We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special Place”

Tin Shed Experience
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Laugharne
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Tin Shed Experience is a second hand tin sheeted museum housing a collection of items from 1914-45 and wartime items including some film memorabilia and props. We have an Anderson Shelter and a 1930's workmans cottage. Over the years we have developed links with historical film and television productions such as 'Band of Brothers' and 'Saving Private Ryan'. We are also a quirky semi outdoor / undercover area for events. ********************************************************************** We are closed all days on Monday's and Tuesdays Reopen on Wednesday/Thursday/Friday and Saturday at 11am and last entry is at 4.30pm. Sunday we open at 1pm and last entry is at 4.30pm * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * Admission Fee General Admission £3 Family 2 Adults 2 Children £10 WW2 Veterans FREE Director Seimon Pugh-Jones 07974 106 157 Events Co-ordinator Min Evans 0781 696 0268 *Museum may close occasionally to cater for special events. Please check our facebook page & website regularly for details & phone to double check our availability before travelling. We apologise for any inconvenience caused during these times * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * ALL INFORMATION IS SUBJECT TO CHANGE WITH NO LIABILITY TO THE WEB PAGE CREATOR OR THE TIN SHED EXPERIENCE PLEASE PHONE TO DOUBLE CHECK THAT WE ARE OPEN BEFORE TRAVELING TO VISIT US. ******************************
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Batley,
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Special Place”
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Laugharne is a magical place and this place fits in so well! These people have created somthing which uplifts you, all for a nominal fee! They have superb knowledge of the subject but it is their enthusiasm that draws you in, I was taken around the exhibits and talked about them and around them - don't expect to walk in, look around and walk out, it ain't going to happen! You are welcomed as a friend and immediately comfortable. Do not be put off if you don't normally go to war time attractions, there is somting there for everyone, this is not shrine to the miiatary but an insight into social history. Experience is the right word!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank LibbyBatley_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Tin Shed Experience, responded to this review, 24 June 2012
Hello all,

We are so pleased you enjoyed yourselves at the museum. Its always a pleasure showing visitors around our 'labour of love' We hope you took away the feeling that you are a part of our crazy journey to achieve what has been a lifelong ambition. All our visitors play a major role in helping us develop and having lovely reviews such as this one help us to carry on.

Best Wishes,

The Tin Shed team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    27
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Can't rate my visit highly enough”
Reviewed 7 June 2012 via mobile

This is a fantastic place to visit. Well worth a morning or afternoon. My 8yr old has been learning about WW2 in school and he really loved all the exhibits. Everyone who is involved in the museum has a fantastic enthusiasm and make you feel truly welcome. Thank you to Seimon for sharing his knowledge and the outstanding collection of memorabilia.

Helpful?
3 Thank jenny g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very interesting collections and run by lovely people”
Reviewed 20 May 2012

A really unusual museum run by people with enthusiam and great knowledge of all things from the 1940's era, we were given a fantastic welcome and a personal tour, a really great place to visit for all ages well worth a look.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank littlehaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain Ash
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very very suprised”
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Myself and my wife visited the shed whilst passing and had no expectations. What a fantastic visit it was. We spend over an hour talking with seimon and his wife and found it a fantastic experience. We would certainly visit again. Educational and engrossing. Cannot rate this place highly enough

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Nick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Step back in time.”
Reviewed 6 May 2012

My visit was very nostalgic. Each time I visit a little more has been added. So pleased that there are people prepared to preserve the past in such an interesting way.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tin Shed Experience also viewed

Laugharne, Carmarthenshire
Carmarthen, Carmarthenshire
 
Pendine, Carmarthenshire
 

Been to Tin Shed Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing