We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to perfect but not quite there” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Corran Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Corran Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 18 Laugharne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Devon, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Close to perfect but not quite there”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed two nights as a large family party in august. We have to commend the staff on an excellent job - they provided lots of advice in booking the correct rooms for our mixed party of elderly, children and adults and we arrived to a wonderfully easy and private set up with the three Orchard rooms set in a walled garden.

Everything was lovely but the hotel had an air of disarray and slight chaos. The three rooms had very varying facilities with one fridge, two rooms with water provided but not the third, broken fixtures and fittings and information folders with shabby, missing and varying contents.

However, it was the restaurant which seemed to be really struggling. There were three very young staff members who appeared to work all hours. They were so kind and obliging - really excellent - but they seemed unsupervised and as if they were coping with a slight crisis all the time! Breakfast was a little on the small side with parts missing or run out both days in a row (there was no yoghurt either day, very little fruit, undercooked pastries and the second day the kitchen ran out of milk and brown bread!) the staff carried this all off beautifully however and we did hear that they were missing a chef temporarily so they did a sterling job but it felt as though they needed a little backup and someone to get some grocery orders sorted!

In summary, as so many others have said, The Corran really is a lovely place with huge potential and a brilliant staff yet for the high tariff, guests will expect a little more attention to detail and plentiful supply!

A huge thank you though to the three young staff on duty on 14-16 August for working so hard to look after us so well.

PS one more thought is that a light meal/snack bar menu would have been so useful

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TroopyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B, Owner at The Corran Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Corran Resort & Spa. We are glad you liked the resort, and will ensure our staff are made aware of your kind comments. We actually have new senior staff just starting their employment with us, and look forward to the resort continuing to grow.
We hopefully look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    154
    78
    39
    34
See reviews for
93
371
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

We heard great things about The Corran recently and we were not disappointed. We booked to stay the night and have a meal, but decided to add a massage in the spa and lunch for an extra £60- well worth it. The room was fantastic, in a converted barn, to a really high standard. The food was really quite special too- a tiny bit of clever fusion, but only a little bit, with great produce and a very talented chef! If you are going to stay here, eat- don't be tempted to go elsewhere. The service was perfect too; friendly, professional and well trained staff. All in all, we were disappointed we didn't book for 2 nights!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rachelbyrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B, Owner at The Corran Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Corran Resort & Spa. We are really glad you enjoyed your experience, and look forward to welcoming you back for your 2 night stay in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

At the last minute we booked a spa day as part of our daughters 21st celebrations. She had the beach perfect package which included lunch, she thoroughly enjoyed her two treatments while we made use of the Corran pool & Jacuzzi.
The gym area looks small but well equipped, toilets are clean and inviting. The whole complex has a lovely feel about it. The attention to detail, décor, flow of the rooms, which we all really appreciated. The staff made us very welcome and were very professional.
Lunch, we was served by a jolly waiter, who gave us a pleasant dining experience. The food wasn't 5 stars but close and very enjoyable.

My couple of negatives, which are only minor but worth addressing is...
While dining, maintenance staff walked through the dining area, it distracted us and clearly there was no need for them to traipse through the restaurant.
Also there was a large dead fly on the table adjacent to us, which was laid ready for service.

Overall it was a nice experience and we would return and be happy to recommend to others.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gorwydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B, Owner at The Corran Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Hello Gorwydd, and thank you for taking the time to review your visit to The Corran Resort & Spa. It was great to read how much you enjoyed your visit and use of the spa facilities, and we also take on board your general comments. We look forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back in the near future once our spa extension is complete, which will considerably increase our offering on our spa facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We had a lovely afternoon tea here today served with a fine Prosecco. Steve, the Matre'd was very welcoming and made the visit very pleasant. We were shown some of the rooms as well - they are spectacular! The transformation of farm buildings to sumptuous accommodation is amazing - one wetroom even uses an old cow post as a shower stand. We really enjoyed our visit. Diolch.

Room Tip: The one with the Cow post.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc_Conpassionata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B, Owner at The Corran Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you very much for your review of our very popular afternoon tea at The Corran Resort & Spa. We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon, and hopefully if you arrange an overnight visit we can reseve the Cottage for you (which is the room with the cow post).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Stayed at The Corran for 3 nights from 15 July 2014. Had a room in the Great Barn which like the rest of the hotel was modern yet traditional but definitely surprising and quirky! Given the fantastic weather it would have been nice if we could have opened a window but this wasn't possible. The whole set up is potentially out of this world but I do agree there are a few edges which need to be rounded off - the paper napkins for example; water not automatically replenished in the room and the fact that the evening menu didn't change. This was fine for me but my vegetarian partner would have had the same thing twice. To be fair Steve did tell us to just tell reception in the morning if we decided to eat in again and they'd do something different, but sometimes you don't decide until the last minute do you? However when we did eat in it was really nice at a reasonable price. Wines started at the £20 mark and the one I chose was out of stock but I was given a more expensive one for the same price. All the staff were very nice, as were the fixtures and fittings. The pool's tiny so don't expect too much!
It is a bit remote and I think it could do with something like a tennis court, mountain bikes etc, because there really is nothing else around it, so unless you want to sit in your room or the bar, you've got to get in your car and go somewhere. We ended up eating in Laugharne for 2 nights just for a change of scene and better value.
Pricewise it's currently probably a bit steep given it's current facilities and location- we paid £175 a night B&B and £75 for a 2 course dinner plus wine and one round of drinks - but we would go back again ( especially on an offer) even though we live in North Wales. I think if they intend to develop it a bit more it could be outstanding.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jefy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B, Owner at The Corran Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Corran Resort & Spa, and for your positive feedback on the staff and the hotel. We take on board all customer comments and therefore would like to confirm that keeping the menu varied with great local produce is something we are very focussed on moving forward.
We have extensive development plans over the next 18 months that do include general facility extensions, outdoor leisure and further phases of accommodation and so hopefully we look forward to being able to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We went to the Corran for the Sunday on my Hen do, all 13 of us. The treatments were excellent and the beautians were lovely, friendly, polite and discrete and i have been to some very good spa resorts. It was pointed out by my some of my friends that the cleanliness was not perfect. the room we were put in to chill and the pool area were not very clean and the Jaccuzzi smelt of stagnant water. We went for a two course lunch and again the staff were great, quick and attentive. The food was very good but the chefs forgot our yorkshire puddings, they came straight away though and there was a piano player! We all really enjoyed the day and it was a shame that the cleanliness was the only real problem. So easy to fix too, so sort it out management, because i'll definately be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B, Owner at The Corran Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hi Anna,
Thank you very much for your review of The Corran Resprt & Spa.
We are so glad you and your party enjoyed your visit, and we appreciate your comments regarding our friendly spa and restaurant staff.
We were surprised to read your feed back on the cleanliness of the spa area, however have ensured that this is looked into as a priority.
It was great to hear you will be back, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

I have just returned from the Corran Resort and felt compelled to share my wonderful experiences. The whole resort is stunning but the restaurant and the bedrooms are out of this world! A beautiful mix of grandeur and cosiness with great attention to detail. The staff were excellent - very warm and attentive! Tibor the host was brilliant from running us in to town to making cocktails, he was very aware of each guest and keen to make sure they were all having a great time. The breakfast was good quality local produce! I can't wait to go back.. I almost didn't want to write the review as I didn't want to make this place too well known.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B, Owner at The Corran Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hello Natalie,

Thank you so much for your review of The Corran Resort & Spa. We fully appreciate all customer feed back, and hope to be able to welcome you all back to the resort in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laugharne
10.2 mi away
St Brides Spa Hotel
St Brides Spa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saundersfoot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
11.9 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#3 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
12.8 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#8 of 24 in Swansea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
5.4 mi away
Mansion House Llansteffan
Mansion House Llansteffan
#1 of 1 in Llansteffan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
17.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lamphey Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Corran Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Corran Resort & Spa

Property: The Corran Resort & Spa
Address: East Marsh, Laugharne SA33 4RS, Wales (Formerly Hurst House on the Marsh)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Laugharne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Laugharne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Corran Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Corran Resort & Spa offers a taste of luxury, hidden in the marshlands of the Carmarthenshire countryside. Our vision at this boutique haven is simple; to provide guests with great service, food and surroundings. Ensuring your stay is special and filled with lasting memories is our top priority. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Corran Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Corran Resort & Spa Laugharne, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing