We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice all around, minus lack of wifi and thin walls”
Review of The Waterings

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Waterings
Ranked #7 of 18 St Davids B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2011

This place was fantastic. Located a 5 minute walk from the city center (small town, but hey!), the rooms were huge (we stayed in the Captain's and the Coxswain) and the breakfasts were delicious. I really liked that you could pick what you wanted for breakfast too, and I'm a sucker for galaxy hot chocolate packets in the rooms.

Beds were comfortable, and the premises were beautiful. All the rooms have a nautical theme, and skylights, which really make the rooms feel extra spacious. They're also lined up like a motel, with your own door to the outside, so you don't feel like you're disturbing anyone if you come home drunk on delicious Welsh cider.

Ahh, but then there are some bad things. The B&B is run by a relatively young couple, so you'd think they'd be pretty up to date with some WiFi for the place, but you'd be wrong. There's an ancient packard bell laptop in the breakfast room (they don't even MAKE those anymore), but it doesn't connect to the internet. The other thing I wasn't thrilled with was the thinness of the walls. The first few nights was fine, but then another couple checked into the room next to us and all hell broke loose. We could hear this person (or maybe it was both of them?) snoring ALL night. Loud enough so that we turned the television on to cover the noise, but even at a fairly high level, all we could hear was the snoring. They should really fix that.

Overall, I thought the size of the room was good, but the thin walls and lack of wifi didn't quite justify the 80 pounds a night we paid. I'd recommend it, but only if you can get a lower price.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SC101112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2011

This b&b has an excellent location - 5 minutes walk from the town square, set in lovely gardens. And the breakfast is very good. But you won't get your room serviced every day, and the walls are very thin, so if your neighbours are unsociable, too bad. And it's a bit expensive.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank jintray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

Great location for St Davids, a short stroll to the City Centre and Cathedral. Lovely B&B, run by William and his family who make you very welcome. I've never seen such large rooms in a B&B! We had 2 rooms, as there were 5 of us travelling (2 children, 3 adults) and both rooms had a double bed, single bed, separate lounge area with sofa, armchair, and TV. Huge bathrooms too! Very comfortable beds, and a lovely big front lawn - played croquet one morning on the beautifully manicured front lawn/croquet pitch! Ample free parking immediately in front of the B&B which is well signposted from the High Street as you approach St David's from Slova.

Breakfasts were lovely - self service for juice, cereals, and fruit - and, aside from the usual Welsh breakfast on offer, haddock, kippers, and mackerel were also on the menu.

St David's City is the smallest City in the UK - definitely worth a stroll down to the Cathedral which is "hidden" and not easily identified from the High Street. Plenty of coffee shops, bars and restaurants but we found, and in fact one restuarant staff member told us that most, if not all, restaurants in and around the City stopped serving cooked food between 3pm and 5pm. Large supermarket within walking distance.

Recommend you visit nearby Slova - a row of painted cottages/pubs/ restaurants (which the children immediately dubbed "Balamory"!), lovely small sheltered harbour there, and I'd recommend The Cumbrian for good pub grub. We also visited the nearby "surfers beach" (can't remember it's name!) which is a huge sandy beach, rolling waves, "hidden" by a huge pebble windbreaker but, as you drive down the hill, you can't miss the wonderful view of the beach if you're travelling into St David's from the M4, A40 and A48 along the coast road itself.

We were lucky with the weather - a couple of expected short downpours, but overall a sunny if breezy Bank Holiday weekend. Took us under 5 hours to drive from North Hertfordshire (taking out our coffe stop!) on the Easter Bank Holiday weekend too.

Room Tip: Easy walk to City Centre, St Davids. Huge rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2011

This little B&B is superbly located, only a 5 minute walk into the little city of St Davids! William was there to greet us as soon as we arrived, and was also very helpful with information of the surrounding area. We stayed in the first mates room, yes you guessed there was a nautical theme going on, but it was nice and there were even aspects of this theme within the decor of the room. The rooms were spotlessly clean and very spacious we even had our own private lounge with a TV. The breakfasts in the morning were fab,ok you had to say the day before what you wanted and what time you wanted it but this is no hardship. All in all, this was a fantastic first break for us without the kids, and as i told William i will definately recommend his B&B , also that we would definately return in the near future even with the kids.
Amanda, Swansea

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mavva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2011

Ideally situated with a very short walk into St Davids or down to the coast. Fabulous that you get a generous seating area with a TV, sofa and arm chair. Makes you feel like you have a whole flat rather than just a cramped room in a B&B. Bed was very comfortable; breakfast was very tasty. William (the owner) was very friendly and helpful. Will stay here again and would recommend strongly (and indeed already have!)

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoJo_Becloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2011

A good B&B in a good location. Only a very short walk into the 'city'. The hosts were very helpful and pleasant. Breakfast was reasonable. Each room has an outside door (so it does not feel like you are in someone's house). It was comfortable, but not luxurious. Our room was very big. Sound insulation between rooms could be better (but is not awful). My only real complaint is having to decide the day before what you want for breakfast, that always bugs me....

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank timtim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2010

We arrived and were shown to our rooms - I was amazed at the generous size of the accommodation, and a separate sitting room was a real bonus! We were in the First Mates room, which had a double and a single bed in one large room, separate bathroom with bath and shower over, and a lounge with TV and 2 seater settee and a chair. The heating was controllable and efficient and the breakfasts were really worth planning ahead for!. Also available was local bottled beer and cider - but In the end we didn't get around to trying them. The premises only has a small number of rooms and service is personal and friendly. it really is only a short walk in to St David's and has plenty of parking, something which is a bit short in St Davids!. It is in quiet surroundings, with plenty of grounds, imaginatively used. We really enjoyed our stay and slept like logs. I would recommend this B & B most heartily.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank size7boots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Davids hotels
0.1 mi away
Twr y Felin Hotel
Twr y Felin Hotel
#1 of 6 in St Davids
229 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. Davids Cross Hotel
St. Davids Cross Hotel
#2 of 6 in St Davids
355 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grove Hotel
Grove Hotel
#5 of 6 in St Davids
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Warpool Court Hotel
Warpool Court Hotel
#3 of 6 in St Davids
237 reviews
0.7 mi away
Penrhiw Hotel
Penrhiw Hotel
#3 of 18 in St Davids
209 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ty Boia B&B
Ty Boia B&B
#4 of 18 in St Davids
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterings

Address: Anchor Drive | High Street, St Davids SA62 6BW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > St Davids Peninsula > St Davids
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in St Davids
Price Range: £73 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Waterings 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a quiet location, close to the National Park Visitor Centre, the Waterings is a short walk from the city centre and its 800 year old Cathedral. The Waterings offers comfortable, quality accommodation surrounded by tranquil landscaped grounds. On offer are 7 spacious, well-appointed, en suite rooms, 5 on ground level and two 1st floor loft conversions. Rooms facilities include TV and beverage tray and free WiFi. Other amenities include a croquet lawn, water garden, picnic area and ample private parking. A warm welcome awaits you with William & his crew, who are on hand to help and advise during your stay. Please note: We do not operate a 24hr reception. It is open daily until 6pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Waterings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterings St Davids, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing