We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great pub for an evening meal”

Hundred House Inn & Gourmet Pie Kitchen
Ranked #13 of 15 Restaurants in Knighton
Price range: US$12 - US$17
Cuisines: British, Gastropub, Pub, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Constructed during 1524 using local Radnor stone and under the reign of King Henry VIII, The Hundred House was built for use as the first formal Radnorshire Court House and obtained its name due to it serving initially 100 families and then 100 towns, villages and hamlets in the county. Judges ruled over civil and criminal cases for 350 years until the 1870’s when the Courts were transferred to the larger local town of Presteigne and the redundant Tudor/Medieval property was converted for use as a public house. Having been acquired by the Jones family in 2015, following a £500’000 investment (during which the property was also extended with traditional Oak Framed materials and construction methods) the restored/renovated/extended property reopened for business in April 2017. The original court house is now a family home for Mr & Mrs Jones and their 3 sons, and the Free House (The Hundred House Inn & Gourmet Pie Kitchen) occupies the site of the Barn & Stables that was built to serve the Judges, Legal Officers & members of the public whilst visiting the courts.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great pub for an evening meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Very nice food, friendly staff and beautifully decorated. A lovely setting for a nice cosy meal. Homemade chips, which is always good to see in any pub/restaurant!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rachel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    9
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“lovely grub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

go to this pub at least once a month some times more.always have great food and lovely welcome.wish it was nearer home!!! it must be good if we travel all the way from the Black Country to eat there. Great choice of menu food always piping hot and lots of it, really friendly hosts only downside its too far away.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank david p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

We stumbled across this pub/restaurant today when we were driving home for Christmas. What a find. It was warm and cosy, with a nice fire. The gentleman serving was friendly but not intrusive. The food was quick to be served, reasonably priced, a good selection, and most importantly very tasty. We'll definitely plan to stop off again next time we're driving through. Thanks.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MirandaBannerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Cosy,old fashioned pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

We visited this pub for an evening meal and there was plenty of choice on the menu although it was officially "steak night". The atmosphere was friendly and the food cooked to order. It was all freshly prepared and delicious as well as being reasonably priced. We can thoroughly recommend it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank france036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

Called here lunchtime for a coffee stop on way back from Wales break. We were so impressed with the lunch menu we asked if we could just have two starters as we had already eaten two large cooked breakfasts.
My goats cheese and red onion chutney tartlet was tasty and the pastry divine. Partner's black pudding based starter was also excellent.
Nice log fire and good beers.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShropshireTolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hundred House Inn & Gourmet Pie Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Hundred House Inn & Gourmet Pie Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing