We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B”

The Old School House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Old School House
Ranked #5 of 6 Llanbrynmair B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Karen and Bernie made us very welcome and the local area is beautiful. Comfortable bedrooms with a fantastic breakfast. Stunning views and peaceful atmosphere. We opted in for a cooked evening meal which was excellent and sandwiches of our choice were made up for us on both days of our stay. We would have no hesitation in recommending.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2013

I stayed here before and after a 24 hour mountain bike race (the Bear Bones 200).

I cannot recommend The Old School House enough. I was welcomed like an old friend, and the customer service throughout my stay was beyond brilliant.

The breakfast was something to behold, and is apparently quite famous in the area. Quality ingredients, and huge, it kept me fuelled for many hours cycling.

I was also lucky enough to have an evening meal at The Old School House. A delightful roast, with an amazing Rhubarb Crumble, a complimentary beer or two, and a wonderfully friendly atmosphere. Exactly what I needed after 24hours of cycling through the Welsh hills in October.

Not only do I intend to stay here again for the 2013 race, I intend to treat my family to a few days in the hills with the Old School House as a base.

Amazing value, peaceful, friendly, can't recommend enough!

10/10.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

The Old School House is a comfortable and welcoming B&B in stunningly beautiful and peaceful surroundings. Nothing is too much trouble for the owners, who coped cheerfully with our awkward dietary requirements, providing a tasty vegetarian evening meal and superb breakfast. It was a shame that we couldn't have stayed longer - perhaps another time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SPWSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Unfortunately we were unable to stay more than two nights in this little gem in one of the most beautiful parts of Wales.The welcome, hospitality and delicious food were second to none.Karen and Bernie were exceptional hosts giving over and above what would be expected of them.
Comfort,the outstanding outlook from the conservatory were both relaxing and breathtaking.If you are looking for perfection, this is second to none.We shall return sooner rather than later!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beti2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We spent a wonderful three nights here to walk from Llanidloes to Machynlleth facilitated by our exceedingly co-operative hosts who provided the necessary transport arrangements as well as food.
The use of the spacious conservatory provided excellent bird-spotting opportunities on restful evenings..
We would recommend this B&B to any couple, but especially walkers on the Glyndwr or Cambrian paths.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Stayed here for 3 months as working in Welshpool. A warm family atmosphere, comfortable room, excellent food and ambience. Would recommend unreservedly. Is located in a most beautiful spot in Mid Wales and is a most pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eureka123_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Having stayed here for the weekend to attend a MTB course, thought it was worthy of a mention on this site as people need to know about this lovely B & B, and excellent value for money.
Situated in a quiet village set in lovely countryside and so quiet, (which we did not have time to explore this time).
The bed was comfortable and the room was very clean and welcoming, with free Wifi. Breakfast was excellent best poached eggs ever!
The owners were the nicest people that you would ever wish to meet and did not force themselves on you, but were there when needed.

Wish there were more places like this.....

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flojo37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Old School House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old School House

Address: Pennant, Llanbrynmair SY19 7BL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llanbrynmair
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Llanbrynmair
Price Range: £80 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old School House 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your The Old School House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old School House Llanbrynmair, Powys, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing