We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total Relaxation”
Review of Penllwyn Lodges

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Penllwyn Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2013 via mobile

We went on a family holiday last August and found the lodges really peaceful and relaxing. The forest setting was gorgeous with no end of wildlife, the only drawback was that you're a good couple of hours drive from any attractions. Chester Zoo's worth a visit though.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Birchy20698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night break in the Little Log. It is so relaxing, with beautiful views, beautiful walks and beautiful surroundings!
We took our 17 year old dog - Hal, who was on the go all the time! He thoroughly enjoyed it.
The lodge was very warm and clean.
So good we have book again later this year.

Room Tip: Little Log had south facing veranda. Also not overlooked!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

If you want a luxurious weekend retreat, then hop on a plane to Dubai. We stayed here over the weekend of 12th to 15th April. It was a relatives 65th birthday and we had 4 different lodges. A lot of reviews are quite correct, the lodges have seen better times and things need updating, but the location, peace and tranquility make up for it. If you want to wind down and go back to work relaxed then you could do worse than coming here. The lodges are all around a hillside from top to bottom, but they are well spaced out and you have lots of room. On one side you have views of a golf course, whilst on the other you have views of the lake and gardens of the park. Ducks roam around the lodges, geese use the lake, a resident llama, pig and Shetland donkeys are something for little ones to look at. A small park, and a field with goalposts for a kickabout.
A no longer used stretch of the Montgomery Canal runs through the grounds, you can have a nice walk either way.
You can fish on the lake, where there are Carp, Tench, Pike etc.
Its in a nice part of the countryside with quaint little villages within a short driving distance.
If you are there on a Sunday and want a nice Sunday Lunch, look no further than the restaurant at the Golf Course, which is a short drive away, or a stroll through the course.
3 courses fo £14.99. Decent choice on all three courses. If you pick a roast dinner you will be hard pressed to eat it all. Lots of fresh veg, excellent staff, and a nice restaurant. It satisfied 18 people.
It gets 4 out of 5 because for what we paid it was value for money. It does'nt get 5, because it would have to be perfect for that.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oggy7224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Our stay at the lodge was perfect. A cosy but spacious lodge with an amazing view from the huge picture window in the living room. The kitchen had everything you needed and was very clean. The surroundings were just beautiful and peaceful and ideal for a couple needing some relaxation

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We have just spent easter week at penllwyn lodges we stayed in oak lodge we are a party of 2 adults and 5 children!! we have had a lovely time the cabin was amazing the views stunning loads of squirrels and birds which kept our 2 yr old busy feeding them the cabin was so cosy and warm our house feels cold now the fishing lake was amazing too also the staff were quick to respond when my car wouldn't start and were very warm and helpful when we needed directions or anything for that matter. we cant wait to come and stay here again!! loved it............

Room Tip: all the rooms where good!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We've just returned after a "post new year trip"!! The location was fab & everything we wanted to relax & unwind. Set up a steep hill provided lodges with wonderful views. In the evening it was lovely to sit on the verenda & listen to the wildlife!!
We stayed in Pines which consisted on two bedrooms open lounge & kitchen, we found the accom very comfortable & cosy and it even had a xmas tree all lit up on our arrival. I was concerned too over previous reviews but I could not complain there was signs of previous occupants had abused the accom by not using tea coasters on the tables when they had hot drinks leading you to understand why you wouldn't put brand new furniture in these rentals! There was a polite notice referring to pet owners which I have attached & I do not find this one bit offensive! One bit of advice is to stock up on all your food & drinks prior arriving as shop on site only sells washing up liquid etc! Although Welshpool 7miles ago has a tesco we wented just to park up for our stay and not drive until we left for hom.
We travelled with two teenagers & Tsu Shih and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Each lunchtime we would walk to a village - along the canal to the right approx 2miles there is a village called Berriew which was a traditional village there you could find a spar/post office, butchers & two pubs we went to the Talbot Inn twice, Janet the barmaid was very friendly and allowed us to take the dog inside, there was a pool table which kept the children entertained. She also rang us a taxi to take us back to the lodge. Along the canal to left is a village called Abermule approx 3 miles - there was a general store with a better choice of items & two pub's.
The walk along the canal is obviously very flat & very scenic would definately recommend to anyone looking for something relaxing!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Pines each looked over Golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pjb9146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

I read a lot of rather negative reviews on here before our mini break. I was expecting much worse than we got.

We stayed in Murray lodge and it was just great. Yes things are outdated, but that was part of the charm. The lodge was clean and functional with plenty of space for our family of 2 adults and 3 teenagers and a small dog.

We had everything we needed including a dishwasher which I don't remember ever reading about in the blurb. Result!

The site itself is steep and glorious. Surrounded by trees and nothing too close together. The sounds of calling owls was amazing. The area of Wales that I had not been to before, is stunning with many lakes and waterfalls and walks that go on and on.

Our only negative comment was that the showers are the trickiest things to get the get to a constant temperature and the lighting was overall not up to much (light in the shower cubicle didn't work at all and the main lounge area was a bit dim for us oldies!)

Perfect place that I would visit again and recommend to anybody unless they want 5* luxury.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garthmyl
0.0 mi away
Talbot Hotel
Talbot Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berriew
99 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Montgomery
291 reviews
10.7 mi away
Brandy House Farm
Brandy House Farm
#1 of 1 in Felindre
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Nags Head
The Nags Head
#2 of 2 in Garthmyl
77 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Penllwyn Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penllwyn Lodges

Address: Garthmyl SY15 6SB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Garthmyl
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Garthmyl
Price Range: £49 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Penllwyn Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penllwyn Hotel Garthmyl
Penllwyn Lodges Garthmyl, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing