We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Everything required for a fantastic family holiday”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private Patio Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
22 reviews
Private Patio
Kitchen
Lounge area
Lounge area / kitchen
Care bed
Wetroom
Upstairs bathroom
Downstairs twin room
Upstairs bathroom
Upstairs bedroom
Upstairs bedroom
The mill and stable (left) - the cow barn (right)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Laugharne, Carmarthenshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SianW1980
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Won't be staying again as better disabled access accommodation available-it needs some TLC!”
Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015

From the website the barn looks great but we found it lacking on a few fronts.
It was difficult with my disabled father-in-law as there were no grab rails in the wet room and the floor was quite slippery when wet.
In the other bathrooms the toilet seats were loose and quite dangerous if you were unaware, as my sister found out when she hurt herself. The towel rail came off the wall and almost landed on my bare feet and when I informed the owner of this he was aware of these problems but just hadn't got around to fixing any of these things-not a great response.
We had arranged a family birthday bbq for my dads 70th and i had informed the owner that this was the reason for the visit to the barn, however on arrival we discovered that the BBQ was absolutely filthy and had to spend an hour scrubbing it before we could even attempt to cook on it! (the owner had told us he would ensure bbq was ready to go and even said he would place the better bbq at the property we were staying at, but this did not happen).
My disabled father-in law was looking forward to having a view from the barn as he loves the sea but unfortunately as the view is only available from some of the upstairs windows this was not possible for him :(
The barn is all wood and looks lovely but be warned if you have children/babies that are likely to go to bed before you, it is nearly impossible to walk around and carry on talking and watching television etc.. without waking them up as its so loud/echoey and the floors are all wood with no carpets.
Another baby-related problem is that the cot is only really available downstairs in the bedrooms so if you do still want to stay here, ensure that it is taken into consideration with the layout and the number of people you have.
There is no phone signal in the barn itself and when some of your party are out and about and trying to arrange to meet up with the people left in the barn it was quite challenging! If you want Wifi you have to pay for it which i thought was over priced and from what the guests in the other barn said it didn't work very well either!
One last point is that we were disappointed in that there wasn't much to walk to in the area immediately surrounding the barn and care is needed as the road can be quite busy with large lorries passing through. We ended up using the car to go everywhere because of this.

Unfortunately despite it looking great on the website, we were disappointed and will not be visiting again or recommending it to our friends/family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the hospital bed for my father in law
Liked least: See above list!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2015
Thank you for your review

Im really sorry you arent satisfied with your stay with us and can only apologise for the problems you had. We are always looking for feedback and improvements to our accomodation to make it one of the best in west wales for our disabled customers. 99% of feedback we have had on trip advisor has been positive so once again I can only apologise. We have had trouble with our BT internet due to the laying of fibre optic in the area which as affected not just our accomodation but our main residence on site so this is out of our hands.

We value all feedback good or bad as we want people to enjoy their time with us

Sorry again and hope to welcome you back

Regards

Ray
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Everything required for a fantastic family holiday”
Reviewed 19 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Ideally situated home from home facilities children friendly accommodation perfect along with the host Ray many thanks from all the family look forward to coming again next year

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2015
Thanks for your review, we look forward to seeing you soon. Regards Ray
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and high specification of the barn conversion
Liked least: Nothing at all
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 Jul 2015
Thank you for your review and stay with us, really glad you enjoyed your time in west wales. Im glad I could help in getting a carer in to assist you during your visit. Look forward to hopefully see you again. Regards Ray
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ablender8...
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Unbelievable spot”
Reviewed 27 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The mill and stable was a great escape from the riggers of life. We filled it out and were more than comfortable in the well decorated airy conversation. The guys have done a great job doing it out. They treated us really well and great on the communication front. I would stay here again in a heart beat. Also the view from the back is great down to the beach.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2015
Hi Jon, Thanks for the review, glad you enjoyed your stay with us and everything went well. Look forward to seeing you again in the future. Regards Ray
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa G
1 review
“A fabulous place to stay great facilities, comfortable, clean and friendly service.”
Reviewed 9 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Arrived home yesterday and missing it already. We have had a truly relaxing and enjoyable long weekend staying at the mill and stable. Ray was a great host and the atmosphere was so relaxing we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The weather was amazing and the views of the sunset were incredible. It just shows you don't have to go abroad when you can stay in places like the mill. We will definitely be coming back in future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Excellent standard of accommodation
Liked least: Having to leave at the end of the weekend
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2015
Thank you for your review, glad you enjoyed your time at the mill & stable, you certainly had the weather :). Hope to see you again, regards Ray
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wendy u
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fantastic, would recommend to anybody.”
Reviewed 4 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Can not fault anything about this place. Ray is a fantastic host. We have been numerous times, and will continue to come back. The barn is beautiful within beautiful surroundings. Can't wait to come back. Thank you Ray.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Apr 2015
Thank You Wendy for your review, look forward to seeing you and the family again in October. Regards Ray
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rebeccahu...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home away from home!”
Reviewed 1 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

My children and I had a lovely break staying in The Old Cow Barn during half term. The accommodation is clean, spacious, yet cosy and well equipped. The beds are really comfortable and linen all provided. The owner was friendly and hospitable, always on hand to help out with any queries. A perfect base to explore the beautiful beaches nearby. Hope the Wifi is working better when we return.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Mar 2015
Thank you for your review and staying with us at Laugharne Barns. We apologise for the wi fi as BT hadnt activated the new broadband hub by the agreed activation date which was due before your intended stay, everything is up and running now and there wont be a problem if you ever visit us again. Please quote this review and you will have the wi fi complimentary next time. Regards Ray Davies
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;