We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cors Country House
Ranked #6 of 15 Laugharne B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 February 2014

our 2nd stay with Nick, outstanding food again, the beef is superb, we were welcomed as friends & we enjoyed every minute of our stay.its an experience to be savoured, we have come home today totally relaxed & revived. perfect, thankyou to you & your lovely team

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsDWestWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2014

This was a birthday treat for my wife who is a fussy eater. Not liking cheese or mushrooms. we thought at first there would be a problem but we were told that every dish is individually prepared. The dishes were thoroughly explained to her and anything she didn't like could be left out. Let's just say that she ate ALL her food. That doesn't happen very often. Well done Nick and thank you. Nick and Sara were very welcoming and convivial hosts. Our only criticism of the place was the lack of lighting on the driveway. If you are walking there, be sure to carry a torch.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevin j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We dined at the Cors for New Years Eve and saw in 2014 there too. As always the staff were personal and welcoming, you get the feel they really care about your experience. The food was also outstanding, one of the best fillet steaks we've ever had.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank docandginge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Food superb, as always, with the perfect blend of infomality and great service. My favourite place to enjoy superb food and Nick and his team's hospitality.

Hidden away in a 'secret valley' in the centre of Laugharne; this is the best place to explore the castle, Dylan Thomas' house and his boat shed. Set in wonderful grounds, this is a weekend, night away, or a meal you will treasure.

But if you're looking for stuffy, formal settings, and 'hotel' themed rooms, then don't stay and ruin it for those of us who love the quirky, superb originality of the Cors.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank W L G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Nick you are a one off and your team compliment you superbly, we had an evening to remember during a recent visit, your place is divine, your food exquisite and your hospitality heart warming. Far from the ordinary but chic in it's own way the atmosphere generates a welcome that you simply do not want to leave. We would drive the 240 miles between us without a thought just to savour the delights on offer. Keep it going this is too good to be without :) We really hope to visit again soon as we can.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GazzVon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We found this gem through Alastair Sawday's 'Special Places to Stay', and that's exactly what it is. Hidden away in a wooded valley, the house is Georgian, utterly charming in a 'Last Days of the Raj' sort of way, full of an eclectic mix of antiques, contemporary art and kitsch. It's right in the heart of touristy Laugharne, former home of Dylan Thomas, yet wonderfully secluded. The highlight is the stunning garden, which owner Nick Priestland has created out of a waterlogged site - 'The Cors' means 'The Bog' - and turned into a lush, green paradise, with enormous gunneras, ferns and palms punctuated by winding paths, water features, bridges and sculptures. Even on a wet day it invites exploration. The rooms are very simply furnished - perhaps too simply for some people's taste, and if you need a plethora of lighting options, sockets and entertainment facilities, The Cors is probably not for you. But our shower room was modern and luxurious, the water hot, the room warm on a dreary evening and the bed comfortable - we loved it. A vase of fresh white roses on the windowsill was the perfect finishing touch. It's a restaurant with rooms and Nick is the chef - see separate review - but he took time to greet us late afternoon with a pot of tea in the bar - much appreciated - although tea-making facilities in our room is perhaps the only mod con that we would have liked to see. We were touring South Wales and stayed in five different places, two much cheaper than The Corrs, and two considerably more expensive - this was by far our favourite. Would love to visit again and would certainly recommend it to anyone in search of a romantic retreat.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clare S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

absolutely loved our stay this weekend, all thanks to tripadvisor reviews. the best food we have had in ages, the most charming host, all in a wonderful setting. fortunately we dont live too far away, so we will return :) hopefully soon

Room Tip: only 3 rooms, so if you are planning to have a meal & stay, book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsDWestWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laugharne hotels
1.5 mi away
The Corran Resort & Spa
The Corran Resort & Spa
#2 of 15 in Laugharne
743 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Brown's
The Brown's
#1 of 15 in Laugharne
390 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Boat House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Broadway Country House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Keepers Cottage
Keepers Cottage
#4 of 15 in Laugharne
145 reviews
0.1 mi away
The New Three Mariners
The New Three Mariners
#13 of 15 in Laugharne
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cors Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cors Country House

Address: Newbridge Road | Laugharne, Laugharne SA33 4SH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Laugharne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Laugharne
Price Range: £105 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation (Licensed) with 3 letting rooms in village location. With car parking. Smoking in designated areas. Smart casual dress for meals. Vegetarians, Special Diets, Organic Products catered for. Eating outside is possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Cors Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cors Restaurant And Rooms
The Cors Restaurant & Rooms Hotel Laugharne
The Cors Country House Laugharne, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing