We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“short break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The New Three Mariners
Ranked #10 of 18 Laugharne B&B and Inns
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“short break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Just returned forma few days stay at the three mariners. we found a very warm welcome form all staff, who were very friendly.
The room we were given was at the top of the inn and was very pleasant and nicely decorated .Although the toilet and shower area was cold and could of benefited with a radiator. Apart from this the room was ideal for our stay
We ate at the mariners on both evenings and found the food very good with pleasant staff. This can also be said of the bar staff.
On the Wednesday evening there was a quiz which brought a lot of people in and gave a good and pleasant atmosphere to the pub
The hotel next door Browns was also very nice and full of the local characters.
We enjoyed our stay and would return again

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank z0mbie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon T, General Manager at The New Three Mariners, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Thanks for your lovely review.
J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    33
    17
    11
    5
See reviews for
9
70
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

The staff are very friendly and the food excellent, very large portions.
We had room 3 above the bar which was small but very nice. Breakfast was very good local produce and waiting staff great. The only reason that I will probably not stay again is the noise from the juke box which we were directly above, did not get any sleep till well after 2.30pm.
We stayed on a Thursday and Friday night, Thursday night was not to bad as the music went off at 11.30pm, you expect a bit of noise staying in a pub. Perhaps the rooms above the bar should not be let on week-end nights.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not above the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwenllian_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon T, General Manager at The New Three Mariners, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Thanks for you review. 2.30 is too late! We have a license until 1am, so it should have been quiet by then. Sorry about that. Hope to see you again,
Jon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Pub was lively & girls serving breakfast were very pleasant & efficient .
We had room no. 2 directly above the bar & arrived on Friday . Pizza & wine deal was good value & we had a good evening talking to locals etc .
Little did we know that we would be hearing the music thumping out until gone 1pm. Also , the shouting coming from the revellers was horrendous .
Saturday night was even worse & the language of the men & ladies was disgusting ! I went down at 1.45am to ask if the noise could be turned down and was told by the manager that " this is what happens in Laugharne " & that if I had checked on the website it said that they were licensed until 1 am . It doesn't say that on the website ! The manager was not at all apologetic & the Customers were joining in also . When my wife went down a few minutes later , she was told by one individual to " go back where you come from " ( but not quite as politely ! )
This went on until after 2am & then the noise spilled out onto the street . At 3.45am a taxi turned up to take them away , all this below our bedroom window .
We were exhausted in the morning & were glad to go home to catch up on some sleep ! It was meant to be a birthday treat ... needless to say we will not be going back! . This issue seems to be a recurring theme judging by the other reviews !

P & J

Room Tip: Don't have room no. 2 - directly above the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulN5913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon T, Manager at The New Three Mariners, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
There are hundreds of quiet places to stay in Wales. At the weekend The Mariners is not one of them. Travel around Wales, look at all the pubs that have closed down, and rejoice that here we have a thriving lively bar with friendly, if 'characterful' locals, good food, cheap drinks (£3.10 for most draughts, £2.50 for a couple) and a great atmosphere. There are quieter rooms at the top of the building, but even we can't dictate what people get up to after we've closed.

By the way, I am the manager, and was not on duty that night. Will have a word with the guy who was because even if it is loud, the least we can be is polite.

Cheers,

Jon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neath, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

The bar here has a juke box with a large selection of rock records on it and that attracts a crowd who want to sing along with it. That's fine if the hotel had plenty of segragation from guest rooms or stopped the rowdiness at a reasonable time, but unfortunately this hotel does neither and this shows a level of contempt for their paying guests for which they are not particularly apologetic. With our room immediately above the bar we were forced to listen to every word of the songs (not just the beat) and the punters trying to talk louder than the music until 2:30am when the last one chose to leave.

The staff offered no real comfort that our second night would be any different, claiming Laugharne to be a party town, and though they tried to tempt us to stay with a free pizza and bottle of wine one sleepless night was enough and we left a day early. No refund was offered.

If you like noisy bars and going to bed last then you may enjoy it here otherwise stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: A suspect there are no rooms in this hotel where you will not be able to here the noise from the bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon T, Manager at The New Three Mariners, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear reader, suggest you read the review entitled 'Home a-wales from home'. Now those people know how to enjoy themselves!

We have lovely rooms (only £70 B&B for 2 sharing), pizza, pasta and are a CAMRA Good Beer Guide pub... we do like a good time!

Again, if you want a quiet time go to a guest house, or a hotel (Browns Hotel next door is much quieter), or a cabin in the woods ... but don't come to the Mariners. It's a lively pub. Remember them? People laughing and singing and enjoying themselves. Thought they'd become extinct? They haven't!

Now, after 4 - 'Sweet Home Alabama, where the skies are so blue...'

:-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

I was so excited to be staying here on our recent trip to this very special corner of the world. Having visited the town earlier in 2013, I had previously been a patron of The New Three Mariners (purely for drinking purposes!), and during that initial visit, was made to feel so welcome by the staff and locals, I had vowed to come back and, on our return trip, stay in the hotel. The only risky thing about going back somewhere you have had such a fantastic first experience is that there is the potential to be disappointed upon return. This was most definitely NOT the case...if anything, my already high expectations were exceeded! We were given a big welcome by the Manager, Belle, upon our arrival and shown to our room. The twin room was the perfect size for the two of us (I had with me my mum who was visiting from Australia), well appointed, lovely modern furnishings in gorgeous seaside tones and the room itself was extremely warm and cosy...just what you need during a cold and wet winter's evening!
We had arrived quite late due to a few delays on the drive and, despite the kitchen being closed by the time we had arrived, Belle turned the oven back on to whip us up a quick pizza to stave off the hunger till morning. The staff at breakfast were again, really lovely and attentive (and made a wonderful cooked breakfast each morning). The welcoming nature and generosity of the staff extended to The Brown's Hotel (the slightly more upmarket sister hotel, only a few short paces down the street). It was here we were able to park our car during our stay and also where we dined in the main bar area on our second night. It was like walking down the road to a friends place for a good home-cooked meal surrounded by good company. Great food and wonderful local characters that are at the heart of Laugharne's community. Over the course of the two nights, many of the staff and locals remembered me from my previous visit (an extremely humbling experience, considering at the time of my first visit, the town was infiltrated by tourists for their festival weekend). I could go on, but in short, you need to visit to experience it for yourself. It really is the place in Wales I call home.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JESH82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon T, Manager at The New Three Mariners, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thank you. Always great to hear from someone who gets the place!! Great to meet you and your Mum. Hurry back.

Cheers,

Jon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

Pub stays open till gone midnight on week nights. There is no sound proffing at all.

The night we stayed the music stopped at 1.40am and it was like it was in the room with us.

Considering how quiet the place was (we were the only guests) it is very strange that we were placed above the bar.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALP86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon T, Manager at The New Three Mariners, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Hi,

Some enjoy being above a lively pub, others don't, but we'd have happily moved you had you asked. We now have a policy to rent the top 3 rooms first, so have taken on board what you said.

Cheers!

Jon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Have just returned from a fun filled weekend,by the time We left felt like locals!

What you have to realise is that you are staying over a pub,so if your expecting a quiet night sleep this is not the place for you,but if you want a warm welcome,nice cosy rooms,comfy beds (maybe mattress protectors would be a good idea), good pizzas and lots of banter then you will have a great time,We will definitely be going back :) Breakfast was good and the staff very efficient.

Room Tip: We had room 1 which was a twin room and was nicely decorated,think the top rooms would be a little q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RINGLET55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon T, Manager at The New Three Mariners, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
YAY!! You can come back anytime!!

Thanks for you lovely review,

Jon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laugharne
0.0 mi away
Three Rivers Hotel
Three Rivers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferryside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mansion House Llansteffan
Mansion House Llansteffan
#1 of 1 in Llansteffan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
11.0 mi away
St Brides Spa Hotel
St Brides Spa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saundersfoot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Brown's
The Brown's
#2 of 18 in Laugharne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Corran Resort & Spa
The Corran Resort & Spa
#1 of 18 in Laugharne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.5 mi away
Keepers Cottage
Keepers Cottage
#4 of 18 in Laugharne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Three Mariners? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Three Mariners

Property: The New Three Mariners
Address: Market Street, Laugharne SA33 4SA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Laugharne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Laugharne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your The New Three Mariners reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Three Mariners Laugharne, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing