6 in St Davids
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Ocean Haze Hotel
Ocean Haze Hotel
#4 of 6 in St Davids
57 reviews
22.5 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
1,229 reviews
22.2 mi away
Best Western Lamphey Court Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warpool Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warpool Court Hotel

Address: St Davids | Pembrokeshire, St Davids SA62 6BN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > St Davids Peninsula > St Davids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in St Davids
Price Range: £176 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Warpool Court Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warpool is set in 15 acres of extraordinarily peaceful, prime, private coastal land with direct footpath access to the Pembrokeshire Coast. Guests have exclusive use of our covered, heated swimming pool open from mid-April until the end of September. There is an all-weather tennis court available at all times for our guests. Swimming pool towels and tennis equipment are provided without charge. There are ample terraced lawns, perfect for relaxing and enjoying the sea views or for taking a beverage or tea in a quiet corner. There is a lawned area for croquet and separate fields for kite flying, golf putting, throwing a frisbee or essential dog exercise. Most importantly, a mown swathe from the garden through the land to the south enables visitors to link to a footpath to the coast - perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Odigeo so you can book your Warpool Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warpool Court St Davids
Hotel Warpool Court
Warpool Court Hotel St Davids, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing