We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super location - n' a great stop”
Review of The Waterings

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Waterings
Ranked #7 of 18 St Davids B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Super location - n' a great stop”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Top notch B&B ! Lovely clean and bright rooms with a small seating area away from the beds , shich is nice if you want to sit and read or watch tv while the other half is in bed or watever. Rooms are well maintained and well cleaned daily.
Location is top notch for St Davids .. which is easily walkable and you are right next to the Information centre which is handy.
Easy parking.

Breakfast is top notch and although it has to be chosen the night before - (One could hold things back if you wanted to on the morning) Good selection and nicely presented. tv. asty local produce, bacon was particularly noteworthy.
Nicely served by the very attentative "lady who does everything" ! :-)

Thoroughly recommended for a few days if your touring , even a week would be OK I reckon.

Two small points ...

Our room (Bosun) could perhaps do with some softer / newer pillows and
Two ..if you are planning a very amorous stay .. be aware that the walls are a little thin ! .. wasn't a problem for us .. but something to be aware of perhaps ! :-)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Strummer07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WChant, Manager at The Waterings, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thanks for the lovely review, good to here you enjoyed your stay with us. Sorry for taking until now to respond.
The piillows are scheduled for replacing and we should have some new ones arriving in time for the start of this season.
Many thanks
William
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    24
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
82
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Burton on Trent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This is an excellent place to stay for walking some of the most spectacular parts of the Pembrokeshire coast path. Plenty of free parking and just a short walk into the centre of St David's. Bus stop just outside where you can catch a bus to New Gale and then walk back along the coast path. Friendly and helpful people at The Waterings. The breakfast menu offers a very good choice and quality of the food is very good indeed. The room we stayed in was very comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Howard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WChant, Owner at The Waterings, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thanks for the kind review; good feedback is always greatly appreciated by both me and my staff.
Glad you enjoyed your stay
Regards
William
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abergavenny
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We only were able to stay 1 night, and the only room available was in the loft ! What a surprise we had a lovely large room, large bathroom and to top it we had a large balcony with a table and chairs to sit outside and enjoy a glass of wine before a short walk into St Davids.
This is the perfect setting as it was so quiet yet everything was near by with plenty of good guide books to help you chose what to do next. As we had booked a early morning trip, having our breakfast a bit earlier was not a problem, the breakfast itself was great, a large choice, fresh and very enjoyable.
We will go back to St Davids, and when we do we will return to the Waterings and try and book the same room!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmrboon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WChant, Owner at The Waterings, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thanks for the great reivew, glad you found everything to your liking!
Hope to see you again in the future
regards
William
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I stayed 3 nights at The Waterings in August 2013. Everything was good, the room was cleaned and tidied every day, the breakfasts were plentiful, the location is quiet and close to the centre of the city.

If I have one criticism, it's that the shower in my room (6-Crew) is under a sloping roof, so you have to lean to one side and crouch a bit to use it - fortunately, not a major problem for me!

I'd definiitely stay there again. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WChant, Owner at The Waterings, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Many thanks for the great review, I'll take your point on-board and see if we can advertise the hight of our loft rooms more clearly in future.
Hope to see you again
Regards
William
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at this great B&B.
What a difference this place was to the usual B&B where you share a house,
Everyone has a spacious chalet which is clean and comfortable and everything you need for a great stay,There are lots of guide books full of information to help you plan your trips off,
The bed was really comfy and we slept well each night.Breakfast was really good with a great choice.We really enjoyed the cooked breakfast which was cooked to perfection,
The Waterings is well situated for walking into St, David's centre, It's about 10 mins walk to the Cathedral. It's not far to walk to the near by beach from the B&B and there is no worry about parking.
Everyone who looked after us through our stay were lovely and helpful,Thank you so much we would return again if in this area ,

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alice072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WChant, Owner at The Waterings, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you ever so much for the kind review, sorry it’s taken me until now to respond.
Hope to accommodate you again sometime in the future.
Many thanks
William
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

My partner and I have stayed in some excellent B&B's but The Waterings is definitely the best. We were welcomed by William who showed us up to our converted loft room - The Admiral - which had a lovely balcony. The bed was extremely comfortable and a magnificent sleep was had by the two of us. Then came breakfast! Alison went for the continental option - beautiful fresh fruit salad, pastries and cheeses and cold meats - while I went for the delicious kippers and yellowest scrambled egg I've ever tasted. We can't wait to go back!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WChant, Owner at The Waterings, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Hi Chris Thank you ever so much for the great review, I hope all goes well for you both over the next few months and that we'll see you again sometime soon
Regards
William
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We have now stayed in The Waterings several times over the last few years and they continue to maintain their standard. Some of the things that you can expect are:

1. a warm welcome and friendly service
2. guaranteed and extensive parking (very unusual for St Ds)
3. huge ensuite rooms with large sitting area (the Admiral even has a private roof terrace)
4. a great breakfast

In addition, 5 of the 7 rooms are 'motel-style' so you access from a private courtyard directly into your room which means easy access. Unlike other B and Bs The Waterings manages to achieve a homely feel without feeling like you are intruding on a family home.

Other nice touches include extensive in-room drink choices, biscuits, mini-toiletries, lovely gardens. And all only 5 minutes walk from the centre of St Davids.

Thanks William and team.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TimParry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WChant, Owner at The Waterings, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Thank you Mr Parry for your kind reivew, and thanks for staying with me again.
Hope to see you again in the not-to-distant future
regards
William
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Davids hotels
0.3 mi away
St. Davids Cross Hotel
St. Davids Cross Hotel
#2 of 6 in St Davids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Twr y Felin Hotel
Twr y Felin Hotel
#1 of 6 in St Davids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grove Hotel
Grove Hotel
#4 of 6 in St Davids
3.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Warpool Court Hotel
Warpool Court Hotel
#3 of 6 in St Davids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ty Boia B&B
Ty Boia B&B
#4 of 18 in St Davids
5.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.7 mi away
Penrhiw Hotel
Penrhiw Hotel
#3 of 18 in St Davids
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterings

Property: The Waterings
Address: Anchor Drive | High Street, St Davids SA62 6BW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > St Davids Peninsula > St Davids
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in St Davids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Waterings 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a quiet location, close to the National Park Visitor Centre, the Waterings is a short walk from the city centre and its 800 year old Cathedral. The Waterings offers comfortable, quality accommodation surrounded by tranquil landscaped grounds. On offer are 7 spacious, well-appointed, en suite rooms, 5 on ground level and two 1st floor loft conversions. Rooms facilities include TV and beverage tray and free WiFi. Other amenities include a croquet lawn, water garden, picnic area and ample private parking. A warm welcome awaits you with William & his crew, who are on hand to help and advise during your stay. Please note: We do not operate a 24hr reception. It is open daily until 6pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Waterings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterings St Davids, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing