We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth a visit”
Review of The Ship Inn

The Ship Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Restaurants in Trefin
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

On our recent 3-day break we ended up having most of our meals out at The Ship Inn. The service was friendly and the pub has a lovely generous and homely atmosphere, not flashy. For dinners we had sea bass with new potatoes and salad and fish pie from the board. We also tried the steak and ale pie from the standard menu; all delicious. For lunch we had their excellent crab sandwich served with salad. There are pleasant places to sit inside and out. Inside you can choose either the cosy bar or the restaurant which has beautiful views over fields. There is a delightful garden with picnic tables at the back for fair weather days.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank susan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    57
    37
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Really good”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Good food and beer. Excellent and helpful service. This is a classic old Welsh pub. Always a joy to stop off here: long may it continue.

Helpful?
Thank JG W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
103 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Bit grim”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Probably good for a pint, but wouldn’t necessarily eat there. It wasn’t very pleasant indoors, so we opted to sit outside (in the car park). There isn’t much else in Trefin, but still…

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CK_the_translator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Good selection of food in very roomy surroundings, inside and out. Good value for the food and the drinks were not too expensive either; unlike other nearby establishments

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank AlaApl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate
Level Contributor
88 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very average”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed two nights at the Old School Hostel in Trefin but only ate once in the Ship Inn which probably says it all. The younger staff were fairly friendly but the landlady seemed harassed. The beer was so-so and we resorted to bottled beers. Our meal was no more than adequate and my steak and ale pie would hardly have troubled a vegetarian such was its lack of meat content.

Helpful?
Thank Beancounter27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ship Inn also viewed

Trefin, St Davids Peninsula
Porthgain, Pembrokeshire
 
Haverfordwest, Pembrokeshire
 
Haverfordwest, Pembrokeshire
St Davids, St Davids Peninsula
 

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing