We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful birthday weekend”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Laugharne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Cors Restaurant & Rooms
Ranked #5 of 15 Laugharne B&B and Inns
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A wonderful birthday weekend”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Chef and gardener Nick Priestland quite rightly has a 5 star reputation. The entrance to The Cors certainly had the WOW factor. With the stunning garden the first thing that greets you. Nick has an amazing artistic eye in everything he turns his hand to, be it painting, cooking or gardening. Our room was beautiful, overlooking the stunning grounds and the food was simply sublime! We stayed 2 nights and even though he was officially closed on the last night Nick still served up a wonderful meal. Breakfast was delightful and nothing was too much trouble. A birthday to remember.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zuleika H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    7
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
57
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My partners and I chose The Cors for a 10th anniversary celebration. We are very glad that we did, We had a really magical time in Talacharn and a wonderful meal and fantastic service at The Cors. The food was lovely, the service was excellent and the room we had was beautiful. The breakfast was also delicious and the ambiance of the old house and stunning gardens was a treat.
We are looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London/Portsmouth, England
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed for two nights and ate in the restaurant on the one night that it was open during our stay.

Thankfully we had printed off a map and looked at the photos before we came, or else it would have taken a while to find it. However, once found it will never be forgotten. Stunning gardens lead you to the beautiful house, which, like the owner Nick, is full of character. Nick was very welcoming and although we had only exchanged emails several months in advance he had prepared the room taking into account our allergies - something that chain hotels often forget to do until you remind them on arrival!
The room overlooked the garden and was charming. It felt like we were staying in a guest room rather than an impersonal hotel room. The bathroom was modern and the shower was perfect. The bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was hearty and filling using good quality ingredients.
The restaurant was full when we ate there, and despite the number of people the service was very good with just the right amount of time between courses. The food was perfectly cooked with wonderful flavours and beautifully presented. Honest food which delivered on all fronts.
The only downside of the trip was that we were unlucky with the weather so were unable to walk around the gardens - another good reason to go back again :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PompeyShoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This was our fouth visit to the Cors and a party of ten of us went. The food was, as ever, excellent and we all, without exception, thought the same. It was faultless.
There was a lovely ambience, and a warm welcome.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary99088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beckenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Y Cors, which is Welsh for a bog, belies its unusual name. The bog refers to the unusual but beautiful garden while the hotel and restaurant is anything but a "marsh", indeed the very opposite, although it is well hidden and easily missed off the road. In the intimate restaurant, the short but splendid menu, meticulously cooked by patron Nick Priestland, offers the best of local produce - beef, lamb, salmon - but with an evident continental influence; hence smoked haddock creme brulee, bruschetta of welsh goats' cheese or delicious roast figs with parma and gorgonzola. The main courses, while using familiar cuts of lamb or beef, add unexpected twists and the deserts reach very high standards of presentation and flavour. The wine list contained some rare delights such as a superb Mallorca red. The hotel has just three rooms but they are spacious and extremely comfortable (but don't expect flat screen tvs - that's not the reason for coming to the Cors!) Nick has been here for many years, but his enthusiasm and creativity remain fresh as, indeed, are his own paintings - his original profession. Y Cors adds something special to Dylan Thomas' Laugharne.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RhysapIslwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Just off the main street in Laugharne this is well worth travelling too. Visited for dinner which could not be faulted. Quite outstanding in every respect - decor, food, ambiance. Beautiful house and gardens - generous and welcoming host.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShrewsburyBull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Wales
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

our 2nd stay with Nick, outstanding food again, the beef is superb, we were welcomed as friends & we enjoyed every minute of our stay.its an experience to be savoured, we have come home today totally relaxed & revived. perfect, thankyou to you & your lovely team

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsDWestWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laugharne
12.9 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
1,192 reviews
3.6 mi away
Travelodge St Clears Camarthen
4.0 mi away
Three Rivers Hotel
Three Rivers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferryside
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Brown's
The Brown's
#2 of 15 in Laugharne
370 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Corran Resort & Spa
The Corran Resort & Spa
#1 of 15 in Laugharne
696 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Carpenters Arms
The Carpenters Arms
#7 of 15 in Laugharne
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cors Restaurant & Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cors Restaurant & Rooms

Property: The Cors Restaurant & Rooms
Address: Newbridge Road | Laugharne, Laugharne SA334SH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Laugharne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Laugharne
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation (Licensed) with 3 letting rooms in village location. With car parking. Smoking in designated areas. Smart casual dress for meals. Vegetarians, Special Diets, Organic Products catered for. Eating outside is possible. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cors Restaurant & Rooms Hotel Laugharne
The Cors Restaurant And Rooms
The Cors Restaurant & Rooms Laugharne, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing