We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hostel ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old School Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best hostel ever”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

A gem on the Pembroke Way. Great to find such amazing value on such a well-known tourist route. This hostel is genuinely environmentally concerned and puts most of us to shame with its carbon footprint. It also puts many other places to shame when it comes to breakfast - the house special is a porridge that is amazing. Packed lunches were also lovely. Can't fault the hostel at all.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beancounter27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
44
32
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The Old School is a top hostel. The bedrooms are individually decorated to a theme with beds and bedding of a higher quality than you will find in most other hostels. It is tastefully decorated with lots of arty querks. The kitchen is well equipped and the small lounge is very comfortable with lots of board games. There is free internet access on the hostel computer.

There is also a fairly large hall within the hostel, which I think doubles up as the village hall. This area has some tables, so there is plenty of space even for big groups, and a table tennis table which you can use (there is a honesty box and a recommended donation of £1 a game). I stayed whilst walking the coast path and met another couple further down who mentioned they had stayed here about a year ago; on finding the hostel full they were allowed them to stay on the floor of the hall.

Trefin has a pub which does food but there is no shop in the village. If you are doing the Pembrokeshire Coast Path you will need to bring food unless you plan to eat at the pub.

I paid £16 for a dorm room which I luckily had to myself. There was an en-suite shower with the toilet on the corridor. I also paid £6 for breakfast (very nice fruit porridge) and £5 for a packed lunch the next day. Towel rental is £1, which was waived as I bought breakfast and lunch.

The hostel is run by Chris and Sue, with Chris performing most of the customer facing stuff like checking you in. They are very dedicated to the hostel and provided a more professional and friendly service than I have experienced in any other UK hostel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My wife and I were looking for an affordable way to see the Pembrokeshire coast and had almost given up our search, with bed and breakfast on offer late June/early July at up to £600 for 6 nights. Then we found The Old School Hostel in Trefin, which also has the Old Bakery - Ty Popty attached. It's a single living/sleeping/eating room with shower and toilet at the side, and we were lucky enough to be able to book it for the few days we had free. Communication with Sue (of Sue & Chris, who own the property) was superb; we were given advice about where to go, what to do, what to see, where to eat etc etc. The room has full disabled access and facilities, including a seat in the shower room. You can book breakfast if you want, or even a packed lunch, and if you want you can also use the facilities in the adjacent hostel. There's full wifi and internet access and the place is absolutely ideally placed to tour the Pembrokeshire coast and beyond. If Sue and Chris will have us again we will most definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James-E-Wilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Great stay one night on Pembs Cp walk. Great welcome, friendly host , well organised and helpful. As with all hostels facilities basic, but ensuite shower great addition . Loved the books in the rooms and realy well stocked kitchen facilities. Good local pub to watch England losing in the world cup, no evidence of gloating from the locals. Wonderful porridge and toast for breakfast with excellent coffee and my smoked local herring sandwich very lovely for packed lunch. Thanks Chris would love to come again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gorjoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Amazing from booking to leaving. Lovely hosts and great rooms, everything clean and tidy, the beds are really comfy, Amazing area and the pub and cafe make wonderful food and drinks. Would definitely stay again!! Thank you so much!!!:)xxx

Room Tip: All rooms I'm sure are of the same quality splendid!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Ty Popty - small but efficiently set up to provide all that you need for self catering. A lot of thought has gone into this unit. Chris and Sue were extremely helpful in providing tips for sight seeing and culinary options.

Room Tip: Ty Popty had everything that we needed for our self catering and so we didn't need to use the ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank granocornbix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Chris and Sue were the perfect hosts when I stopped in along the Pembrokeshire Coast in May this year. The hostel is quirky, the rooms are great and the specially made porridge is to die for!! I stayed in a dorm room, just for one night, but felt so at home and the beds are super comfy, ensuite shower and ample power points. The ethos of the hostel is sustainability and organics which makes it extra special. I drove and parking was available, but its along the coastal walk and at the time, discounts were offered for those who travelled by sustainable transport. Can not recommend this hostel enough!

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank jlq86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trefin
6.9 mi away
Twr y Felin Hotel
Twr y Felin Hotel
#1 of 6 in St Davids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
19.9 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
7.3 mi away
Warpool Court Hotel
Warpool Court Hotel
#3 of 6 in St Davids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cranog Trefin
Cranog Trefin
#1 of 6 in Trefin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
6.8 mi away
Penrhiw Hotel
Penrhiw Hotel
#3 of 18 in St Davids
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Ferryboat
The Ferryboat
#1 of 20 in Fishguard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old School Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old School Hostel

Property: The Old School Hostel
Address: Ffordd Yr Afon | Ffordd-yr-Afon, Trefin SA62 5AU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > St Davids Peninsula > Trefin
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Trefin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old School Hostel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Old School Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old School Hostel Trefin, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing