We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil & beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Larkhill Tipis and Yurts
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Welcomed by friendly turkeys which was the perfect beginning to a long awaited childless weekend with my hubby.We stayed in the ger which is tucked away in the corner of the site, led to by individually carved pathway surrounded by wooden carvings. The ger was simple and homely with bright colors lining this beautiful temporary home. I loved the criss crossing of wood work on the 'ceiling' and the large round window that allows you to view the stars from the warmth of the inside. It was toasty warm and easy to get the log burner going-the best place to relax, read a book and complete the odd puzzle. The owners were absolutely lovely and went out of their way to help us try to find somewhere to eat on a Sunday night (which is a pretty impossible task)! We loved,loved,loved this retreat as it has loads for children to do hidden away in the woodlands but is also perfect for couples. If fairies were going to live anywhere it would be here.

Stayed: March 2014
4  Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed ln mongolian ger didn't want to go back home .beautiful place stayed with my mum dad and my brother. Had I fabulous time exploring the woods and playing in the play area.Fran done a easter egg hunt for us and nothing was to much trouble for her.Dad said we'll be going back again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank gavyn w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Just got back from the best glamping experience ever at Larkhill! Such a beautiful setting, so much to look at and explore. Stayed in the mongolian ger it was so well thought out had everything we needed in it, and very very warm had the best nights sleep. Fran and Tony are very welcoming and lovely people. This place is a MUST visit highly recommend!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I stayed at Larkhill Tipi's in June with 3 of my friends. We stayed in a Lavvu. The whole place is so lovely and well thought out. I was expected a nice tipi in a field, what we got was so much more. Aside from the fact that everything you could possibly need is provided for you at Larkhill (Cooking equipment, games, a place to charge your phone, clean showers, lots of wood for the fire), the actual setting of the whole site is so charming and wonderful. The different Tipis and Lavvus and Yurts are all dotted around a little bit of woodland, with lovely paths carved out of wood leading you around. The Lavvu was very warm and being able to look out at the sky through the whole in the top was brilliant. Felt like we were in a boat. And the owners are lovely! And it really is very reasonably priced. Couldn't ask for more really.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LucaAnaise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Peaceful, beautiful setting, no surprises.
The site is literally in the middle of nowhere, which is a perfect, safe environment for our children to run around and explore. There was another family with children of similar ages so there were instant playmates for them.
The peaceful location was beautiful and Larkhill gives you a great base to explore the fabulous countryside and coastline of west Wales.
We had the opportunity on arrival to upgrade from the Lavvu to the Bentwood Yurt - and this extra space was much better for 2 adults and 2 kids aged 5 & 2.
The website for Larkhill explains everything in detail with regard to site activities and amenities, so we knew exactly what we were getting upon arrival. There were no surprises...the compost loo was fine, the showers lovely and the communal log cabin the centre point to meet other guests and exchange stories of good local places to visit.
Fran and Tony were lovely, helpful and knowledgeable about the area and the region and nothing seemed too much trouble.
We will definitely be returning.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank JohnBlyths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

This was our first holiday at Larkhill. Myself, my sister and 5 children aged 2 to 7 stayed in the Alachigh and it was fabulous. The children loved the magical site and their independence. It was completely safe and we were comfortable letting them explore the woods and play area. Nothing was too much bother for chilled out, lovely Fran. The tent was cosy and warm and the kitchen incredibly well equipped! We will be back next year for definite.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barnettdunmow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Overall the biggest thing that is a large postive, is the welcome you recieve from Fran... Anything she can help you with she does.. The Camp is in amazing surroundings with lovely hand carvings in the woods and lovely trails ( children will love this ).. A really good experience :)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fabio1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cwmduad
5.0 mi away
Emlyn Hotel
Emlyn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastle Emlyn
570 reviews
15.6 mi away
The Gwbert Hotel
The Gwbert Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cardigan
454 reviews
15.2 mi away
The Cambrian Hotel - B &B, Pub and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Ceridwen Centre
Ceridwen Centre
#1 of 1 in Dre-fach Felindre
37 reviews
2.3 mi away
Afon Duad Inn
Afon Duad Inn
#1 of 2 in Cwmduad
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Larkhill Tipis and Yurts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Larkhill Tipis and Yurts

Address: Larkhill, Cwmduad, Carmarthen, Cwmduad SA33 6AT, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Cwmduad
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Cwmduad
Price Range: £69 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning campsite set in four acres of woodland with stunning views of the Teifi Valley. We have five different types of glamping accommodation from all different parts of the world - an Alachigh, a Mongolian Ger, a Bentwood Yurt, a Lavvu and a Native American Tipi. All are in their own 'space', are connected by handmade stepping stones and all have wood-burners and outdoor camp-fire areas. There is a log cabin providing all you could possibly need for your stay, woodland walks, a children's play area and farm animals. Established in 2003 with the proprietors always on hand to help in any way. Particularly suitable for families and couples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and PitchUp so you can book your Larkhill Tipis and Yurts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkhill Tipis And Yurts Cwmduad, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing