We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal ever!”
Review of Seaview - CLOSED

Seaview
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 17 September 2011

We visited Laugharne and went to The Seaview. We booked in for a night and a tasting menu. Up on arrival we were welcomed by Darren and Juliet. They were very pleasant and helpful. We could not fault the room.
We had 9 courses with matching wines. The food was excellent, unusual combination who works very well. My husband especially liked the raw sirloin beef with anchovy, i especially enjoyed oyster, blackberries and Guiness. The desert was divine.
We would highly recommend. It is a very good value for money. We wish them good luck.

    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alice J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2011

We were staying in Laugharne for a wedding and arrived a day early and decided to have a meal out. I phoned ahead as my partner has coeliac disease which means she can't eat anything that contains or has been contaminated with wheat or gluten. There were no problems with this.

Upon arriving we were comfortably sat in leather chairs and ordered a drink, starters and main. The choice was good, especially if you like seafood. There were plenty of options that the chef could prepare gluten-free so my partner was very pleased!

We were then taken upstairs to the cosy restaurant. The food was excellent. Really out of the ordinary, and the staff kept bringing over extra dishes that the chef was trying out - they were all delicious. The desserts were also very special.

The food wasn't cheap, but then when you are eating something of that quality you don't mind paying a bit more than the norm, and compared to some of the poor quality places I've eaten in London this place is a bargain.

Great service, great food, I would highly recommend to anyone who enjoys trying eating something they wouldn't normally.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jonnyt80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Hsaving seen a menu displayed prominently in town a few weeks previously we decided to make a condidersble detour to sample lunch at the Seaview. Despite the advertising board clearly stating it was open at lunchtime- it wasn't! On phoning we were told 'Oh yes.. we changed that.' My advice would be to the Seaview- change your advertising material as well and avoid wasting people's time! If you are planning on eating here phone ahead!

Thank hambling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren29, Manager at Seaview, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2011

Dear Sir/Madame

The food at the Seaview is certainley worth a considerable detour. We apologise about the board you are refering too it has been removed. We have been closed for lunches for the whole of the summer due to a sister business being open and to be honest the problem you have encountered has been our first.

Reserving in advance for dinner is highly recommended to avoid disappointment. due to the size of our restaurant (14 covers) and also because we have 4 rooms above the restaurant we very often find ourselves fully booked. We hope that you might come back in the future to sample our dinner menu. Please call 01994 427030 to make a reservation.

Thanks for finding the time to post your review and we look forward to welcoming you

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

What a nice surprise to find an inventive Chef in this nice village, a Chef surely inspired by the poet Dylan Thomas. The dishes of the tasting menu are a mixed of flavours and discoveries. Crab, pigeon, an original consommé, and a lovely dessert are part of this splendid menu. You can buy the wine by glass and thus make a good association with the meal.
The service is nice and discreet.
This place has to be known!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank TITOU37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Had six course tasting menu for £45ph plus a bottle of good quality Viognier for £13.
Booked with Becky who is real tour de force who does all front of house and tables with a smile and gave advice on menu and wine to another table.
Predinner drinks in downstairs bar on plush leather sofas. Only problem for table for two was that one of us faced a wall. Turn the tables at an angle please. No seaview to speak of from the restaurant windows despite the name.
Menu highlights.White Crab Ravioli. Raw Welsh Beef (steak tartare with a kick of Tabasco). All first class ingredients and well presented. Coffee downstairs in bar.
From the size of the building the bedrooms must be tiny.
Well done Darren. would certainly revisit for a special occasion.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank araf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Seaview also viewed

Laugharne, Carmarthenshire
Laugharne, Carmarthenshire
 
Laugharne, Carmarthenshire
 
Laugharne, Carmarthenshire
Laugharne, Carmarthenshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing