We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dylans boathouse”

Dylan Thomas Boathouse
Ranked #2 of 5 things to do in Laugharne
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The poet's former home is now a museum dedicated to his life and work.
Escucha, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
664 reviews
219 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Dylans boathouse”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Although not a great fan of Dylan Thomas, as I was in the area I decided I should go and experience the famous building in which this poet worked.
I parked the car in the square and firstly went for fish and chips in the shop near the car, then i walked up the hill and saw what in anyones estimation was an old shed. I carefully entered and it was if time had stood still, there was the interior exactly as the great man had left it.
I sat down and looked out of the window across the bay and found i was transfixed, somehow I understood how this quiet place could stimulate his mind.
There i was a man who wasnt a fan suddenly composing poetry, amazing.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Taffyby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    121
    46
    6
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
313 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“A great experience”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This little garage was the writing room that Dylan Thomas used. It is still left as he left it. What a great insight into the great man's life.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank GwynRoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Coffee and Culture”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We love the Boathouse. It is the perfect place to take a cup of coffee having had a walk around the nearby footpaths and Dylan's birthday walk. Lovely food, today it was the Barabrith.

Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

1. Locality
A short walk from the Main Street, once the brown tourist sign had been redirected. ;-) However, the walk is beautiful passing Dylan Thomas' writing shed and the views over an estuary that are truly stunning.

2. Food and Service
Although a little pricey the food was lovely and the staff were very friendly.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Osclix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“beautiful area”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This was a very interesting visit. The village and views spectacular, a pleasant walk up to the boathouse.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank 36Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dylan Thomas Boathouse also viewed

Laugharne, Carmarthenshire
Carmarthen, Carmarthenshire
 
Carmarthen, Carmarthenshire
 

Been to Dylan Thomas Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing