We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Black Hall Lodges
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Knighton
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Knighton Hotel(Knighton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Castle Hotel(Bishops Castle)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Dragon Hotel(Montgomery)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bell Hotel(Newtown)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Metropole Hotel(Llandrindod Wells)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glen Usk Hotel(Llandrindod Wells)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (304)
Filter reviews
304 results
Traveller rating
269
20
4
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
269
20
4
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolon sitehot tubgames roomthe kitcheninari lodgesoft play arealeisure centresuperior lodgerelaxing breaklog cabincanadian lodgespool tablesteam roomworking farmnature trailstunning views
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
215 - 220 of 304 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Given how much we have fallen in love with the wigwams I am tempted not to review them! Especially when you get them all to yourselves. Easily the best combination of accommodation, facilities and view (although on view alone nothing beats eshaness). South of Shetland there are no finer wigwams. Service, comfort and friendliness have all been excellent on each of our three stays

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank fruitbat2a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We had a fabulous stay at Black Hall Farm. We stayed in Huron lodge, one of the Canadian lodges. It was amazing, you had everything there you need with the hot tub and the log burner and the onsite leisure facilities. The lodges are very impressive and very clean, I could not fault the place really. You are situated about 3.5 miles from Knighton which is a lovely and there is some nice pubs In the region offering very good food i.e The Castle being one and the Horse and Jockey. If you want to get away for some peace and quiet then this is the place to go. The only negative point I could think of was the security deposit of £100 you had to pay before you go, it does make you feel a bit on edge in case you break something accidently as when you get there, there is a long list of what you can do to avoid losing your security deposit. I can understand why they do it as these lodges are immaculate, but I feel its a little too strong. This is only a minor negative really. All in all in all a very nice stay and would stay again, and tell friends and family to try it out.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ian382972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This is a truly unique and special place to stay. Out of this world! I'll break the review into bullet points to make it easy to read.

* We stayed in the Erie lodge (my boyfriend and I) and had the most amazing private hot tub with so much privacy!!! I spent most of the long weekend here!

* Superb, high quality lodge - great furnishings and facilities, they really have thought of everything.

* Relaxing and beautiful location, miles of rolling hills and countryside.

* Great leisure facilities - pool table and ping pong in games room and lovely swimming pool, sauna and steam room.

* Helpful and friendly staff.

* Everything it says on the website and more, I was genuinely not expecting it to be as wonderful as it is and will definitely be returning.

I would say it is expensive and the only small gripe I've got is that check-in time isn't until 4pm and you need to be off the site by 10am on the day of departure, meaning a Fri-Mon stay is more accurately described as a weekend stay as you only get 2 full days... It's expensive for just 2 days. I appreciate that the staff need time to clean etc but maybe it wouldn't hurt to employ some extra cleaners just for those days to enable guests a few extra hours to enjoy their breaks! Saying that, I'd definitely go back, probably for a Mon-Fri break as the prices are very similar!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank secretstar87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We have a very enjoyable stay in the Ontario lodge. It has been finished to an excellent standard and you really feel like you are staying in luxury.
The pool facilities are fantastic. The pool itself is in the smaller side but was always quite when we used it (August) and very warm- perfect for a baby.
By far the best part of the site is the setting and views all around you and enjoying them from your hot tub. All the cabins had one. They have been carefully placed behind bamboo so you have privacy but you can still look out an enjoy the surroundings.
Site staff were very helpful and agreed to take our Tesco food delivery in for us as we arrived later than expected. They even popped the cold stuff in the fridge!
The only small negative is a the price- but you do get what you pay for.

Room Tip: The higher up the hill you are the better the views- so ask for this when you book!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucyalex12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon B, Owner at Black Hall Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you for your review.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Black Hall, and your food was nicely chilled in your fridge for your arrival!! The Ontario Lodge is a great lodge with fantastic traditional log cabin features! We are delighted to hear that your family made good use of our leisure faculties and the pool was a perfect temperature for smaller children! Something we definitely aim for - nobody likes a cold pool!

Thank you again for your great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Just got back from our first visit to Blackhall Wigwams. It did not disappoint.
We stayed for two nights and occupied two wigwams. We travelled with children ranging from 4 to 11 years old.
The wigwams were very clean and the communal facilities in the wigwam field were superb. The kitchen is well equipped and clean. The showers and toilets were literally spotless.
The wigwams have a fire pit and we barbecued and toasted marshmallows.
The swimming pool area was fab (costs £15 per day extra) but is well worth it.

We arrived earlier than scheduled and the staff were very accommodating and got the wigwam ready for us.

The kids loved it and were safe playing in the wigwam field.

The area is beautiful and it is so peaceful, surrounded by hills and sheep.

The tractor ride given by the owner was brilliant, and lasted about an hour.

Altogether a fab short break and we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LHDarbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon B, Owner at Black Hall Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you for your review on Black Hall Wigwams!

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your glamping weekend at Black Hall and the communal facilities were up to as high a standard as we aim for. The novelty tractor ride is a great experience and we are delighted that your family had the opportunity to take home these memories.

We look forward to meeting you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews