We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a total break from hustle n bustle”
Review of Penllwyn Lodges

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Penllwyn Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

Fantastic setting, wonderful scenery around...cabins well maintained, everything you need for your stay.
Would definitely go back again!!
Lovely walks along the canal both ways, shops within walking distance if you are willing and able...definitely worth a stay!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blue143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2013

We have just returned from a 7 day break with 8 family members ranging from 15 to 75 and 2 dogs. Fantastic views, lovely walks, fishing, children had plenty of activities locally including quad biking, karting and horse riding and golf, great place to relax and catch up with a grown up family. Accommodation was basic but very comfortable would definitely recommend to a friend :)

Room Tip: Murray Lodge faces river and lakes but traffic noise was noticeable, have stayed there before facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We have just returned from staying at Cedars lodge with our dog. Location wise cannot fault it at all, peaceful, private and beautiful views of the golf course. Also the weather has been superb 27C! To be honest that kind of heat was the stored in the cabins which made them uncomfortable at night to sleep, but this isn't a negative! But I will say the furniture needs updating, i found uneaten crisps down the side of the chair, which isn't nice! Could do with a modern makeover..
There is pots, pans, all the credentials for self catering you could need. Tesco's is only 6-7 miles up the road for essentials, Andrews fish and chip shop in Welshpool, recommended!
In all a great visit, will return, sunny days a bonus!

Room Tip: The higher the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trooper777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stayed in the Squirrels Drey lodge - the accommodation was basic, dated and could do with a deep clean. However, your in a very peaceful location where you can simply relax and use as a base to go off doing what ever takes your fancy. We were very lucky with the weather and the walks along the canal and surrounding areas were lovely. You can see from photo's posted by other reviewers that there is a fishing lake and 9 hole golf course. Sadly due to a current back injury, I was unable to give the course a go - It looks very new/young, but well kept. The lodges themselves are spacious and will I'm sure accommodate most family's needs. Although in a wooded area and you must expect cob webs and the odd bug, we do however intend to raise some issues with the firm due to the dust, particularly around the bedrooms and beds themselves (see pictures). That aside, we really enjoyed the break and wouldn't rule out again. If you/someone in group are reliant on mobility aids - be aware that the area is very steep!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank trollhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Me and my family have just come back from Penllwyn lodges, we had a great time! We stayed at the Oaks lodge, it was very big inside and very clean. i have no faults about it to be honest. I wil hopefully be returning in the future!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aled F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

we stayed in the foxgloves lodge and was very impressed with the size of the lodge as usual in a log cabin type building there are a few places on the corners of the ceilings that look a little dark but this is the same wherever you go.

sofas a little lumpy and unsupporting as are the beds

lovely walks to berriew to the local butchers also a nice tea room and deli a little shop is in berriew which covers the essentials but if you require more then i would say to go to tesco/morrisons in welshpool, before you arrive as its only 6 miles from site

we parked up the whole weekend and walked everywhere well strolled!!!!

nice fishing lake but didnt catch a thing booo!! ha ha all the fun of it!!

lovely place we would stay again nice cosy and warm

Room Tip: every lodge has its merits choose any
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank troubled t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013 via mobile

We went on a family holiday last August and found the lodges really peaceful and relaxing. The forest setting was gorgeous with no end of wildlife, the only drawback was that you're a good couple of hours drive from any attractions. Chester Zoo's worth a visit though.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Birchy20698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Penllwyn Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penllwyn Lodges

Address: Garthmyl SY15 6SB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Garthmyl
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Garthmyl
Price Range: £53 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Penllwyn Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penllwyn Hotel Garthmyl
Penllwyn Lodges Garthmyl, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing