We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Accommodation”
other travellers have booked this property
Tractor Shed in the Summer
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Tractor Shed in the Summer
Tractor Shed with its very own wood-fired eco hot tub - just perfect!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
3 reviews
Tractor Shed in the Summer
Tractor Shed with its very own wood-fired eco hot tub - just perfect!
Tractor Shed with its very own wood-fired eco hot tub - just perfect!
Twin Bedded room - Egyptian cotton sheets trimmed with Prince of Wales tartan
Mater bedroom with king sized bed  with Egyptian cotton linen trimmed with Prince of Wales tartan
Kitchen with oak cabinets and marble tops, and ever-hot stove
Bathroom with corner jacuzzi bath
Terraced garden
Hot -tub in the garden
Picture perfect .. in the snow
Patio and terraced gardens
Garden table in the winter sunshine
Hot Tub in action!
Relaxing with friends
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Knighton, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 3 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lisawhitm...
Oldbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Disappointed with the hot tub”
Reviewed 30 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We have just got back from a 3 x night stay at The Tractor Shed. Richard and Medina met us on our arrival and were very welcoming. The hot tub was being heated up for us and wasn't to temperature yet but was by the evening. The next few nights we had to heat it up ourselves which took approx 5-6 hours from start, we didn't realise this was going to be the case and wasn't told this when we booked through Skye Cottages. The temperature of the hot tub also dropped a few degrees while we were in it so that wasn't the best so we decided to go inside and use the Jacuzzi bath which only had luke warm water coming through the taps even though we'd only had a shower each and washed the dishes once. The cottage was lovely, clean and tidy and very cosy, the garden was nice but extremely dark when we were walking up to the hot tub which I thought was dangerous, we had to use the torches on our phones for light and balance them on the bench outside for more light. On Skye cottages when we booked it said there was a pub was 5 mins walk away which wasn't the case, it was 1 1/2 miles away down a 60 mph road with no pavement so definitely a drive down not a walk. There is a village 5 mins drive away also but we couldn't go to either as we had to stay and top up the hot tub every half hour to get a good temperature for the night. Overall a lovely cottage and the owners were nice but disappointed with the hot tub and the Jacuzzi bath as they were what we wanted to use.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jan 2017
So sorry to hear that you struggled with the hot tub - and I only wish that you had told us you were having difficulties with it, because we could have helped you. You do have to get the fire roaring to really get the heat going and it shouldn't take 5-6 hours on each re-heat. Many guests enjoy the experience of tending the fire and the low environmental impact of the tub; I can only apologise if this was not your expectation and I will speak to Sykes about the description to see if we can make it more obvious to future guests. I had thought it was apparent in our pre-arrival information that I sent you and I will review this too. It is purposely dark so there is no light pollution to take away from the experience, however I do note your concerns and will consider more solar lighting.

With regard to the jacuzzi bath the boiler is a combi-boiler with endless hot water so I am not quite sure why it wasn't hot enough .. sometimes if the taps are run too fast then it may draw across the elements too quickly .. thanks for pointing this out .. I will make sure our future guests are aware of the situation.

I am puzzled as to how you didn't find the Wharf in the village of Felindre on the main road which is only 5 minutes walk and a great local drinking house. yes the pub in Beguildy - the one that does food, is 2 miles down the road and we do not recommend folks walk there as although only a B road there isn't a verge.

Thank you for your honest feedback - it is really important to us that our guests have a good experience, I am glad that you liked the cottage sorry that it wasn't what you were expecting.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel D
Fareham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Accommodation”
Reviewed 14 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Wonderful stay in the Tractor Shed, both Medina and Richard were very welcoming, even with a cup of tea and home made cake on our arrival. Very secluded with great views across the valley.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space within the property
Liked least: No mobile phone reception, slow wi-fi and long distance to nearest town.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing