We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice curry house” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saffron

Saffron
Ranked #5 of 15 Restaurants in Knighton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Kettering, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice curry house”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Nice Indian restaurant in Knighton . Friendly staff and an excellent menu at reasonable prices. All served hot and with Indian beer. We will be back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank atkind70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    16
    6
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Herefordshire
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing food and very welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

A lovely atmosphere as soon as you walk in as the staff are always very welcoming and the food is amazing with a wide variety of flavours there is always something different to have

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LucyNaylor1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food and Service Always”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

As soon as you walk through the door there is a welcoming vibe, all the staff are friendly and always able to give great advice on the menu and the spices. The menu is varied and the food is delicious, the specialty dishes must be tried! Very highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DeeNaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Presteigne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had booked a table for 6 of us for 2000hrs and we arrived in good time and told the only table available was in the waiting area for the take away and we decided not to sit there as everybody who was waiting for takeaway would be there with us when we said no they got angry and couldn't see the problem and that was the last time we have set foot in there . Would advise to avoid

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank robnfiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, Yorkshre
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Expect a long wait.......”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We usually visit Saffron twice a year and the last time we visited was last October. This visit, however, was not as enjoyable as the October visit. We were the second group to arrive and we arrived by 10 past 6. There was a family of 4 before us. We plumped for the special offer meal deal and our poppadoms arrived quite quickly. It was sometime after we had finished the poppadoms that our order was taken and this impacted of around a good 30 minute wait for the next course. I ordered a chicken tikka kebab which was devoid of a tikka taste. The main course arrived another 20 minutes after that. The portion size was good, however the taste was of meat with a sauce rather than meat that had been marinated for any length of time. Finally the coffee arrived, which was probably my favourite course.We finally finished our meal by 8 o'clock. During the waiting time, other parties arrived and at one stage, nobody was eating any food at all and were waiting and hoping for their food to arrive. As soon as any food arrived everybody looked over wishfully. The staff were busy as Saffron has a busy take out business and as a sitting in customer, it feels like we are an inconvenience and precedence is given to the take out sales. Shame, as Saffron has a monopoly and complacency seems to have set in.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank midgley4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saffron also viewed

 

Been to Saffron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing