We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely unspoiled village.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Brown's

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Brown's
Ranked #2 of 18 Laugharne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Lovely unspoiled village.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

We found the staff very pleasant and helpful on check in and were staying in the suite on top floor which was fab and spotlessly clean.Plenty of tea/coffee choice and delicious biscuits.Large,comfy bed and huge bathroom.Enjoyed a drink in the bar and a reasonable bar meal in the sister hotel,again staff very friendly.We slept well until early morning when traffic noise disturbed us as the hotel is on the road through laugharne,not the fault of the hotel but would ask for a room at the back if we returned.The plug in the big roll top bath would not seal and kept popping up so had to make do with using the shower head positioned half way up the wall so disappointed.We didn't report it till check out as we didn't really want staff coming in the room to try and repair it ,although it did look very inviting for a nice long soak.Enjoyed the breakfast next door,plenty of choice.We only stayed one night but wish we had booked an extra night to have used the bath and we really enjoyed the stay.

Room Tip: Rooms at back would be quieter on week days due to traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank welshbreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon T, General Manager at The Brown's, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Hi Welshbreak,
Thanks for your lovely review. We try and fix things as soon as they're brought to our attention, but sorry you couldn't have a bath. Remind us of this next time you book and we'll do you a deal!
Cheers,
Jon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    101
    40
    19
    7
See reviews for
25
235
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

A big thank you to your staff really friendly.... We Stayed in the Barking Suite it was well presented really cosy ...Shortbread lush..and atmosphere in bar was really friendly...food in the bar was limited but it was really good and tasty ...Breakfast was in there sister hotel was hot good and wholesome,didn't eat all day after that breakfast.....I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon T, General Manager at The Brown's, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Hi Amanda P,
We love reviews like this!
Thank you,
Jon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

We weren't residents at the hotel but were visiting Laugharne and thought we would be able to get a coffee there at 10.30 on a Sunday morning, sadly not. We were told there were no cups available until the breakfast session had finished. We then tried the sister establishment next door -The New Three Mariners, a sign on the door says its a Coffee House, only to be told to try Brown's Hotel as they would have a better selection of coffee!
Would have preferred to have been told outright that coffee wasn't served to non residents, instead of being fobbed off with vague excuses.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Graiglady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon T, General Manager at The Brown's, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Two things - The Browns opens at 11am - it says this outside - and like most hotels, pubs and guesthouses, The Mariners serves breakfasts to residents only. J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed at Brown's Hotel, the famed watering hole of Dylan Thomas, set in the lovely town of Laugharne. On arrival we were greeted by a young lady and made us feel very welcome, the hotel is beautiful and has been kept/ renovated extremely well. The bar area is very cosy and you feel at home almost straight away, there is an area away from the main bar to sit which would be recommended on a Saturday night.
We found that our room was very clean and comfortable, the bed was very inviting in the evening too. The one little issue that I had with the room, and being 6'5" was the overhead/ handheld shower, it was a little on the small side for me. The bath was huge and comfortably fit two people to relax and enjoy this lovely room.
It was a great central point allowing us to venture out and explore the surrounding area and enjoy the Welsh way walks (think thats the name), enjoyed a lovely circuit out of the town and around the coast before dropping back in to the town, enjoying some history and modern features on the way.
The other issue I encountered was that, if they have live music on, its loud in the rooms. We retired early as a local gent (polite), who was having a few beers in the bar got louder, using abusive language and generally annoying.
You will have to walk to have your breakfast, about 100 yards, but it is nice to grab some fresh air prior to sitting done. Although not sure I would have been happy if it was raining (oh well a quick dash would have been required...) The breakfast was enough and a fine full English, although I did chuckle to find my tea bag, with string and paper tab in the pot, rather than the string left hanging out! Overall a great place to enjoy a weekend and very comfortable.
To Jon, maybe consider your tweets and we don't all have the same sense of humour (if you did send the tweet!) and I agree it was Dylan Thomas favoured watering hole. But, you are classed as a hotel and maybe, just maybe a little respect? Enjoyed the stay and well done on the refurbs.

Room Tip: The Talacharn is a beautiful room and set on the top floor, well worth the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon T, General Manager at The Brown's, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Hi Ian,

Thanks for your review!

Cheers,

Jon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Stayed here Saturday night for one night, when checking in we were informed that we had a complimentary upgrade and ended up having a ground floor self contained apartment, named Clarence House, which had a nice lounge area, a giant bath and a very comfortable bed.

I did find it a bit noisy from the pub opposite but only now and then, it wasnt constant and wasnt really a major problem.

A good feature of the apartment was that it was very near the bar!

Its very close to the castle, the seafront and there are some lovely interesting things you can find out about the history of the Browns itself, It has been visited by notable people such as Ricahrd Burton & Liz Taylor and Former president Jimmy Carter, Id like to know what room he stayed in!

Upon waking and walking into the lounge area, I pulled back the curtains to find someone had smashed a panel of the bay window overnight, again, not something that the hotel can be blamed for but luckily myself of my partner were not woken by it, the staff were pretty helpful and very friendly.

The breakfast was very nice, for this you have to cross to the New Three Mariners, and theres cereal, fruit juice that you can have before a full english.

I would highly recommend anyone to visit.

Room Tip: Room at the rear?
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjscfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon T, General Manager at The Brown's, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Hi mjscfc,

Thanks for your lovely review. The window incident was very unfortunate, but the culprit turned up the following day and paid for the window to be repaired. We're glad it didn't affect your stay.

Hope to see you again sometime.

Cheers,

Jon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

We have visited the area several times over the years partly because of the Dylan Thomas connections and this pub has major connections with Wales finest poet. We've seen it's gradual decline but remember it's rough and ready but welcoming Victorian feel before it lay empty for a while, Great it's reopened-----good beer and great staff, but the renovation has destroyed any sense of what it was like, Mind you the Brits are good are at doing this. It could be a any tarted up old pub in any town.-- The welsh tourist have a missed a trick here[not for the first time! i not preserving it's original features. ] On the plus side, Dylan wouldn't have cared less so long as there was beer and good company so perhaps all is well.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roy e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon T, Manager at The Brown's, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Oh dear. The bar is listed and apart from some lighting and new glass holding units above the bar is as it was in the 1970s. We've also taken up the carpet to show the original Georgian floorboards and had to put some new furniture in there as the old stuff got pinched. Before the refit the building was rotten, but it's hard to make a renovated and repainted bar look scruffy. It's getting there!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed on a travel zoo special. We we given a Fantastic room and really enjoyed our stay. The cost was excellent value and yes the menu was basic but perfectly acceptable. We were lucky enough to get a travel zoo deal. We have paid twice as much for rooms that were no where near as nice. So if you get the chance grab yourself a bargain and enjoy the lovely atmosphere friendly staff and Dylan Thomas' Boat house as a bonus. Thanks for a lovely stay and the fab room!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JuAnontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon T, Manager at The Brown's, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
I'm normally quite vocal with my responses, but to you I can only say 'Thank you.'
Cheers!
Jon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laugharne
13.0 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
4.0 mi away
Three Rivers Hotel
Three Rivers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferryside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mansion House Llansteffan
Mansion House Llansteffan
#1 of 1 in Llansteffan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
The Cawdor
The Cawdor
#2 of 3 in Llandeilo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Corran Resort & Spa
The Corran Resort & Spa
#1 of 18 in Laugharne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
0.0 mi away
The New Three Mariners
The New Three Mariners
#10 of 18 in Laugharne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brown's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brown's

Property: The Brown's
Address: King Street, Laugharne SA33 4RY, Wales (Formerly Browns Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Laugharne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Laugharne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brown's 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brown's will forever be associated with Dylan Thomas. It was his favourite 'watering hole' and he gathered most of the material for his iconic play, Under Milk Wood, from the stories he heard in the bar. In 2012 the hotel underwent a complete refurbishment and offers 13 luxurious rooms with organic Welsh mattresses, en-suite bathrooms and LCD HD TVs. As well as the fully restored bar there is a reading room, conference room and a free car-park to the rear. The bar stocks drinks from the Penderyn Distillery range as well as Welsh real ale and there are tasty bar meals on offer. We have live music on Sunday afternoons and regular evening events. The Grade 2 listed 'bar with rooms', which was built in 1752, stands on Laugharne's King St, a short distance from the castle, estuary, gifts shops and cafes, the quirky Tin Shed military museum and the Dylan Thomas Boathouse - the poet's, 'sea-shaken house on a breakneck of rocks', where he lived for the last four years of his tragically short life. It is now a museum and tea room and is open all year round. Laugharne is not just for literary types - it sits on the Wales Coastal Path and there are several walks in the area from where you can view the herons and egrets down on the timeless estuary. We'll leave the last word on Laugharne to Dylan: '... a mild beguiling island of a town... there is nowhere like it anywhere at all.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Brown's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Brown's Laugharne, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing