We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pub with comfortable room”

The George & Dragon
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Knighton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The George & Dragon
Ranked #4 of 11 Knighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We had a nice stay in this pub. The owner and staff were very nice and helpful and the food was really nice. Live guitar player and singer as we visited the pub. Breakfast in the morning also good. Right on the Offa's Dyke path.

Room Tip: Back yard view from the room, but the room was nice. Don't Think it matters which room you have...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
There are newer reviews for The George & Dragon
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

Good beer, good food and comfortable rooms at a reasonable price make this an excellent choice for anyone walking Offas Dyke. I recommend it and believe me I'm fussy. Landlord and all staff very agreeable.

Room Tip: We used Kites which was good-sized en-suite twin.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noelch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed here on the penultimate stage of our Offa's Dyke path walk part 1 - the route passes the front door. Landlady very welcoming, and the room the best of the week. Landlord also welcoming and very knowledgeable about walking in the area. Beer and wine good, and wide choice on the Menu. Best meal of the week - and we even stretched to 3 courses! Breakfast also fine.

Room Tip: Rooms in separate converted stable block.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidMarshfieldGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Love this place i go every year and this year was no exception, super service in the bar and restaurant, food excellent, the family run place makes you feel your part of there family, good entertainment on in the evenings, friendly customers who are always ready to chat to you, its a place when i go to Knighton that i say i'm going home as thats how it feels, Thanks guys see you soon,
margi liverpool x
megan scotland x

Room Tip: steeped in history of knighton
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margitheone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

The room itself was lovely with a modern feel (and a decent mug for making tea/coffee).
Unfortunately the shower lacked power which was a bit disappointing after a day’s walking.
Couldn’t get Wi-Fi in the rooms and still very weak in the pub.
I felt that they cut corners at breakfast using cheap ingredients and instant coffee.
(For food I would actually recommend the Horse and Jockey down the road)
Bear in mind that you are staying in a pub so it can get noisy especially at weekends with the smoking area close by, but it does quieten down at kicking out time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IdRatherBeHiking2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Nice rooms in the converted stables, a warm welcome and good pub grub in the traditional Inn.

Helen the landlady is very friendly and helpful and keeps a very good pint of ale!

Good choice at breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WithoStokeonTrentUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Thanks to justin Helen and Ieuan for making our 3 day break a wonderful stay. the 4 of us thoroughly enjoyed the lovely quiet spacious rooms, the cooked to perfection breakfasts (cooked to order a rarity these days!) and great restaurant food plus of course good beer. Everyone at the hotel was welcoming and friendly and it felt like home from home. Can't wait to return. Knighton is a lovely little town with lots of walks and nice tea shops as well.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are better if you staying more than one night
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brucie32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knighton
0.0 mi away
Knighton Hotel
Knighton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knighton
210 reviews
12.4 mi away
Mellington Hall Hotel
Mellington Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mellington
399 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Horse & Jockey Inn
The Horse & Jockey Inn
#5 of 11 in Knighton
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Brandy House Farm
Brandy House Farm
#1 of 1 in Felindre
135 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#2 of 11 in Knighton
23 reviews
9.7 mi away
Oxford Arms
Oxford Arms
#3 of 14 in Kington
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George & Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George & Dragon

Address: 4 Broad Street, Knighton LD7 1BL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Knighton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Knighton
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The George & Dragon Knighton, Powys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing