We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New year holiday”
Review of The Waterings

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Waterings
Ranked #7 of 18 St Davids B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2012

What a little gem The Waterings is, absolutely marvellous! My wife and I have just returned from a 5 night stay at The Waterings and couldn't fault it. The breakfasts were excellent, room was clean, tidy, very spacious and having its own lounge was lovely, somewhere to relax after a 10 mile coastal walk made such a difference, it almost felt like your own little cottage. It's in a great location, set back from the main road with plenty of parking, only 5 minute walk from The Grove Hotel, 10 minute walk from the centre of St Davids and 15minutes from the coastal path at Cearfai bay. The only critisism would be directed at the weather, somewhat windy and damp, but this is Wales in December!! We would recommend it 100% and plan to return for new year 2012. Many thanks to William and all his staff.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigeyun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2011

This was great place to stay. Great room, lovely welcome and great food.
Recommended

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nina19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

After seeing St David's on Countryfile we had wanted to visit the area. We booked the room by phone and then worried as we normally use hotels as opposed to B & Bs.
When we arrived we were shown to our room by William and we were pleasantly surprised by the size of the room and the little touches that make your stay comfortable.
There was a vast number of fluffy towels in the large bathroom and an assortment of toiletries for the more forgetful of us!
Breakfast was fab we both went for the full Welsh and it set us up for the day.
Well appointed,it is within easy walking distance of the visitors centre and the cathedral.
An enjoyable stay and the service was second to none.
I must say that having stayed in some expensive high class hotels I was not disappointed with The Waterings and would recommend it to friends. A good honest B & B.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loobyloo-MK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

I booked this as a lone female traveller meeting up with a walking group to complete another stretch of the coastal path (4 days walking to complete!) I was a bit put out when William informed me when I phoned that they insist on 2 nights booking at weekends, which I think is pedantic if the rooms are going to be empty anyway, particularly out of season. However, I decided to stay 2 nights and was not disappointed as my room, Cabin Boy, was spacious and beautifully presented. Little extras like a small dish of mint crisps, cappuccino and hot chocolate sachets as well as tea and coffee ones make all the difference to being away from home. I liked the privacy and ease of being able to come and go without disturbing anyone and felt very comfortable there. For breakfast the first day I chose a cheese omelette to take advantage of their chickens' free range eggs and the following day I had kippers, which were perfectly cooked and delicious. I prefer to have toast brought to me after my "main" breakfast as it was cold by the time I got round to eating it, but next time I'll suggest it! I hope to stay again sometime in the future with family.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louiseholistic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We really enjoyed our stay here. Friendly, very comfortable and clean. There were so many thoughtful touches in the rooms, e.g somewhere to put your walking shoes and a t-towel with the tea tray, to name just two.
Well appointed, a lovely garden with a croquet lawn and within easy walking distance of the cathedral, pubs and restaurants
I was really impressed with the service and would highly recommend this lovely place.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosecottage_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

A great part of the world, a great B&B and a superb breakfast. Go for some smoked mackerel if a bit over the full english/welsh/irish. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimmyJames79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We stumbled into this B&B hoping to find a vacancy and were fortunate enough to find one here. The quiet room included an inviting sitting area, which we find so relaxing when traveling. It is walking distance to the main attractions in town, and a thoroughly delightful place to stay as well, as it has a patio with a fish pond, interesting gardens and a view of the ocean. The host was friendly and accommodating even though we showed up after dark. I could not have been more pleased with the entire experience, including the breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loltexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Davids hotels
0.1 mi away
Twr y Felin Hotel
Twr y Felin Hotel
#1 of 6 in St Davids
224 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. Davids Cross Hotel
St. Davids Cross Hotel
#2 of 6 in St Davids
353 reviews
0.5 mi away
Warpool Court Hotel
Warpool Court Hotel
#3 of 6 in St Davids
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grove Hotel
Grove Hotel
#5 of 6 in St Davids
308 reviews
12.0 mi away
Ocean Haze Hotel
Ocean Haze Hotel
#4 of 6 in St Davids
57 reviews
0.7 mi away
Penrhiw Hotel
Penrhiw Hotel
#3 of 18 in St Davids
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterings

Address: Anchor Drive | High Street, St Davids SA62 6BW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > St Davids Peninsula > St Davids
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in St Davids
Price Range: £75 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Waterings 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a quiet location, close to the National Park Visitor Centre, the Waterings is a short walk from the city centre and its 800 year old Cathedral. The Waterings offers comfortable, quality accommodation surrounded by tranquil landscaped grounds. On offer are 7 spacious, well-appointed, en suite rooms, 5 on ground level and two 1st floor loft conversions. Rooms facilities include TV and beverage tray and free WiFi. Other amenities include a croquet lawn, water garden, picnic area and ample private parking. A warm welcome awaits you with William & his crew, who are on hand to help and advise during your stay. Please note: We do not operate a 24hr reception. It is open daily until 6pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Waterings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterings St Davids, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing