We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic ”
Review of Black Hall Lodges

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Knighton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Black Hall Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Given how much we have fallen in love with the wigwams I am tempted not to review them! Especially when you get them all to yourselves. Easily the best combination of accommodation, facilities and view (although on view alone nothing beats eshaness). South of Shetland there are no finer wigwams. Service, comfort and friendliness have all been excellent on each of our three stays

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank fruitbat2a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

We had a fabulous stay at Black Hall Farm. We stayed in Huron lodge, one of the Canadian lodges. It was amazing, you had everything there you need with the hot tub and the log burner and the onsite leisure facilities. The lodges are very impressive and very clean, I could not fault the place really. You are situated about 3.5 miles from Knighton which is a lovely and there is some nice pubs In the region offering very good food i.e The Castle being one and the Horse and Jockey. If you want to get away for some peace and quiet then this is the place to go. The only negative point I could think of was the security deposit of £100 you had to pay before you go, it does make you feel a bit on edge in case you break something accidently as when you get there, there is a long list of what you can do to avoid losing your security deposit. I can understand why they do it as these lodges are immaculate, but I feel its a little too strong. This is only a minor negative really. All in all in all a very nice stay and would stay again, and tell friends and family to try it out.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ian382972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This is a truly unique and special place to stay. Out of this world! I'll break the review into bullet points to make it easy to read.

* We stayed in the Erie lodge (my boyfriend and I) and had the most amazing private hot tub with so much privacy!!! I spent most of the long weekend here!

* Superb, high quality lodge - great furnishings and facilities, they really have thought of everything.

* Relaxing and beautiful location, miles of rolling hills and countryside.

* Great leisure facilities - pool table and ping pong in games room and lovely swimming pool, sauna and steam room.

* Helpful and friendly staff.

* Everything it says on the website and more, I was genuinely not expecting it to be as wonderful as it is and will definitely be returning.

I would say it is expensive and the only small gripe I've got is that check-in time isn't until 4pm and you need to be off the site by 10am on the day of departure, meaning a Fri-Mon stay is more accurately described as a weekend stay as you only get 2 full days... It's expensive for just 2 days. I appreciate that the staff need time to clean etc but maybe it wouldn't hurt to employ some extra cleaners just for those days to enable guests a few extra hours to enjoy their breaks! Saying that, I'd definitely go back, probably for a Mon-Fri break as the prices are very similar!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank secretstar87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We have a very enjoyable stay in the Ontario lodge. It has been finished to an excellent standard and you really feel like you are staying in luxury.
The pool facilities are fantastic. The pool itself is in the smaller side but was always quite when we used it (August) and very warm- perfect for a baby.
By far the best part of the site is the setting and views all around you and enjoying them from your hot tub. All the cabins had one. They have been carefully placed behind bamboo so you have privacy but you can still look out an enjoy the surroundings.
Site staff were very helpful and agreed to take our Tesco food delivery in for us as we arrived later than expected. They even popped the cold stuff in the fridge!
The only small negative is a the price- but you do get what you pay for.

Room Tip: The higher up the hill you are the better the views- so ask for this when you book!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucyalex12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon B, Owner at Black Hall Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you for your review.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Black Hall, and your food was nicely chilled in your fridge for your arrival!! The Ontario Lodge is a great lodge with fantastic traditional log cabin features! We are delighted to hear that your family made good use of our leisure faculties and the pool was a perfect temperature for smaller children! Something we definitely aim for - nobody likes a cold pool!

Thank you again for your great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Just got back from our first visit to Blackhall Wigwams. It did not disappoint.
We stayed for two nights and occupied two wigwams. We travelled with children ranging from 4 to 11 years old.
The wigwams were very clean and the communal facilities in the wigwam field were superb. The kitchen is well equipped and clean. The showers and toilets were literally spotless.
The wigwams have a fire pit and we barbecued and toasted marshmallows.
The swimming pool area was fab (costs £15 per day extra) but is well worth it.

We arrived earlier than scheduled and the staff were very accommodating and got the wigwam ready for us.

The kids loved it and were safe playing in the wigwam field.

The area is beautiful and it is so peaceful, surrounded by hills and sheep.

The tractor ride given by the owner was brilliant, and lasted about an hour.

Altogether a fab short break and we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LHDarbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon B, Owner at Black Hall Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you for your review on Black Hall Wigwams!

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your glamping weekend at Black Hall and the communal facilities were up to as high a standard as we aim for. The novelty tractor ride is a great experience and we are delighted that your family had the opportunity to take home these memories.

We look forward to meeting you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We have just got back from a short 2 night stay in the Superior lodge. After reading the reviews and the quite steep price tag I was expecting a lot... and I wasn't disappointed.
What a special place. It was a great time to go with lambing season well under way, we loved listening to the farm animals in our hot tub with our 2 girls. The highlight of our stay was the tractor ride which was absolutely brilliant, I never knew cows were so territorial..
Loved the log fire as well.
We'll be back.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank zulu_kraal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon B, Owner at Black Hall Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you for your review!

We are extremely pleased the Superior lodge met your expectations. The lambing season is a special time to visit Black Hall, with the lambing outside you are more than likely to see a new born lamb every morning!! The novelty tractor ride is a high light of the majority of our guests and we are pleased you had the opportunity to take part in this fantastic experience.

We look forward to meeting your family again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Just got back from my second visit to Black Hall and it really does never disappoint! Once again the girls on reception were really helpful when booking and checking in. I stayed in another Inari Lodge and it was spotlessly clean throughout for our arrival. I enjoyed sitting in the hot tub watching the stars just as much as I did the first time round! The lodge setting is so quiet and peaceful you cant hear a thing at night apart from the occasional sheep! I really can't recommend this place enough, once you visit once I guarantee you will be back to visit again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon B, Owner at Black Hall Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Hi Ryan
Thank you for another great review!

We are so pleased your return visits to Black Hall are as special as your first visit!
We appreciate your custom and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future no doubt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knighton
8.4 mi away
Ashlea Pools Country Park
Ashlea Pools Country Park
#1 of 6 in Craven Arms
518 reviews
5.2 mi away
Brandy House Farm
Brandy House Farm
#1 of 1 in Felindre
135 reviews
1.7 mi away
Castle Inn
Castle Inn
#1 of 1 in Knucklas
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Knighton Hotel
Knighton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knighton
224 reviews
3.7 mi away
Offa Dyke House
Offa Dyke House
#6 of 11 in Knighton
25 reviews
4.3 mi away
No photo provided
Little HenCefn
#8 of 11 in Knighton
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Hall Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hall Lodges

Address: Llanfair Waterdine, Knighton LD7 1TU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Knighton
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Knighton
Price Range: £250 - £1,339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Black Hall Lodges Knighton, Powys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing