We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very warm and welcoming, great value”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Knighton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Whytcwm Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 11 Knighton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Well I arrived rather smelly from Offas Dyke (where manure had been freshly spread on one field/path) and yet was made to feel very welcome. My single room was nice and big. Shared "luxury" bathroom nice and clean, my soak there was very much appreciated (and I was urged by Penny to make it as deep as i likes). There is a 2nd toilet/shower in the utility area too which is colder/less luxury but handy. I didn't have a train to catch until 12 so it was lovely not to be kicked out at 9, in fact I came and went to the lovely guest sitting room and was very very much at home. Breakfast lovely, bed comfy. One of my best nights on the trail. Good recommendation for evening meal too (Horse and Jockey). I was woken a bit early by other guests door banging so if you are a guest please close your door fully and don't slam it :-)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ClareLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

Whytcwm Cottage is a lovely place just a few minutes walk from the main street of the town. Rooms are comfortable and clean, breakfast is very good. There is a separate common room for the guests. There is also good internet connection. The price is very reasonable. But the best thing is the kindness of Penny, the host. She is extremely helpful and tries to accomodate the needs of her guests. She is very friendly and makes you feel at home. I would certainly reccomend the place to those coming to Knighton.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank TezcanM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This isn't the most luxurious place I stayed at when walking the Dyke, but it was one of the most welcoming and memorable. Penny made us very much at home in her characterful house, full of paintings, artefacts, and books, fed us a great breakfast, and we went on our way, relaxed, and full of energy.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeachHut123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Penny is a delightful host, friendly and welcoming. We were greeted with tea and biscuits and much interesting talk. The sitting room is full of books for local walks and everything else! A comfortable bed and a great breakfast for a lovely start of our walk on Glyndwr’s Way.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This is a great place to stay on the Offa's Dyke path. The house is near the centre of the charming town of Knighton. No TV in room or ensuite, but you are given free range of the house and are made to feel very welcome.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Iolo_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Three of us were walking Offa's Dyke Path and stayed with Penny for two nights. Style is idiosyncratic and comfortable rather than posh and elegant - the place is lined with interesting art, books and 'stuff'.

We had an extremely reasonably priced room each, lovely breakfasts with great coffee, and a most welcoming host. It was particularly nice to have a sitting room to use after we had returned from eating - a great change from sitting on the edge of the bed watching telly.

It was a 'make yourself at home' sort of place, which is just what you want after a day's walking.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

This is a perfect place to stay after a long days walking. Penny is the perfect host and even prepared me an early breakfast as I wanted to be walking by 6am. Cottage is full of character. Bed really comfy. A great find

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edward A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Knighton Hotel
Knighton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knighton
220 reviews
8.7 mi away
Brandy House Farm
Brandy House Farm
#1 of 1 in Felindre
135 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Horse & Jockey Inn
The Horse & Jockey Inn
#5 of 11 in Knighton
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#2 of 11 in Knighton
24 reviews
2.3 mi away
Castle Inn
Castle Inn
#1 of 1 in Knucklas
82 reviews
4.9 mi away
No photo provided
Little HenCefn
#8 of 11 in Knighton
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whytcwm Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whytcwm Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Address: 7 George Road, Knighton LD7 1HF, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Knighton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Knighton
Also Known As:
Whytcwm Cottage Bed And Breakfast Knighton, Powys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing