We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Laugharne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Cors Country House
Ranked #6 of 15 Laugharne B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Miss Marple/Cluedo surroundings, absolutely superb food, probably the best i've ever eaten we all loved this place and can't wait to visit again :) I had the Smoked Haddock Creme Brûlée as a starter and the Beef as a main and both were simply superb, only open three evening a week so make sure you plan ahead and make a booking !!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Brynheulwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2013

Always a treat to visit The Cors which we try to do in summer as the garden is just so beautiful - one of those that looks as if it just grows, and yet you know perfectly well that loads of time have been devoted to it. The food is divine - at least I assume it would be as I always plump for the lamb which is just about the best I've ever tasted - although it is £22 now and used to be £18!!! Flipping inflation. I had a sherry, actually two, which is just poured into a glass, no nasty little measures and mini schooners. The coffee is amazing value - £1.50 for a big cafetierre and strong with it. As others say, it is quite expensive but no more than you would pay for a decent meal anywhere and the surroundings, welcome, garden, etc, etc, make it more than reasonable. We'll certainly be back whether they want us or not.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Landsker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We keep going to this amazing restaurant and have also stayed overnight. We have never had a bad experience. It has always been brilliant service, excellent food, great atmosphere and beautiful garden! We warmly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daffodil542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We went 27th June 13. Beautiful gardens, attractive building, nice chap who runs it. Michelin prices, great reviews. All seemed to bode well. However, the food was extremely average. When you pay £25 or more for main courses you expect it to be good. Presentation was dreadful, content was awful, taste was, at best mediocre. Reading the menus, it sounded exquisite but what you got - honestly - you could have done better yourself. A beautiful sounding £25 steak dish was tacky skewers. The meringues for dessert were bought. The taste was at best ok. We went to an Italian cafe in the main square a few nights before and, whilst setting was not so good, food was much better. Don't be lured to Cors by glossy menus and lovely gardens: if you like good food you will be very disappointed. This is my first review ever, prompted by Cors!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gareth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nickpriestland, Owner at The Cors Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Have you lost your mind?

I note this is your first review, so if I were you I wouldn't give up the day job.
Firstly, you need to get your facts straight, the fillet of beef was exactly that, pan fried with green pepper corns and cost £25, the brochette (skewers to you) was also made from beef fillet but cost £18.50.

Secondly you seem to be in the minority with your opinions and if you think the food was better elsewhere it sums up your taste or lack of it.

Please feel free to give us a call if you would like to discuss.

Many thanks,
Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Superb evening meal set within an amazing "arty" décor. Service was laid back and in keeping with the whole setting. Took us a little while to identify the building as no sign on the front wall - only recognised it from the photos on the web of the garden.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank lizzie3010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

During our visit to Laugharne, we had the pleasure of having dinner at The Cors Restaurant. Our friends had booked the table weeks in advance (suggested) and the four of us enjoyed a delightful culinary experience ... from starters to dessert. I recommend the Welsh Lamb.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oilman1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Hospitality....Fab
Accomodation....Fab
Food...Fab
Gardens...Fab
Location...Fab

Weather... : (

All in all....I liked it!

The endorsement so eloquently expressed by Estellewales sums up my, and my partners, feelings for the place. An absolute gem to which we will be returning..Had doubts about extolling its virtues in case I can't get booked in once its discovery is more public!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laugharne hotels
0.2 mi away
The Boat House Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
The Brown's
The Brown's
#1 of 15 in Laugharne
386 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Corran Resort & Spa
The Corran Resort & Spa
#3 of 15 in Laugharne
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Broadway Country House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Keepers Cottage
Keepers Cottage
#4 of 15 in Laugharne
145 reviews
0.1 mi away
The New Three Mariners
The New Three Mariners
#13 of 15 in Laugharne
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cors Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cors Country House

Address: Newbridge Road | Laugharne, Laugharne SA33 4SH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Laugharne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Laugharne
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation (Licensed) with 3 letting rooms in village location. With car parking. Smoking in designated areas. Smart casual dress for meals. Vegetarians, Special Diets, Organic Products catered for. Eating outside is possible. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cors Restaurant & Rooms Hotel Laugharne
The Cors Restaurant And Rooms
The Cors Country House Laugharne, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing