We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb B&B!”
Review of The Waterings

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Waterings
Ranked #7 of 18 St Davids B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I stayed 3 nights at The Waterings in August 2013. Everything was good, the room was cleaned and tidied every day, the breakfasts were plentiful, the location is quiet and close to the centre of the city.

If I have one criticism, it's that the shower in my room (6-Crew) is under a sloping roof, so you have to lean to one side and crouch a bit to use it - fortunately, not a major problem for me!

I'd definiitely stay there again. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WChant, Owner at The Waterings, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Many thanks for the great review, I'll take your point on-board and see if we can advertise the hight of our loft rooms more clearly in future.
Hope to see you again
Regards
William

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2013

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at this great B&B.
What a difference this place was to the usual B&B where you share a house,
Everyone has a spacious chalet which is clean and comfortable and everything you need for a great stay,There are lots of guide books full of information to help you plan your trips off,
The bed was really comfy and we slept well each night.Breakfast was really good with a great choice.We really enjoyed the cooked breakfast which was cooked to perfection,
The Waterings is well situated for walking into St, David's centre, It's about 10 mins walk to the Cathedral. It's not far to walk to the near by beach from the B&B and there is no worry about parking.
Everyone who looked after us through our stay were lovely and helpful,Thank you so much we would return again if in this area ,

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alice072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WChant, Owner at The Waterings, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Thank you ever so much for the kind review, sorry it’s taken me until now to respond.
Hope to accommodate you again sometime in the future.
Many thanks
William

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

My partner and I have stayed in some excellent B&B's but The Waterings is definitely the best. We were welcomed by William who showed us up to our converted loft room - The Admiral - which had a lovely balcony. The bed was extremely comfortable and a magnificent sleep was had by the two of us. Then came breakfast! Alison went for the continental option - beautiful fresh fruit salad, pastries and cheeses and cold meats - while I went for the delicious kippers and yellowest scrambled egg I've ever tasted. We can't wait to go back!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WChant, Owner at The Waterings, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Hi Chris Thank you ever so much for the great review, I hope all goes well for you both over the next few months and that we'll see you again sometime soon
Regards
William

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We have now stayed in The Waterings several times over the last few years and they continue to maintain their standard. Some of the things that you can expect are:

1. a warm welcome and friendly service
2. guaranteed and extensive parking (very unusual for St Ds)
3. huge ensuite rooms with large sitting area (the Admiral even has a private roof terrace)
4. a great breakfast

In addition, 5 of the 7 rooms are 'motel-style' so you access from a private courtyard directly into your room which means easy access. Unlike other B and Bs The Waterings manages to achieve a homely feel without feeling like you are intruding on a family home.

Other nice touches include extensive in-room drink choices, biscuits, mini-toiletries, lovely gardens. And all only 5 minutes walk from the centre of St Davids.

Thanks William and team.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TimParry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WChant, Owner at The Waterings, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Thank you Mr Parry for your kind reivew, and thanks for staying with me again.
Hope to see you again in the not-to-distant future
regards
William

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We started our walking trek in St Davids and stayed 2 nights . The rooms were the largest of any B&B I have ever stayed in. They rooms had all the amenities of modern lodgings. The breakfasts were great . William was very friendly and generous of his time to give recommendations for dinning and walks along the coast. He was also kind enough to send back a few items I left behind. I would love to visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryBeth8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WChant, Owner at The Waterings, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Thank you, ever so much for your generous review, If your ever in St Davids again please stop by, we'd love to have you back.
regards
William

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We stayed at The Waterings for 3 nights on a recent trip to St Davids. We stayed in the Admiral room which was great - a very spacious room in the eves of the building with a seating/TV area, a large bathroom and a balcony with table and chairs. There was a good range of teas/coffees/hot chocolate and biscuits in the room. A nice touch were the choc covered mints on the first night. The bed was clean and comfortable with a very firm mattress and there were extra blankets available in the room should you need them. The breakfast was good with the usual choice of cereals/fruit/yoghurts/cooked/continental with the only downside being that you have to choose your cooked breakfast the day before and you don't always know what you want to eat then. However that is a small point.
The team there are really nice and friendly and you definitely get service with a smile! I would recommend this B&B as it is of a good quality and value and close to all that St Davids has to offer.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue64Mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WChant, Owner at The Waterings, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2013

Thank you for the lovely review, really glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
As regards our breakfast ordering system, we found in our experience that it has saved massively on our volume of food wastage here. This in turn has both economical and environmental benefits too. Of course the down-side is sometimes its difficult to know what you'd like for breakfast the day before!
Hope to see you again sometime in the future
Many thanks
William

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We stayed at The Waterings for 2 nights while walking the Pembrokeshire Coastal Path. We received a very warm welcome. A lovely room - large, comfortable and spotlessly clean with a seating area with settee and TV, a variety of teas, coffee, biscuits and chocolates. A bath with shower, the former wonderful for a long, hot soak after a very long walk. Plenty of towels and toiletries and an efficient towel heater - very useful for drying socks etc.

Very good breakfast, fruit, cereals, juices and yoghurt and good choice of cooked breakfast which was plenty to keep us going for the day's walking along the Coastal Path.

It's well situated close to the Information Centre and Gallery - this too is worth visiting - and a short walk to the cathedral and palace.

At the front there's a large garden with a croquet lawn with attractive trees and shrubs and at the rear a paved area with seats and tables and a fish pond with huge carp.

William, Lottie and Harry were friendly, helpful and cheerful and I wish them well and would certainly recommend this as a great place to stay whether walking or just visiting the area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WChant, Owner at The Waterings, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2013

Thank you for the very generous review, it’s always rewarding to hear from customers that have really enjoyed they're stay with us.
Hope to accommodate you again in the future
Regards
William

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Davids hotels
0.1 mi away
Twr y Felin Hotel
Twr y Felin Hotel
#1 of 6 in St Davids
231 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. Davids Cross Hotel
St. Davids Cross Hotel
#2 of 6 in St Davids
355 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grove Hotel
Grove Hotel
#5 of 6 in St Davids
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Penrhiw Hotel
Penrhiw Hotel
#3 of 18 in St Davids
209 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ty Boia B&B
Ty Boia B&B
#4 of 18 in St Davids
84 reviews
0.3 mi away
The City Inn
The City Inn
#16 of 18 in St Davids
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterings

Address: Anchor Drive | High Street, St Davids SA62 6BW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > St Davids Peninsula > St Davids
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in St Davids
Price Range: £73 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Waterings 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a quiet location, close to the National Park Visitor Centre, the Waterings is a short walk from the city centre and its 800 year old Cathedral. The Waterings offers comfortable, quality accommodation surrounded by tranquil landscaped grounds. On offer are 7 spacious, well-appointed, en suite rooms, 5 on ground level and two 1st floor loft conversions. Rooms facilities include TV and beverage tray and free WiFi. Other amenities include a croquet lawn, water garden, picnic area and ample private parking. A warm welcome awaits you with William & his crew, who are on hand to help and advise during your stay. Please note: We do not operate a 24hr reception. It is open daily until 6pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Waterings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterings St Davids, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing