We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Tin Shed Experience”

Tin Shed Experience
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Laugharne
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Tin Shed Experience is a second hand tin sheeted museum housing a collection of items from 1914-45 and wartime items including some film memorabilia and props. We have an Anderson Shelter and a 1930's workmans cottage. Over the years we have developed links with historical film and television productions such as 'Band of Brothers' and 'Saving Private Ryan'. We are also a quirky semi outdoor / undercover area for events. ********************************************************************** We are closed all days on Monday's and Tuesdays Reopen on Wednesday/Thursday/Friday and Saturday at 11am and last entry is at 4.30pm. Sunday we open at 1pm and last entry is at 4.30pm * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * Admission Fee General Admission £3 Family 2 Adults 2 Children £10 WW2 Veterans FREE Director Seimon Pugh-Jones 07974 106 157 Events Co-ordinator Min Evans 0781 696 0268 *Museum may close occasionally to cater for special events. Please check our facebook page & website regularly for details & phone to double check our availability before travelling. We apologise for any inconvenience caused during these times * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * ALL INFORMATION IS SUBJECT TO CHANGE WITH NO LIABILITY TO THE WEB PAGE CREATOR OR THE TIN SHED EXPERIENCE PLEASE PHONE TO DOUBLE CHECK THAT WE ARE OPEN BEFORE TRAVELING TO VISIT US. ******************************
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The Tin Shed Experience”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

No visit to Laugharne would be complete without exploring the incredible collection of wartime memorabilia that is housed within the Tin Shed. Apart from an amazing collection of militaria from both world wars this exhibition is a tribute to the photographic work of the period, without which we would not have the records we have today. This is not just a museum but a walk back in time. Apart from the ever changing exhibits The Tin Shed is also a venue for music and drama.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Celticheart07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    27
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberystwyth
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hidden gem full of interest!”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stopped at this museum as we were just passing by. Sadly there is little parking but we managed to pinch a spot and I'm SO glad we did.
£3 entry and I've never been to such an interesting and intimate museum collection. Run by volunteers who are obviously so passionate and really know their stuff. This collection of WW1 and WW2 home and war artefacts are mostly from personal collections but this only means that you get to know the soldiers through their letters and stories.
The Tin Shed has links with Hollywood and has artefacts and costumes used in HBO's Band of Brothers, and Saving Private Ryan.
The Tin Shed Experience comprises a central 'museum' room with war time artefacts, an anderson shelter, and a perfectly restored 1940s kitchen/living area. You are given much more free range around this museum and even have the opportunity to touch and hold certain artefacts.
As we were the only people visiting at the time, we were walked around and given a lot of information about everything in the museum. At busy times the lack of this one-to-one experience may mean you miss a few things but I got the idea that it is never truly ~busy~.
Visit time lasted about an hour, and will definitely be visiting again as the collection of items are updated regularly.
As a small attraction there is no shop or obvious loos but the volunteers are very accommodating; we were even offered a cup of tea.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Ladylutra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This little gem of a place was well worth the small entry fee. The owner was very helpful and explained anything we wanted to know. He even put a record on the wind up gramophone to add to the atmosphere. The cottage at the back was fantastic, really like stepping back in time. What the owners have done here is fantastic.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Neyweds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Such a great place to visit. Having lived in Laugharne previously this is such an asset to the township. Everyone has worked hardtop make it a positive contribution to the locality. Visited with the in-laws and had a guided tour. The guide was great - so knowledgeable! We all thoroughly enjoyed it. Am now looking forward to visiting again to see the little house & air raid shelter.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Kenesetic immersion into WW1 and WW2 history”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Min welcomed us in for free as an apology for recently vacated film students leaving the Tin Shed a mixture of new and old products. Instead the experience was even more rewarding. Knowledge and stories were shared about ancestors and locals and how they lived through the wars. This is an amazing experience. Do not miss it. Your visit will be as unique as ours due to Min and Simeon. Great storytellers and historians.

Helpful?
3 Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tin Shed Experience also viewed

Laugharne, Carmarthenshire
Carmarthen, Carmarthenshire
 
Pendine, Carmarthenshire
 

Been to Tin Shed Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing