We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eccentric and Enjoyable Hotel with Excellent Staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Warpool Court Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in St Davids
Certificate of Excellence
Northamptonshire, UK
Level Contributor
280 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Eccentric and Enjoyable Hotel with Excellent Staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Very secluded location in countryside about 5-10 minutes easy walk from the centre of St Davids. Beautiful surroundings including croquet lawn, very mature trees, a little bit of tasteful statuary and gorgeous sea views.

The hotel itself has clearly seen many people and times come and go. The result, of course, is that a certain amount of minor wear and tear is evident, but it is very minor and in the context of the eccentric decoration (thousands of hand-painted tiles depicting the family history of a lady who was clearly the victim of a harmless but all-consuming obsession!) it's difficult to see what more the current proprietors could do in terms of modernisation without throwing the historical baby out with the bath-water, so to speak.

The staff were wonderful, and especially Mary-Ann, who we understood to be the daughter of the proprietor. She showed us around when we arrived with such evident and engaging enthusiasm that we found it impossible not to be infected with the same feelings.

Breakfast was also very good. A delightful touch was the fact that if one ordered a newspaper it awaited you at your breakfast table, and was not thrown down in the corridor outside your room. To do this involves planning and forethought.

Dinner is an unusual arrangement. The hotel itself apparently don't run the restaurant in the context of dinner. This is a separate enterprise called "Mark Napper's Garden Room Restaurant". The result is that the hotel provides accommodation, breakfast and alcoholic refreshment (including your wine at dinner) but one needs to pay for the food for dinner separately. This is OK provided you are expecting it!

We didn't use the pool or the tennis court, although we saw several who did. When we visited the weather was glorious and so we simply set off on foot from the rear of the hotel and walked the Pembroke coastal path round to White Sands. A longish walk, but also full of delights.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Intrepidity060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarpoolCourtHotel, Manager at Warpool Court Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
We are pleased that you clearly felt relaxed at Warpool Court and enjoyed the best of what the hotel and surrounding area has to offer.
You touched on the history of the establishment which, when originally designed by a well-known London architect, provided accommodation for music scholars to the cathedral from Keeble College, Oxford. The tiles were painted by a subsequent lady owner over a period of thirty years from the early 1900s. These, together with the buildings and terraces, are listed to protect them.
We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    64
    25
    11
    13
See reviews for
42
127
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of June. The location is indeed stunning, but the bedrooms on the first floor look out over a flat roof to the sea, so the view is spoiled by the expanse of grey roof. The rooms are also very tired, with the bathrooms especially so: whilst they were clean, they felt grubby. I don't feel they represented fair value for money.

The food in the restaurant is good, though billed separately from the rooms and drinks. We had two excellent meals, but the 3rd was let down when rather than admitting they'd run out of panna cotta, they brought a yoghurt concoction that was almost inedible.

The staff throughout the hotel were very friendly - nothing was too much trouble.

In summary - I'm glad we stayed, but we won't stay again and wouldn't recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hertford-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarpoolCourtHotel, Manager at Warpool Court Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Unless we suspend our guests above the building, it is difficult to conceive how they would avoid seeing some structure. We agree that views over the coast are superior from the second floor.
You will understand that we cannot replace bedrooms and bathrooms annually and you may or may not be interested to know that we spend an average of £2000.00 per week throughout the year maintaining the building, the rooms and bathrooms, and the grounds.
If the rooms and bathrooms are as tired as you say, the hotel would not receive the respected accreditations and reviews that mark it as one of the best coastal hotels in the country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We have just got back from a lovely weekend away at Warpool Court Hotel and St Davids.
The weather was really on our side, glorious sunshine everyday, along with a super hotel, made for a perfect few days.
The hotel itself has really great facilities; a pool, tennis courts, gorgeous grounds to relax in and direct access to the coastal path.
The rooms are spotlessly clean and breakfast tasty.
The staff are very pleasant and happy to assist with local information.
The only downside was the attached restaurant. This from what I can gather is a totally separate business and I have to say the meal was not very nice at all. We only ate there once the first night and it was rather off putting. It was very expensive for what was on offer, for a similar price we ate in town at Cwtch and this was much nicer.
All in all Warpool Court is a really lovely place to go chill out and unwind and wouldn't hesitate in recommending it.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarpoolCourtHotel, Manager at Warpool Court Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
We really appreciate your positive comments about Warpool Court and are pleased that you enjoyed a happy break.
Food, of course, is very much a personal choice. We respect your opinion and regret that the Garden Room Restaurant did not live up to your expectations on the occasion that you ate there.
We shall pass your comments on.
We have no hesitation in saying, however, that the majority of diners are very content with the quality of food and the value offered in the Garden Room Restaurant which is pretty well booked up, including return diners. A member of the public turned up in reception recently and declared :-
" we have heard on very good authority that you serve the best food in the area. Can we book a table please?"
We hope that we can welcome you back and provide a good experience at the dinner table.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Very classic hotel, a bit like a stately home. Comfortable rooms, lovely garden with a swimming pool which was greatly enjoyed, lots of chairs and sunloungers for relaxing and beautiful views out to sea.
Breakfast had lots of choice but the cooked breakfast was a bit disappointing - smoked haddock and poached egg was very small and a bit tasteless - and scrambled eggs were a bit like an omelette but was a bit better on the second day. I believe that the restaurant dinners are very good and a different chef - but did not get a chance to try it. We were also surprised that they did not serve lunches although St Davids is very close by. However the service was very friendly and helpful - and tea and biscuits by the pool was really enjoyable so would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view would be great - although more expensive. We had a "countryside" vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynnandlaurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarpoolCourtHotel, Manager at Warpool Court Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
The Head Chef has an excellent reputation for cooked breakfasts as well as for dinner in the Garden Room Restaurant. We are certain that he would have wanted to know if the eggs and haddock served at breakfast were not entirely to your liking.
Lunches are served by prior arrangement.
We would be delighted to welcome you back to Warpool Court.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We booked Warpool Court for our 30th wedding anniversary and we couldn't have chosen anywhere more delightful. We were made to feel very welcome by the warm and friendly staff. Our room had wonderful views - not only of the sea but also of the beautifully landscaped gardens and fields beyond.
We can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarpoolCourtHotel, Manager at Warpool Court Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
We are pleased that your special occasion lived up to expectations. The staff are working hard at the moment and this review will make them happy. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at this wonderful hotel.After a slight hiccup of our room being not suitable for my needs as a disabled person,which are quite profound and unusual,the owner immediately responded and took us round all the available rooms ,so that we could choose the most suitable.Nothing was too much trouble,and we ended up with a delightful room with a fantastic panoramic view of the sea. The gardens are really lovely and give access onto the coastal path and the sea beyond,easy walking distance for most people.The food was superb,freshly prepared,beautifully presented and delicious,I particularly enjoyed the cheese soufflé with beet root sorbet,gorgeous!! The bread and butter pudding is scrumptious and so,also is the creme brûlée with fresh strawberries. My very fussy veggie husband,having gone through the options on the menu,was offered nightly delights of stuffed peppers,vegetarian gumbo etc all being greatly enjoyed.They coped brilliantly with our post concert party of fifteen people,all of whom declared the food as excellent.The staff were friendly ,helpful and knowledgable,even the housekeepers pointed out landmarks and places of interest.We were able to relax so easily and fully intend to return as soon as possible for a longer stay,this will go on our short list of favourites.

Room Tip: The sea views are superb and as good as any I have seen so sea view rooms are great.One slight downs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ChristineHubbard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarpoolCourtHotel, Manager at Warpool Court Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
If we are not fully aware of special requirements prior to a visit, we are only too pleased to do what we can to look after guests' needs. We are pleased that you were able to relax and enjoy the ambience of the establishment.
Your enthusiastic comments about the food have been passed to Mark Napper and his staff who are continuing to produce high quality dishes.
You mentioned the housekeeping staff in particular. These are local people with extensive knowledge of the area who possess a wealth of experience at what they do. The head housekeeper was apprenticed to Warpool Court over forty years ago and we are indebted to her and her colleagues for delivering consistently high standards and ensuring the well-being of our guests upstairs.
Thank you for showing your appreciation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

we recently spent 4 nights at the Warpool Hotel. The location is superb, beautiful views from our bedroom |( room 4), lovely grounds with sun loungers etc dotted around in little secluded area of the garden. Indoor swimming pool, which we did not get around to using. From the grounds there is direct access to the coast, and the coast path. St Davids is within walking distance,
Many beautiful beaches and coves very close to the hotel, plus access to Ramsay Island from nearby.
The bedroom was large with room for 2 easy chairs to sit and enjoy the view. Bathroom was also large.
The restaurant which is franchised out was a real star. Exciting menu, well presented food. They did glamorgan sausages for me which I had not had in years, and my husband asked for a real welsh rabbit which he had as a starter one evening. The service was excellent. The staff throughout the hotel were very friendly and prepared to take time to chat.
Certainly the evening meals at this hotel are some of the best I have experienced, we ate in every evening which is something we do not tend to do on holiday.

It is our intention to return to this stunning hotel.

It is worth examining the amazing wall tiles in the public rooms, which have an interesting history!

Room Tip: We had room 4, which is on the first floor looking straight down the garden and out to sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarpoolCourtHotel, Manager at Warpool Court Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you for your delightful comments about the hotel, the staff, the food and your obvious enjoyment of the surrounding environment.
Room 4, on the first floor, in which you stayed, has proved a favorite with regular guests for many years. We believe it was used as the principle bed chamber by the first owner of the original house and his successors.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Warpool Court.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Davids
0.5 mi away
Twr y Felin Hotel
Twr y Felin Hotel
#1 of 6 in St Davids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.4 mi away
St. Davids Cross Hotel
St. Davids Cross Hotel
#2 of 6 in St Davids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grove Hotel
Grove Hotel
#4 of 6 in St Davids
3.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
12.8 mi away
Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant
0.7 mi away
Penrhiw Hotel
Penrhiw Hotel
#3 of 21 in St Davids
5.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warpool Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warpool Court Hotel

Property: Warpool Court Hotel
Address: St Davids | Pembrokeshire, St Davids SA62 6BN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > St Davids Peninsula > St Davids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in St Davids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Warpool Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warpool is set in 15 acres of extraordinarily peaceful, prime, private coastal land with direct footpath access to the Pembrokeshire Coast. Guests have exclusive use of our covered, heated swimming pool open from mid-April until the end of September. There is an all-weather tennis court available at all times for our guests. Swimming pool towels and tennis equipment are provided without charge. There are ample terraced lawns, perfect for relaxing and enjoying the sea views or for taking a beverage or tea in a quiet corner. There is a lawned area for croquet and separate fields for kite flying, golf putting, throwing a frisbee or essential dog exercise. Most importantly, a mown swathe from the garden through the land to the south enables visitors to link to a footpath to the coast - perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Warpool Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warpool Court St Davids
Hotel Warpool Court
Warpool Court Hotel St Davids, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing