We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent find”

Hundred House Inn & Gourmet Pie Kitchen
Ranked #10 of 15 Restaurants in Knighton
Price range: US$12 - US$17
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Constructed during 1524 using local Radnor stone and under the reign of King Henry VIII, The Hundred House was built for use as the first formal Radnorshire Court House and obtained its name due to it serving initially 100 families and then 100 towns, villages and hamlets in the county. Judges ruled over civil and criminal cases for 350 years until the 1870’s when the Courts were transferred to the larger local town of Presteigne and the redundant Tudor/Medieval property was converted for use as a public house. Having been acquired by new owners in 2015 and following a major investment (during which the property was also extended with traditional Oak Framed materials and construction methods) the restored/renovated/extended property reopened for business in April 2017. The original court house is now a family home and the Free House (The Hundred House Inn & Gourmet Pie Kitchen) occupies the site of the Barn & Stables that was built to serve the Judges, Legal Officers & members of the public whilst visiting the courts.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent find”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We stumbled across this pub/restaurant today when we were driving home for Christmas. What a find. It was warm and cosy, with a nice fire. The gentleman serving was friendly but not intrusive. The food was quick to be served, reasonably priced, a good selection, and most importantly very tasty. We'll definitely plan to stop off again next time we're driving through. Thanks.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MirandaBannerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    12
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Cosy,old fashioned pub”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We visited this pub for an evening meal and there was plenty of choice on the menu although it was officially "steak night". The atmosphere was friendly and the food cooked to order. It was all freshly prepared and delicious as well as being reasonably priced. We can thoroughly recommend it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank france036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
“Lovely place”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Called here lunchtime for a coffee stop on way back from Wales break. We were so impressed with the lunch menu we asked if we could just have two starters as we had already eaten two large cooked breakfasts.
My goats cheese and red onion chutney tartlet was tasty and the pastry divine. Partner's black pudding based starter was also excellent.
Nice log fire and good beers.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Proper pub grub”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We went here with friends who live in Clun, it was a vile wet evening but the pub had a log burner and the radiators on so we soon warmed up. The menu had a good variety and was well priced, the banana split I had was world class. For 4 adults and 2 children it was under £70 bargain

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank macrodonts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level 6 Contributor
336 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“Outstanding meal”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We strongly recommend this Inn for a really good evening meal. Here is good food cooked well and served in a cosy dining area (log fire) with quick and efficient service. Portions are lorge and food very tasty.Especially recommended are the salmon with dill sauce, "pork and black", and the mixed berry crumble or gooseberry crumble. One of the best kept local secrets. Would definitely return if in the area again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wyntyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hundred House Inn & Gourmet Pie Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Hundred House Inn & Gourmet Pie Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing