We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A blissful place”
Review of Bron y Llys B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llanbrynmair
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bron y Llys B&B
Ranked #1 of 6 Llanbrynmair B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Bron y Llys is as lovely and special as all the other reviewers have said - and is definitely much more than a B&B. We were welcomed by Maya with tea and freshly made Welsh cakes, served in the guest lounge where there is a super wood-burning stove, which was much appreciated as we arrived on a wet and windy day. The house is so atmospheric and has been beautifully decorated, with lovely pictures, lots of great books to borrow and maps to browse. Our room was really comfortable, with a huge bed, lovely crisp bedlinen, and the luxury of Molton Brown shower gel etc. We had a really wonderful evening meal - there was a really good choice of dishes (sent to us beforehand) which catered for both the veggie and non-veggie equally well! Dinner is served in the lovely dining room, with views of the surrounding countryside and hills all around. After a great night's sleep we were treated to a really excellent breakfast. Maya and John are committed to serving as much local and fairtrade produce as possible - which was a real bonus for us. We could only stay two nights but we left Bron y Llys feeling we had been cossetted and spoilt in the nicest possible way. We can't recommend this highly enough.

Room Tip: We slept in the room at the end of the house, which has its own front door, which was rather nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hils15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2013

We called in at Bron y Llys while walking the Glyndwr Way. We were sent accurate and helpful directions to find the house, were welcomed with Tea, soft drinks Flapjacks and Welsh cakes, and were then fed and watered superbly before having a wonderfully comfortable nights sleep.
This B&B really will take some beating.
Thank you John and Maya for the attentive and appropriate welcome

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dai434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed at Bron y Llys for 3 nights and had a wonderful (May) half-term break. Everything that you would want from a B&B was here. This is an old cottage but the amenities in the bedroom were tasteful and modern, with lovely views over the local countryside. The breakfast had a variety of local produce and was excellent for both the vegetarian and the non-veg guest. Most important was the Maja’s welcome and hospitality, including the afternoon tea with Welsh cakes on a rather blustery day. Whilst the location is fantastically remote, up country lanes and past a spectacular gorge, there are good eating and drinking places within a few miles and Maja has a list of recommendations. You can have good walks from the cottage , or venture by car to the coastal towns of Barmouth and Aberdovey.
We look forward to staying here many times in the near future.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ALEDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

To call this a B&B is an understatement, for everything about Bron y Llys has more of the feel of a boutique hotel (hence the 5 star rating from everyone), demonstrating quality, excellence and attention to detail in every way. We loved the fluffy robes, slippers and Molten Brown toiletries in our room!! We stayed in the "annexe" - to call it an "annexe" is another understatement - it was a little piece of detached heaven - ensuite, beautiful views and an amazing nights sleep. It was only the fact that we couldn't fit the bed on the roof of a Toyota Yaris, it didn't end up coming home with us!!
The food was definitely a highlight of the weekend, Maya is an amazing cook!! We even had a surprise of freshly baked cupcakes when Maya discovered it was Jean's birthday.
John and Maya are a wonderful couple with an amazing gift of hospitality. We will definitely be back, and have no hesitation in recommending it to family and friends.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AndrewandJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We were driving down from North Wales to Bristol where we had been to a wonderful wedding. This B&B is in the most wonderful setting with good walks nearbye but the real luxury is the little things like the linnen, the choice of drinks to have in bed when you wake up, the size of the beds and the wonderful food and welcome.

I can recommend it too highly.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JonSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Hidden away in the Welsh hills could easily be the main selling point for many B&B's but I have to say I almost forgot how beautiful the location was. A very homely welcome. The rooms are incredibly comfy and look lovely too (enough room for our moses basket or for a travel cot). It's hard to pinpoint a highlight but the food was certainly worth paying a little extra for - some very cheeky cake recipes that I'd love to get my hands on! I loved it. Will be going again when I can!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

The things we loved:
Amazing drive to reach the property - we had deep snow & sunshine - a winning combo
Incredibly warm welcome for us & our daughters
Fantastic cooking & hospitality - even chocolate cake to celebrate our daughter's birthday
Games (especially Nick Park's Fleeced) by the fire
Meals in the conservatory with stunning views & visiting birds
Stars, stars, stars (no light pollution - our girls were inspired)
Peace & tranquility - a place to unwind (including a few lost sheep in the garden!)
Not only will we be back, we didn't want to leave.

Room Tip: Both rooms were excellent - one has en suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Diana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llanbrynmair hotels
1.5 mi away
The Old School House
The Old School House
#5 of 6 in Llanbrynmair
36 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cringoed Holiday Park
Cringoed Holiday Park
#1 of 2 in Llanbrynmair
15 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Star
The Star
#3 of 6 in Llanbrynmair
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bron y Llys B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bron y Llys B&B

Address: Dylife, Llanbrynmair SY19 7BW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llanbrynmair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Llanbrynmair
Price Range: £40 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury tranquil B&B in the Cambrian Mountains in Mid Wales near Snowdonia National Park. Offering warm welcome, panoramic views, luxurious bedding, excellent food, comfortable guest sitting room with log burner, and ample parking, including safe cycle storage. We are on the long distance path, Glyndwr’s Way, National Cycle Route 8 and close to mountains and beaches. Great for walking, cycling, birdwatching, stargazing, or just curling up with a good book. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bron y Llys B&B Llanbrynmair, Powys, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing