We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great cottage in a beautiful scenery”
Ty Mortimer cottage set in open countryside, spacious inside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ty Mortimer cottage set in open countryside, spacious inside
Relax on comfy sofas after walking the coastal path Relaxing in the sitting room after a enjoying a coastal walk.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Ty Mortimer cottage set in open countryside, spacious inside
Relax on comfy sofas after walking the coastal path
Relaxing in the sitting room after a enjoying a coastal walk.
Kitchen with dining area
Bedroom with 3 comfy single beds
View into back garden
Quirky window to view the sunset
Horseshoe on wooden beam
Ty Mortimer cottage plaque built by John Mortimer 1854
Ty Mortimer cottage
Romantic double bedroom looking towards St Davids
Porthllisky beach with its clear waters for bathing and snorkeling. Just a 10 minute walk away.
The awaspiring Ramsey Sound in flood. Most westerly point in Wales. Ideal for a picnic and to relax
Heady smell of gorse as you approach Porthllisky Bay from Ramsey Sound.
Ewes and lambs grazing near Porthllisky beach in Treginnis Uchaf
St Justinian lifeboat Station along the coast path from Treginnis headland
Whitesand beach only 10 minute drive away, safe for swimming, surfing
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
St Davids, St Davids Peninsula, Pembrokeshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Eberhard...
Baiersdorf
2 reviews
“Great cottage in a beautiful scenery”
Reviewed 30 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We really enjoyed our holidays at Ty Mortimer with our children (5, 7 and 9 years) who loved the location and watching the sheep even from the kitchen window as well as the nearby costal path with great walks and views.
Furthermore, Rob and Eleri are wonderful hosts full of Welsh hospitality.
Thank you very much!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2016
Thank you for taking time to send your kind review. We love living in such a special place and it's a joy to share it. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Ty Mortimer. Kind regards, Eleri and Rob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Another perfect family holiday at Ty Mortimer”
Reviewed 23 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We have just returned from our 6th visit to Ty Mortimer and are pleased to say it is as wonderful as ever. We are a family of 2 adults and 2 children (11 and 8) and couldn't ask more of this magical place. The house is located in a beautiful spot at Treginnis and is always spotless and well equipped (incl reliable WiFi). Owners Eleri and Rob strike the perfect balance between friendliness and respecting guests' privacy. Whilst Treginnis is peaceful and the perfect place to relax it is within easy distance of the coastal path, many glorious beaches and St Davids and the area with all that has to offer. I highly recommend Ty Mortimer - it says it all that we booked our 2017 upon our departure this year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience!
Liked least: Nothing to dislike - apart from having to leave.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2016
Thank you so much for your kind review. We think it is magical, people stay here and go home refreshed. Looking forward to seeing you again next year. Kind regards, Eleir and Rob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul G
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A delightful cottage and setting”
Reviewed 4 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

A well appointed cottage, good facilities and equipment. An excellent centre for costal walking and exploration. Charming and friendly hosts who endeavour to make the stay a pleasing one.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting
Liked least: No dislikes
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2016
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are so lucky to live in such a beautiful area which we love to share with others.. Kind regards, Rob and Eleri
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
d0minic85
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic cottage”
Reviewed 1 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We had a fantastic stay in ty Mortimer cottage. It was perfectly equipped for our 18 month old, and eleri and rob were perfect hosts. The surrounding area is stunning! Will hope to come back soon! Dom, Claire and Eric

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2016
Thank you for your kind review and taking time to send it. We love living in such a special place and it is a joy to share it. What more can we say but that we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Ty Mortimer. Kind regards, Eleri and Rob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A real home from home in the most gorgeous setting”
Reviewed 24 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

This cottage was a real find - it has everything you could need for a week away even in a cold / wet January. The owners were incredibly welcoming both with treats on arrival & information about the local area. The area has amazing walks around the coastline with different scenery around every corner and plenty of wildlife to look out for. St David's offers lots of things to do - touring the cathedral, playing golf, visiting the local beaches and we even ventured into the sea coasteering on a frosty morning.
The cottage was warm and cosy with very comfy beds, good wifi, a well appointed kitchen and great views of the sea. It's somewhere I'm sure we will return to many times to explore the area further.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location & general comfort level of the cottage
Liked least: It was all good
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jan 2016
Thank you for such a kind, helpful review and taking the time to write it. How wonderful coasteering in winter, today we have very stormy seas not so suitable. So pleased that TYF had ideal wetsuits for this time of year for you. Look forward to your next visit. Kind regards, Eleri and Rob.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
violet54a
London
1 review
“Perfect location, lovely cottage and warm welcome”
Reviewed 10 January 2016 for a stay in July 2015

Many trips to Pembrokshire; by midweek our 9 year old daughter declared it the best cottage we have even stayed in. Combination of location, lovely cosy cottage, warm welcome and stunning views. Just booked again for this year.

Warm welcome from Rob and Eleri. Cottage has lots of lovely personal touches and everything you need. Enduring memory of Rolling Stones playing on iPod dock in the kitchen and half a dozen sheep pressed up against the fence peering in the open window!

Walked to lifeboat station and back (bit of a magical mystery tour on way back), St Davids and the beach of course. Can't wait to return,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Eyerything
Liked least: having to leave
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2016
Wow what a compliment from your lovely daughter.Thank you for your kind review and taking time to send it. What more can I say but that we so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Ty Mortimer and looking forward to seeing you again this year. Kind regards, Eleri and Rob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard B
Matlock, United Kingdom
1 review
“Dream location and Welsh hospitality at its very best”
Reviewed 12 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

What a place to stay and what a location! The 'sales description' for the cottage is entirely accurate and Pembrokeshire is just as lovely as everyone says.

Ty Mortimer is an excellent, comfortable place to be if you want to 'get away from things' in the countryside, but don't want to be too remote. Not only is St David's pretty close by road, but the coast path is just 15 minutes' walk away. Added to that, the hospitality of Rob and Eleri is second to none and also optional. Genuinely welcoming, they will answer questions, lend you bits and bobs, check you're OK or just have a chat IF YOU WANT THAT. If you want to be left alone they don't intrude.

Having a car makes sense if you are staying here, since you'll need to be determined people if you intend to walk direct to shops and other facilities in St. Davids every other day (1.5 to 2 miles each way, on unlit lanes).

The house is cosy and well-equipped -a home from home. How lucky we are to have found this! Thank you for having us.

Richard and Denise Bryant (Derbyshire)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location so near to this lovely coast, genuine welcome and attention to detail.
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2015
Thank you for your kind review and taking time to send it. What more can I say but that we so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Ty Mortimer. Look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards, Eleri and Rob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing