We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Waterings

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Waterings
Ranked #7 of 21 St Davids B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Llanfairfechan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
Reviewed 20 June 2012

I visited the Waterings around 5 years ago and enjoyed my stay very much. I was disappointed on my return with the overall neglect of the place, for example; the peeling varnish on the 'chalet' door, a small crack in our washbasin in the bathroom. I felt the pillows and beds were hard. The linen polyester and not cotton. I was also in the bathroom and looked down at my legs to find ants running up my leg! The breakfast was also disappointing. There was very little evidence of fresh produce or of any good quality ingredients. The berries had been defrosted. A very mediocre attempt. Overall I felt they wanted to charge as much as possible for as little in return. On a more positive note, the location of the Waterings is convenient to all the amenities of St David's.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Waterings, responded to this review, 1 July 2012
Thank you for your feedback, I’m very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our establishment. I would like to say that I’m aware of the problems you have highlighted and that they will be dealt with at our earliest opportunity. I work as many hours as the day will allow me on the maintenance of the property and have just taken on an addition member of staff to help with the workload. I can confirm that our crawling intruders they have been removed from the bathroom in question. Our beds have orthopaedic mattresses with mattress softeners placed on top of them to help with the firmness. The bed linen is new (less than 2 seasons) and is a 50/50 poly/cotton mix. Also recently refurbished are our carpets sofas, armchairs and TV’s. Again I’m sorry you found the breakfast not to your liking, whilst I admit there are some tinned and frozen fruit on the self service table, we do provide a fresh bowl to order. The bacon (Carmarthenshire) and sausages (Pembrokeshire) are locally sourced, my fruit and vegetables come from a provider in St Davids, my coffee is roasted in Pembroke, most of our cheese is usually from Pembrokeshire and if that proves unavailable then welsh cheeses are sourced. We also stock locally brewed beers (Penlon brewery Pembrokeshire/Ceredigion boarder.) Please accept my sincere apologies for your disappointing stay. I hope that you may give us another opportunity to provide you with accommodation in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    24
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
80
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We booked accommodation here on the internet. Always a bit hit and miss. In this case definately a HIT. We booked for 2 nights but stayed for three. I wish that we had not moved up country as our next B+B was something of a disappointment compared to The Waterings.

William and his wife - friendly and helpful.
The room - excellent
Breakfast - excellent, a great start to a day's sightseeing or walking.
Would I stay here again - YES
Would I recommend The Waterings - YES
The Grounds - well maintained
Parking - enough for at least two cars per room and away from the street.
Are the rooms quiet - the only noise at night or early morning was from birdsong.

Room Tip: Ask for "Captain" or "First Mate", these are the largest rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 558JohnP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Waterings, responded to this review, 1 July 2012
Hello
Thanks for your very kind review, Sorry to hear that the other B&B wasn’t quite as nice. I’ll do my best to silence those pesky blackbirds that are residents in our garden!! It seems that a woodpecker has recently joined the fray as well.
Hopefully we may get the chance to accommodate you again in the future
Regards
William
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012 via mobile

We spent a very pleasant night at this quiet, spacious clean B&B located just minutes walk from the centre of St David's. Plenty of off-street parking, and all at ground level! An excellent breakfast finished our stay nicely
Recommended for that stay in St David's.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Davmoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Waterings, responded to this review, 1 July 2012
Hello
Thank you for your nice review. I'm glad you found us comfortable. I hope you got back to Australia without too much hassle
Regards
William
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
67 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

The Waterings has a very relaxed, peaceful and chilled out atmosphere. The room we had was lovely with it's own front door overlooking a courtyard. It was very comfortable with it's own lounge area and large bathroom with bath and overhead shower (plenty of hot water). However probably the best part of our stay was the cooked breakfast - the best we have had in a long long time!!!

Only minutes walk from the centre of St Davids and with a large car park. It is with reluctance that I am writing this review and recommend this B&B, only because it is nice to keep some treasures like this to yourself!

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank DottyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Waterings, responded to this review, 1 July 2012
Hello DottyUK
Thanks for your kind review, sorry for taking until now to respond. I’m glad you enjoyed the breakfasts and you found the atmosphere here to your liking hopefully we can accommodate you sometime in the future.
Regards William
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

What a little gem! The Waterings is a fantastic place to stay wonderfully situated to explore the area on foot or by car. William and family look after you so well with well appointed rooms, a lovely breakfast and pleasant grounds. Would definitely recommend and hope to visit again in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank welshvacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WChant, Owner at The Waterings, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Thank you for your kind review. I'm glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay, please look us up should you ever be coming back to St Davids for a Holiday.
William
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We have stayed at the Waterings on a couple of occasions, thoroughly enjoyed both stays - It's no ordinary b&b with the accommodation being arrange in 'cabins' around a courtyard. Having a small sitting area in addition the bedroom and bathroom is real benefit and gives a nice relaxing evening/morning area. While some may not like the idea of having to order breakfast the night before, I like the fact that it made me order the healthy fish rather than wake up and fancy the full 'Welsh'!!. The welcome is good and the location on the edge of St Davids is great, a lovely old 'city', well appointed and perfectly situated for exploring the beautiful Pembrokeshire coast.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ShoreRam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level Contributor
106 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

We have stayed here before, and The Waterings remains one of our favourite places in St Davids. A comfortable and warm bedroom (in January),a warm welcome from William and family,lovely breakfast and great price. What more could we want! Incidentally having a small and separate living room is so lovely.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elisabeth-nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Davids hotels
0.1 mi away
Twr y Felin Hotel
Twr y Felin Hotel
#1 of 6 in St Davids
151 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. Davids Cross Hotel
St. Davids Cross Hotel
#2 of 6 in St Davids
287 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grove Hotel
Grove Hotel
#4 of 6 in St Davids
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Warpool Court Hotel
Warpool Court Hotel
#3 of 6 in St Davids
217 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ty Boia B&B
Ty Boia B&B
#4 of 21 in St Davids
48 reviews
0.7 mi away
Penrhiw Hotel
Penrhiw Hotel
#3 of 21 in St Davids
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterings

Property: The Waterings
Address: Anchor Drive | High Street, St Davids SA62 6BW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > St Davids Peninsula > St Davids
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in St Davids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Waterings 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a quiet location, close to the National Park Visitor Centre, the Waterings is a short walk from the city centre and its 800 year old Cathedral. The Waterings offers comfortable, quality accommodation surrounded by tranquil landscaped grounds. On offer are 7 spacious, well-appointed, en suite rooms, 5 on ground level and two 1st floor loft conversions. Rooms facilities include TV and beverage tray and free WiFi. Other amenities include a croquet lawn, water garden, picnic area and ample private parking. A warm welcome awaits you with William & his crew, who are on hand to help and advise during your stay. Please note: We do not operate a 24hr reception. It is open daily until 6pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Waterings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterings St Davids, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing