We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and comfortable”
Review of The Waterings

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Waterings
Ranked #7 of 18 St Davids B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
penarth
Level Contributor
501 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Quiet and comfortable”
Reviewed 17 October 2011

I booked this as a lone female traveller meeting up with a walking group to complete another stretch of the coastal path (4 days walking to complete!) I was a bit put out when William informed me when I phoned that they insist on 2 nights booking at weekends, which I think is pedantic if the rooms are going to be empty anyway, particularly out of season. However, I decided to stay 2 nights and was not disappointed as my room, Cabin Boy, was spacious and beautifully presented. Little extras like a small dish of mint crisps, cappuccino and hot chocolate sachets as well as tea and coffee ones make all the difference to being away from home. I liked the privacy and ease of being able to come and go without disturbing anyone and felt very comfortable there. For breakfast the first day I chose a cheese omelette to take advantage of their chickens' free range eggs and the following day I had kippers, which were perfectly cooked and delicious. I prefer to have toast brought to me after my "main" breakfast as it was cold by the time I got round to eating it, but next time I'll suggest it! I hope to stay again sometime in the future with family.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louiseholistic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    25
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
83
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Knighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We really enjoyed our stay here. Friendly, very comfortable and clean. There were so many thoughtful touches in the rooms, e.g somewhere to put your walking shoes and a t-towel with the tea tray, to name just two.
Well appointed, a lovely garden with a croquet lawn and within easy walking distance of the cathedral, pubs and restaurants
I was really impressed with the service and would highly recommend this lovely place.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosecottage_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

A great part of the world, a great B&B and a superb breakfast. Go for some smoked mackerel if a bit over the full english/welsh/irish. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimmyJames79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We stumbled into this B&B hoping to find a vacancy and were fortunate enough to find one here. The quiet room included an inviting sitting area, which we find so relaxing when traveling. It is walking distance to the main attractions in town, and a thoroughly delightful place to stay as well, as it has a patio with a fish pond, interesting gardens and a view of the ocean. The host was friendly and accommodating even though we showed up after dark. I could not have been more pleased with the entire experience, including the breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loltexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herefordshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

We enjoyed out stay very much, and found the location really convenient for walking into St Davids. Our room was 1st Mate, which was very spacious with an ensuite bathroom - also a comfortable sitting room. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the breakfasts were excellent. We would certainly recommend this accomodation, and hope to stay again!

Room Tip: All rooms looked very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bike_red19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tring
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Have now stayed here 3 times. Have enjoyed every time due to the great owners and lovely rooms. Great location, excellent breakfasts - everything you could want! The different room configurations means it is perfect for both couples and families. Would not stay anywhere else in St Davids!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We have stayed at the Waterings lots of times. With and without the kids. We love it. Lovely clean rooms. Great breakfast. Friendly owners.
Wouldn't stay anywhere else in St. Davids.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CardiffJudith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Davids hotels
0.3 mi away
St. Davids Cross Hotel
St. Davids Cross Hotel
#2 of 6 in St Davids
313 reviews
0.1 mi away
Twr y Felin Hotel
Twr y Felin Hotel
#1 of 6 in St Davids
173 reviews
0.5 mi away
Warpool Court Hotel
Warpool Court Hotel
#3 of 6 in St Davids
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grove Hotel
Grove Hotel
#4 of 6 in St Davids
283 reviews
0.7 mi away
Penrhiw Hotel
Penrhiw Hotel
#3 of 18 in St Davids
195 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ty Boia B&B
Ty Boia B&B
#4 of 18 in St Davids
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterings

Property: The Waterings
Address: Anchor Drive | High Street, St Davids SA62 6BW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > St Davids Peninsula > St Davids
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in St Davids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Waterings 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a quiet location, close to the National Park Visitor Centre, the Waterings is a short walk from the city centre and its 800 year old Cathedral. The Waterings offers comfortable, quality accommodation surrounded by tranquil landscaped grounds. On offer are 7 spacious, well-appointed, en suite rooms, 5 on ground level and two 1st floor loft conversions. Rooms facilities include TV and beverage tray and free WiFi. Other amenities include a croquet lawn, water garden, picnic area and ample private parking. A warm welcome awaits you with William & his crew, who are on hand to help and advise during your stay. Please note: We do not operate a 24hr reception. It is open daily until 6pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Waterings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterings St Davids, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing