We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good place to stay”
Review of The Waterings

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Waterings
Ranked #7 of 18 St Davids B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Stayed for 2 nights, and were very pleased with the room. Having a small lounge area with a 2 seater settee and another comfortable chair meant that relaxing watching TV or reading was much more [pleasant than in many B&B rooms we have stayed in.

Breakfast was very good, nice selection and certainly the bacon and sausages were very good quality. We would stay again.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms are identical, so go for any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnFarnborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 July 2012

Hello
Thank you for your positive feedback it is greatly appreciated. We get the sausages from a local award winning Sausage Company. (Preseli gold sausage co. Fishguard)
Regards
William

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2012

I visited the Waterings around 5 years ago and enjoyed my stay very much. I was disappointed on my return with the overall neglect of the place, for example; the peeling varnish on the 'chalet' door, a small crack in our washbasin in the bathroom. I felt the pillows and beds were hard. The linen polyester and not cotton. I was also in the bathroom and looked down at my legs to find ants running up my leg! The breakfast was also disappointing. There was very little evidence of fresh produce or of any good quality ingredients. The berries had been defrosted. A very mediocre attempt. Overall I felt they wanted to charge as much as possible for as little in return. On a more positive note, the location of the Waterings is convenient to all the amenities of St David's.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 July 2012

Thank you for your feedback, I’m very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our establishment. I would like to say that I’m aware of the problems you have highlighted and that they will be dealt with at our earliest opportunity. I work as many hours as the day will allow me on the maintenance of the property and have just taken on an addition member of staff to help with the workload. I can confirm that our crawling intruders they have been removed from the bathroom in question. Our beds have orthopaedic mattresses with mattress softeners placed on top of them to help with the firmness. The bed linen is new (less than 2 seasons) and is a 50/50 poly/cotton mix. Also recently refurbished are our carpets sofas, armchairs and TV’s. Again I’m sorry you found the breakfast not to your liking, whilst I admit there are some tinned and frozen fruit on the self service table, we do provide a fresh bowl to order. The bacon (Carmarthenshire) and sausages (Pembrokeshire) are locally sourced, my fruit and vegetables come from a provider in St Davids, my coffee is roasted in Pembroke, most of our cheese is usually from Pembrokeshire and if that proves unavailable then welsh cheeses are sourced. We also stock locally brewed beers (Penlon brewery Pembrokeshire/Ceredigion boarder.) Please accept my sincere apologies for your disappointing stay. I hope that you may give us another opportunity to provide you with accommodation in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We booked accommodation here on the internet. Always a bit hit and miss. In this case definately a HIT. We booked for 2 nights but stayed for three. I wish that we had not moved up country as our next B+B was something of a disappointment compared to The Waterings.

William and his wife - friendly and helpful.
The room - excellent
Breakfast - excellent, a great start to a day's sightseeing or walking.
Would I stay here again - YES
Would I recommend The Waterings - YES
The Grounds - well maintained
Parking - enough for at least two cars per room and away from the street.
Are the rooms quiet - the only noise at night or early morning was from birdsong.

Room Tip: Ask for "Captain" or "First Mate", these are the largest rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 558JohnP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 July 2012

Hello
Thanks for your very kind review, Sorry to hear that the other B&B wasn’t quite as nice. I’ll do my best to silence those pesky blackbirds that are residents in our garden!! It seems that a woodpecker has recently joined the fray as well.
Hopefully we may get the chance to accommodate you again in the future
Regards
William

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We spent a very pleasant night at this quiet, spacious clean B&B located just minutes walk from the centre of St David's. Plenty of off-street parking, and all at ground level! An excellent breakfast finished our stay nicely
Recommended for that stay in St David's.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Davmoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 July 2012

Hello
Thank you for your nice review. I'm glad you found us comfortable. I hope you got back to Australia without too much hassle
Regards
William

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

The Waterings has a very relaxed, peaceful and chilled out atmosphere. The room we had was lovely with it's own front door overlooking a courtyard. It was very comfortable with it's own lounge area and large bathroom with bath and overhead shower (plenty of hot water). However probably the best part of our stay was the cooked breakfast - the best we have had in a long long time!!!

Only minutes walk from the centre of St Davids and with a large car park. It is with reluctance that I am writing this review and recommend this B&B, only because it is nice to keep some treasures like this to yourself!

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank DottyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 July 2012

Hello DottyUK
Thanks for your kind review, sorry for taking until now to respond. I’m glad you enjoyed the breakfasts and you found the atmosphere here to your liking hopefully we can accommodate you sometime in the future.
Regards William

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

What a little gem! The Waterings is a fantastic place to stay wonderfully situated to explore the area on foot or by car. William and family look after you so well with well appointed rooms, a lovely breakfast and pleasant grounds. Would definitely recommend and hope to visit again in the near future.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank welshvacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WChant, Owner at The Waterings, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Thank you for your kind review. I'm glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay, please look us up should you ever be coming back to St Davids for a Holiday.
William

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We have stayed at the Waterings on a couple of occasions, thoroughly enjoyed both stays - It's no ordinary b&b with the accommodation being arrange in 'cabins' around a courtyard. Having a small sitting area in addition the bedroom and bathroom is real benefit and gives a nice relaxing evening/morning area. While some may not like the idea of having to order breakfast the night before, I like the fact that it made me order the healthy fish rather than wake up and fancy the full 'Welsh'!!. The welcome is good and the location on the edge of St Davids is great, a lovely old 'city', well appointed and perfectly situated for exploring the beautiful Pembrokeshire coast.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ShoreRam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Davids
0.3 mi away
St. Davids Cross Hotel
St. Davids Cross Hotel
#2 of 6 in St Davids
359 reviews
0.1 mi away
Twr y Felin Hotel
Twr y Felin Hotel
#1 of 6 in St Davids
238 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grove Hotel
Grove Hotel
#5 of 6 in St Davids
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Penrhiw Hotel
Penrhiw Hotel
#3 of 18 in St Davids
209 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ty Boia B&B
Ty Boia B&B
#4 of 18 in St Davids
84 reviews
3 mi away
No photo provided
The Ship Inn
#4 of 4 in Solva
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterings

Address: Anchor Drive | High Street, St Davids SA62 6BW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > St Davids Peninsula > St Davids
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in St Davids
Price Range: £73 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Waterings 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a quiet location, close to the National Park Visitor Centre, the Waterings is a short walk from the city centre and its 800 year old Cathedral. The Waterings offers comfortable, quality accommodation surrounded by tranquil landscaped grounds. On offer are 7 spacious, well-appointed, en suite rooms, 5 on ground level and two 1st floor loft conversions. Rooms facilities include TV and beverage tray and free WiFi. Other amenities include a croquet lawn, water garden, picnic area and ample private parking. A warm welcome awaits you with William & his crew, who are on hand to help and advise during your stay. Please note: We do not operate a 24hr reception. It is open daily until 6pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Waterings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterings St Davids, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing