We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor food”

Aleppo Merchant Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carno
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Aleppo Merchant Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Carno B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We are locals and had a very poor sunday lunch. The beef was dried out looking, to be honest, like it had been reheated or even microwaved. The potatoes were not fully cooked. But the disgrace was the fishpie, which arrived with some pale mash on top and lumps of some nondescript fishmeat in a bland white sauce. The waitress confirmed that it was not made in the kitchen, so it really was what it seemed to be, a poorly re-heated and low grade fishpie readymeal, turned out onto a plate. In my view this is 'terrible' for home cooked food, especially as we have had decent food here before.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank GeorgeThePorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peter c, Owner at Aleppo Merchant Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Hi, we are sorry you did not enjoy your experience with us this time.
We can only apologise if the potatoes were under cooked and clearly this was an oversight on our part. Had you have mentioned it at the time I'm sure we would have done our best to rectify this problem.
We pride ourselves on producing good value, wholesome food and we aim to home cook as many of the items on our menu as possible. Unfortunately this is not always possible but we always specify on the menu which items are homemade The fish pie is a product that we have sourced from one of our suppliers. We have always found it a good quality product and has generally been enjoyed by our customers previously.
We hope that this experience has not put you off visiting us again.
Many thanks, Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
There are newer reviews for Aleppo Merchant Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2013

I like everything about this hotel. Good real ale and home cooked food. Rooms are clean and large in size. Always a warm welcome form the staff. Breakfast freshly cooked and well presented.

Although on a main rod little traffic noise.

Room Tip: EvEN the main roaD is not A Problem.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Good welcome, clean and quiet room and wholesome pub food ( if the menu a bit long !). Plenty of parking if near the road .

Breakfast as good as it gets .

Good value for what is offered . Would stay again if in the area .

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EsherMarco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Very helpful staff, excellent value and great breakfast in the morning. Room was nice, clean, plenty big enough and we were made to feel very welcome and looked after well by the staff. I would recommend the Aleppo Merchant.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

I went here to take part in a rally driving course (Higgins Rally School, absolutely brilliant!) and it is a good, straightforward place to stay. Clean room, good shower, full-on breakfast and excellent value for money. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ActMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Stayed here for 1 night, 2 rooms. Found through booking.com but cheaper direct, £65 a double room with breakfast. Was disappointed when sign said no availability for evening meal, but when we asked a table had been allocated if we required it - nice touch. Both rooms large and reasonably clean, maybe could have done with quick dust over but certainly no problem. Had some problems with tv but did come & sort it. Tea & coffee with biscuits supplied. Meal was superb, excellent value, drinks from bar great value £1.60 for a single spirit 40p for mixer & £2.70 a pint of beer !!!! Asked on evening for what we wanted for breakfast and at what time.
Great nights sleep. Cooked part of breakfast better than many we've had in 3 star hotels!! Cereal & juice basic but plenty tea & coffee.
Will defiantly recommend to family when we have a wedding nearby in the summer.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neesie50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013 via mobile

Just happened across this place whilst staying at a (supposedly) gourmet hotel and restaurant in nearby Llandidloes, and this was by far the best meal of our stay! An unassuming little pub from the outside which belies the treats contained within - of warm friendly staff, superbly cooked excellent value Sunday roasts, with high quality meats, fresh veg and tasty gravy prepared by an expert hand. Vegetarian roasts are available too. The wines are reasonably priced too with a highly quaffable Merlot at £11.95 - served at an appropriately ambient temperature. This family run establishment is well worth a detour in an area of Wales which seems to be a bit of a culinary desert. Go and enjoy!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank smg23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Aleppo Merchant Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aleppo Merchant Inn

Address: Carno SY17 5LL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Carno
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Carno
Price Range: £35 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Aleppo Merchant Inn Carno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing