We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lively Weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The New Three Mariners
Ranked #12 of 15 Laugharne B&B and Inns
Carmarthenshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Lively Weekend!”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Have just returned from a fun filled weekend,by the time We left felt like locals!

What you have to realise is that you are staying over a pub,so if your expecting a quiet night sleep this is not the place for you,but if you want a warm welcome,nice cosy rooms,comfy beds (maybe mattress protectors would be a good idea), good pizzas and lots of banter then you will have a great time,We will definitely be going back :) Breakfast was good and the staff very efficient.

Room Tip: We had room 1 which was a twin room and was nicely decorated,think the top rooms would be a little q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RINGLET55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon T, Manager at The New Three Mariners, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
YAY!! You can come back anytime!!

Thanks for you lovely review,

Jon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    34
    17
    12
    5
See reviews for
9
72
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Unfortunately the pub was one of those where as soon as you walk in everyone turns to look at you. It all went quiet for a moment which made us feel rather uncomfortable. After a long wait whilst the staff served the regular customers we were taken to what was described as the noisiest room in the Inn...our first indication of what was to come. The room itself was nice enough although the bathroom could do with a proper clean and update.
The pizzas in the pub were very nice although we were a little surprised that that was all you could get - a choice of 6 or 7 pizzas and no salad or anything else at all (apart of course from more dough in the form of garlic bread!).
However, the bar itself was very loud and the music continued throughout the night. In our room you could hear everything. The bass thumped and the drunken singing got louder and louder. At 1am we thought it had stopped but no, it carried on until 2.40am. If we had been made to feel more welcome we might have given up on sleep and gone to join in but we weren't. It wasnt exactly a restful nights sleep which is what we had wanted.
The breakfasts in the morning however were good and the breakfast staff were a completely different kettle of fish - really friendly and helpful.
I would suggest that if you love a goof pub knees up and are not shy about coming forward then this would be a great place to visit. If you are looking for a quiet stay in a local pub then avoid this place as it probably wont be for you.
As Dylan Thomas said Laugharne is probably the strangest town in Wales - he wasnt wrong there!

Room Tip: Dont go for Room 3 or probably any rooms on the first floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovepuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon T, Manager at The New Three Mariners, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Hi ilovepuds,

Sorry you didn't get a welcome. This genuinely surprises me because Laugharne is a friendly place, but, as others have noted, it does like a party! My advice to anyone wanting a good night's sleep is always to book a B&B or a large hotel, as pubs and bars tend to be lively (who wants a dead pub?!)... and The Mariners is livelier than most!

Cheers,

Jon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

My stepson - home from Vietnam for Christmas loves this place so we thought we would give him a treat on the way home from visiting his grandmother. The rooms at the New Three Mariners are superb, spacious, very clean and the beds are very comfortable. Disappointingly the pub itself only serves pizzas so we chose to eat at Brown's the partner hotel just across the way. Some items on the limited menu were off and it was only 6.30 pm! The only vegetarian food available was a stodgy cheese pie. We slept very well, but stepson had to go down to the bar at 1.00pm to ask to turn the music down! He had no sleep at all. My wife's full english breakfast was okish, vegetarian breakfast for stepson appalling. Mine, okish.

My wife spoke to the manager saying how great the rooms were but that we were disappointed at the noise. He was to be fair apologetic, but "we are welsh, it is christmas and he is lucky it wasn't 5 o'clock to me is unacceptable for a hostelry taking paying guests. The barmaid had previously said there had been similar complaints! Enough said.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from over the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon T, Manager at The New Three Mariners, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Hi Trevor,

Thanks for reviewing. We were under pressure a little over Christmas. Located where we are it is not easy to top up on food stocks during the holiday season. As far as the menu is concerned we do pizza and pasta in the Mariners and Pies, Soups and Puddings in Browns. Quite a range for a small township with a population of under 2000! I meant the being Welsh line in jest, but if you decide to venture down this way again email Browns and I'll put you in a room there for the same rate as the Mariners. We are serving a wider range of foods now as well.

Best wishes,

Jon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

The room was a bit shabby and not much choice for breakfast! We ordered poached eggs for our traditional cooked breakfast as you had a choice of poached,scrambled or fried only to be told a few minutes later we couldn't have them! Staff and service very good!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Birdy237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon T, General Manager at The New Three Mariners, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Sorry about the eggs! Our 2 usual chefs were both off, one because it was New Year's Day and the other was ill. I cooked brekkie and am rubbish at poached eggs!

Cheers,

Jon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I were staying at the hotel and spa in the area and through their recommendation thought we would try the pub out and after looking at the website it had to be a must. In arrival at 6pm it was a little busy but the music was too loud and you couldn't hear your self think let alone have a good conversation. Being from Devon looking at the website and seeing thatchers cider and many other drinks were priced at a very reasonable price of £2 a pint which is unheard of these days I was looking forward to having a few but on asking for thatchers it wasn't on sale and then settled for another cider but then had another shock when he said it was £4 a pint I think they need a look at the website.

We went for a pizza as had a big meal the night before but lucky we did only want pizza as that's all they did which is a bit weird for a pub in a local village. The pizza's were reasonably priced and actually didn't taste that bad but the whole night was ruined by the music blaring out the speakers and people shouting.

I recommend they check what type of business they want to be and not lie on their website.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon T, Manager at The New Three Mariners, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
We recently changed our beer suppliers and now sell Addlestone's cider from Shepton Mallet (in Somerset) at the fantastically low price of £2. We also sell Coors lager at that price. Whilst our website is not 100% up to date, it's a little unfair to call selling a different (better?!) brand for the same price a 'lie'.

Laugharne is a party town and it is Christmas time. If it was too loud when you walked in, why did you stay?! However, you could have eaten your pizza in our sister property, the much quieter Browns Hotel next door where there is no jukebox and a lot less shouting.

Browns also serves home-cooked soups, pies and puddings and the Mariners serves home-made pasta dishes as well as pizza. In a small place like Laugharne in the middle of winter I'm sure you will agree that's a fair selection.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Have just popped into the inn for a quick bite to eat, the service was fantastic, the pizza (we had a margharita and the gruff goats cheese and red onion) was outstanding, thin base and plenty of fresh topping, and a good 12". Greed beat me and the garlic bread with cheese and a chilli dip was mmmmm! The bill for that and pt cider and double Bacardi and coke and 2 coffees £20 bargain... Thank you a great start to our anniversary weekend!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Taylor-Robinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We visited on a lively and hot Bank Holiday weekend. We received a warm welcome at the bar when checking in, as did our Springer Spaniel. The room was good, looked nice with a great sized bathroom. The bed was really comfortable with nice quality bedding. My husband didn't sleep too well until the party in the street outside finished but I didn't find this kept me awake, it was nice to see such a thriving village pub to be honest. Laugharne itself was great for a few days visit, lots of nice walking and beautiful beaches, this was a great base to visit from. Breakfast was OK, there was plenty to fill up on and our dog even got biscuits in the bar for breakfast.

Room Tip: Room 4 looked like it wouldn't have windows onto the street so may be quieter but room 5 we had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon T, Manager at The New Three Mariners, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thanks for your review. Glad you enjoyed. We like dogs!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laugharne
3.7 mi away
Travelodge St Clears Camarthen
3.9 mi away
Three Rivers Hotel
Three Rivers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferryside
184 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Brown's
The Brown's
#2 of 15 in Laugharne
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Corran Resort & Spa
The Corran Resort & Spa
#1 of 15 in Laugharne
696 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Carpenters Arms
The Carpenters Arms
#7 of 15 in Laugharne
50 reviews
0.7 mi away
Broadway Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Three Mariners? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Three Mariners

Property: The New Three Mariners
Address: Market Street, Laugharne SA33 4SA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Laugharne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Laugharne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your The New Three Mariners reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Three Mariners Laugharne, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing