We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fine Cottage, lovely lonesome region”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Old Kiln

kitchen diner with original beamed ceilings
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
kitchen diner with original beamed ceilings
approach from private car parking area view when approaching from the lane.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
kitchen diner with original beamed ceilings
approach from private car parking area
view when approaching from the lane.
breakfast on the decked terrace overlooking the stream
front view showing the gabled lounge patio windows
double bedroom,with local Laura Ashley fabrics
Underfloor heated Lounge with bed settee
view of the Fachdre stream as the cottage is approached
From the decked patio looking back to the car parking area
From the dining area looking down over the lounge and out over the garden and stream
Original stone wall feature adjacent stairs to Kitchen diner
shower room  with large shower tray
large private parking area
the cottage in spring viewed from the lane
the old mill leet waterfall attracts numerous birds for a drink in the garden
The cottage is located at the base of this scenic valley as  viewed from the road near Dylife.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Llanbrynmair, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Happiness...
1 review
“Fine Cottage, lovely lonesome region”
Reviewed 4 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Fine, cosy cottage,
well equipped,
lots of informations about the region,
friendly landlords,
lonely region

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fine kitchen
Liked least: only one big duvet for two people
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2016
Thanks for taking the time to review The Old Kiln. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Kind regards
Sue & Malcolm
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colo74201...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful retreat”
Reviewed 30 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Just what we needed for a relaxing break and to recharge the batteries! The cottage is finished to a very high standard and Sue and Malcolm have really thought of everything you could possibly need. It’s so cosy and comfortable and the location is incredibly peaceful and relaxing. Sue was there to greet us when we arrived and was very helpful, with lots of information about the local area on places to eat and things to do etc.

For anybody else staying at the cottage we would recommend the Aleppo in Crano for something to eat. The food is delicious and not expensive and only a short drive away. If you visit between April and August you might be lucky enough to see Osprey nesting in Hafren Forrest as we were. We then took a drive around the lake to the dam and some of the most spectacular views I have ever seen.

We also enjoyed wandering around the local towns of Llandiloes and Machynleth and Aberdovey is just a short drive to the coast and well worth a visit. There are lots of good walks in the area. We would recommend the ‘Waterfalls over Pennant’. It’s a good walk with beautiful views but quite a steep climb at the end. Just a shame that the Star Inn at the top of the hill is not operating as an inn at the moment as we would have appreciated a cold drink after our walk!

The Old Kiln is the perfect base to explore this part of Wales from and to relax with a cold glass of wine on the decking, over the stream at the end of the day was just wonderful. We would definitely recommend it to anyone and hope to be back!! Thank you Sue and Malcolm.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2016
Thanks so much for taking the time to review The Old Kiln, we really appreciate it, also pleased that you managed to see the local Osprey at the Hafren forest they really are spectacular birds.
We are so lucky to have such spectacular scenery in the vicinity to explore and then return to the cottage and relax and unwind to the sound of the stream. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards
Sue & Malcolm
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwicksh...
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very peaceful relaxing place kept to a high standard”
Reviewed 24 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely relaxing break great place sitting on the deck listening to the stream watching the wildlife, outstanding property

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2016
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review, we're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, the peace, relaxation and surroundings. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
kind regards
Sue & Malcolm.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaime D
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfection!!”
Reviewed 23 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Myself & my husband decided to book the Old Kiln as it seemed to be the ideal place to get away from it all. We were not disappointed! It was absolute perfection from the moment we arrived. The location has some fantastic scenery and the cottage and it's garden is immaculately beautiful. Sue and Malcolm have pretty much thought of everything with the added extras, from folders filled with information about local attractions or amenities to emergency items that you may have forgotten to take yourselves. There is very limited mobile phone coverage but there was a pay phone at the end of the lane if you really needed to use one. We really did have a fantastic time there and will definitely be booking again next year (if not before). I would recommend it to anyone that is looking for a relaxing, romantic or secluded break.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2016
Thank you for such a positive review, we're so pleased that you chose the cottage for Stephen's birthday treat and that you enjoyed your stay so much. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
kind regards
Sue & Malcolm
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren R
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“What a gem”
Reviewed 23 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This property is an absolute gem situated on a very quiet road. The garden is lovely and it's so easy to relax above the stream watching all the different birds coming and going. Inside the cottage you'll find everything you need including lots of useful information about the property and surrounding area. It is all very nice and comfortable. I loved this place and would go back in a heartbeat. Cannot wait to return.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2016
We're so pleased you had a good time at the cottage, a holiday here certainly seems to help visitors chill out and relax in lovely surroundings, thanks for taking the time to post a review, we really appreciate it.
kind regards
Sue & Malcolm
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godalming, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Jul 2016
Thanks so much for reviewing 'The old kiln'. We try to make the cottage as comfy' as possible so that our guests have an enjoyable stay in this beautiful part of Wales. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
kind regards
Sue & Malcolm
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
jswaffiel...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Relaxing Peaceful Place to Stay”
Reviewed 29 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Very good place to stay, ,good views and plenty to do.It is an excellent and relaxing environment. Sue and Malcolm were very good friendly and informative hosts . You can completely lose yourself in the beautiful panoramic breathtaking views that surround the cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxing environment.
Liked least: The Weather
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2016
Thank you for your review, it was a pleasure to meet you, hope to see you again. Kind Regards Sue and Malcolm
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing