We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing in luxury”
Review of Black Hall Lodges

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Knighton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Black Hall Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing in luxury”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Our 5th time back to Black Hall. That should tell you enough about how much we like it, but I'll be more specific.
We stayed in a Helsinki lodge this time, have been in the Inari ones before, very similar. All very clean and modern, nice beds, nice bathrooms, great views down the valley and hot tub under the stars at night.
Wasn't great weather this time, was no problem, stayed in and got the woodburner going or went to the swimming pool, sauna, steam room which we had all to ourselves each time we went in. Kids had plenty of space to play, we got to relax and feel like we had really got away from it all.
Have no doubt we'll be back, great place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon B, Owner at Black Hall Lodges, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Hi Steve & Family, Thank you for your review! We are pleased you enjoyed yet another last minute relaxing break at Black Hall. The Helsinki lodges really provide a great view down the Shropshire Hills! The stars have been fantastic lately!!
We hope you have gone home refreshed - and we hope to see you all again in the near future!

Many Thanks
The Beavan Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    20
    4
    8
    3
See reviews for
117
91
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
stpke on trent
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2014

this is the 2nd time we have stayed at black hall lodges in less than a year, it was still as amazing the 2nd time round as the first, the lodge was immaculate and the owners very helpful, definitely a place to go and relax hopefully we will be back in septemeber

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sam h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon B, Owner at Black Hall Lodges, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Hi Sam,
Thank you for your review! We are pleased to hear you have enjoyed another stay at Black Hall! We hope you are now refreshed and relaxed for 2014! We hope to see you again in the near future.

Many Thanks
The Beavan Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We had a lovely stay at Blackhall lodges despite the weather over new year.
We stayed in Inari 2 and aside from the leaking patio door LOCK - all was well - perhaps a few odd jobs need sorting -loose door handle on bathroom door and plates are very scratched and need replacing etc, the blind in the downstairs toilet was broken and the radiator in the uptairs bathroom was cold and needed bleeding - the reason I mention these things is that every year we stay in 2-3 luxury Autograph lodges and we have found the standards of accommodation to be slightly high and attention to detail better in other properties than this one at Blackhall, there were cobwebs in the bedroom corners and I had to wash the pans from old food marks before I could use them to cook with.
We loved the indoor sauna and hot tub, location and facilities.
Would we return - maybe however this year with Hoseasons we paid £699 less a travel agnet discount so we paid £639 - now Blackhall are only taking direct bookings and they wany £830 for the same lodge and dates this year - an increase of 19% and an increase of 30% versus what we paid - with inflation at 2% and holidays in 2014 going up an average of 5-6% that's one heck on a increase and hence we are looking at different luxury lodges for 2014/15 new year!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emmapt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Me and my partner stayed here for 3 nights as a mini break for our anniversary and it can all be summed up with one word... wow! We have both stayed in some fantastic places before but this really is in a league of it's own. We stayed in an Inari lodge which had a hot tub and sauna (both of which were lovely on the cold nights!) The lodge was spotless on arrival and the staff were so friendly! The location is wonderful aswell, all we could see is green and at night the amount of stars we could see was amazing! We will definitely be coming back in the new year for another weekend away!

Room Tip: Inari lodges are the only ones with private saunas!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We went as a family of four to black hall lodges over half term. It was everything I hoped it was going to be! Beautiful lodge, peaceful setting, nice on site facilities for a family. We were staying in an inari lodge with a hot tub which was a real luxury. Inside the lodge was huge for four of us and had all the facilities you needed for a relaxing self catering break. We had our food delivered by tesco which made life very easy. Our twin 5 year old boys thoroughly enjoyed the swimming pool, playroom and tractor area. We did two walks for which the information was provided in the lodge. They were both lovely and it was great being in the great outdoors and not seeing another person while we were out. They held a lovely event for guests on Halloween which everyone loved. The boys have told everyone of their tractor ride, bonfire, fireworks and hotdogs. We thought we would have days out in the car for but for our four night break we did not leave the site as it was so relaxing and had everything we needed. A very memorable and relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: We loved having a hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Been to several lodges in the heart of England and this lodge has gone to the top of our list the surrounding area is lovely with the town of Ludlow only about 25mins away We stayed in the ERIE lodge and there was everything you could need for a relaxing break supplied and all the comfort you could want with a lovely big square hot tub just outside your door with great views and very private

Room Tip: If a couples break then choose the ERIE lodge as it is at the end of the site and not overlooked
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuart c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

As a family this was our second time stopping there. We were there half term week and it was up to its usual high standard. This time we paid for the wifi broke whilst we were there. But they got it repaired straight away. This time the pool was warmer and much better for the kids. On Halloween they held a pumpkin show and had a tractor ride to a bonfire and firework display. Where they supplied hot dogs and soup free of charge. Overall a lovely place and no phone signal so work cannot harass me. Will be going back and already recommended it to friends

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon B, Sharon Beavan at Black Hall Lodges, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your half term with us. We feel everyone enjoyed the Bonfire & Halloween night as much as you did, therefore this may be something we can repeat in the future. We hope to see you all soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knighton
8.9 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
768 reviews
16.6 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
890 reviews
3.8 mi away
Knighton Hotel
Knighton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knighton
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Brandy House Farm
Brandy House Farm
#1 of 1 in Felindre
134 reviews
1.7 mi away
Castle Inn
Castle Inn
#1 of 1 in Knucklas
79 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Waterdine
The Waterdine
#1 of 2 in Llanfair Waterdine
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Hall Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hall Lodges

Property: Black Hall Lodges
Address: Llanfair Waterdine, Knighton LD7 1TU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Knighton
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Knighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Black Hall Lodges Knighton, Powys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing