We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plas Uchaf Country Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Plas Uchaf Country Guest House
Ranked #1 of 4 Llanfyllin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Beautiful location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

We have just come back from a 1 night stay at plas uchaf. We had such a wonderful time. Service was fantastic. Food was lovely and there was a great selection for breakfast. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pennykosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
67
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

We enjoyed our stay and cannot fault a thing. We had the garden room which allowed our dog Bella to stop. The room was very spacious and clean. They had made the bed into a king size and was extremely comfy! A good selection of drinks and snacks available in the rooms hamper basket-makes a nice touch. Toiletries available in the room of good quality.

On arrival we were made a cup of tea and some provided with some lovely scones-a nice touch. We booked in for an evening meal and we enjoyed the peace and quiet over our meal. I would have liked my duck to been more medium-rare as it was a little over cooked, but that maybe just my preference. The honesty bar has a good selection of drinks and we made good use of this facility. We even managed to squeeze in a quick game of tennis after our evening meal!
Breakfast was very delicious and a good range of hot and cold food available. As we were in the garden room we had our own area where we sat and had evening drinks and played a little music to late evening (we didn't disturb anybody).

We really loved it here and we are already planning our next visit! Thank you Chris and Julie for your hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rose4232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

We stayed for just one night - but wish it had been longer. It was one of the nicest places i have ever stayed at. Great room, open fire downstairs, close to local pubs. I can highly recommend this guest house. We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkJ0607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlasUchaf, Owner at Plas Uchaf Country Guest House, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay. Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

We chose the worst weekend for weather possible, by Saturday the drive up to this Queen Anne house was under 18 inches of snow. Chris & Julie looked after us really well with great food and accommodation, even though we were pretty house bound for a few days. We had taken over the hotel for a family Diamond Wedding Celebration so the older members of the family were happy to sit by the log fire whilst younger members toboggan'd in the field in front of the house.
I'm sure Plas Uchaf is beautiful any time of year, but the snow actually made it extra special..

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlasUchaf, Owner at Plas Uchaf Country Guest House, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
You all seemed to have fun despite the snow. Glad that you came in such difficult conditions. Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

We arrived at night & the place looked stunning from the road and the drive up towards the house, even if a little spooky! Our room was massive, with everything you need, well stocked tea & coffee.
Had the best nights sleep, breakfast was plentiful, yogurt, fruit, croissants, cereal, and thats before your cooked breakfast.
Not too far away, we drove to the waterfall, had a walk up, & if your brave enough look over, (I wasn't!)
And then a drive a little further to Lake Vernwy where we hired bikes from the cafe.
And what better to go back to than the biggest bath tub.
We did have an evening meal which was 1st class.
There is an honesty bar, well stocked.
Would defiantly return & recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sueandmark_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlasUchaf, Owner at Plas Uchaf Country Guest House, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Thanks for your kind comments. Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

My wife an have just returned to Cumbria after a lovely break in Wales and Shropshire. Chris and Julie made our short stay really welcoming and we just loved the hotel, food and the surroundings. On arrival a pot of tea and some warm fruit scones was a lovely start to our stay. In the blink of an eye it was over so quickly, but we had a lovely evening meal to celebrate my wife's birthday. Delightfully cooked, we had homemade soup and warm crusty buns followed by the lamb steak which was delightful, veg and then sticky toffee pudding (my wife's choice) and a fine selection of Welsh cheeses and biscuits for me. We had previously during the day complete a walk around Lake Vyrnwy (12 miles!!) so after the meal and a nice glass of wine we slept like a log in our wonderful room. So five stars to Plas Uchaf, we loved every minute and no doubt return in the future . . but maybe not the 12 mile walk, ha!!!

Room Tip: My tip would be . . just book the Plas Uchaf and enjoy!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CumbriaGraphicsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlasUchaf, Owner at Plas Uchaf Country Guest House, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Thank you for your comments. Perhaps try the bike hire for the 12 miles next time. Regards Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport
Level Contributor
104 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

Our daughter gave us a Voucher from Fresh Weekends "A Room With A View " to celebrate our 43rd Wedding Anniversary and we chose Plas Uchaf from the available properties.
And we have to say it was a delightful stay for the one night we had.
On arrival we thought the welcome could have been a little less business like and the offer of a cup of tea would have been nice, however we were a little early and Chris said our room was not ready. Chris did offer that our bags could be left, and suggested we pay a visit to Pystill Rhaeadr waterfall the highest in England and Wales, which we did. On return our room would be ready, which it was.
We stayed in the Abington room a premier Double Ensuite which was a tad cold at first the heating not being on for that long. A lovely large bed (super king size) very comfortable with warm duvet. Period furniture only problem we almost needed step ladders to hang our clothes!
a large carpeted bathroom with bath and shower.
We arranged to have Dinner that evening which was delicious and good value at £19 for three courses. We said we would have pre dinner drinks in the lounge and it would have been nice had the log fire been lit and we may have spent more money in the honesty bar. We can only think as we were the only guests they would not bother with lighting the fire which was a shame. Could be that we where a Voucher customer!
We got a nice reception from the chickens that would have got into the car without any problem!!
The breakfast was first class the eggs from the chickens wonderful.
We would stay again if in the area, the hospitality would be a little more friendly without a pre-payment Voucher we think.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VanClomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanfyllin
3.8 mi away
Cain Valley Hotel
Cain Valley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanfyllin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
10.2 mi away
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llanwddyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,398 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Welshpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Premier Inn Oswestry Hotel
5.3 mi away
The West Arms Hotel
The West Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Llanarmon DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
20.5 mi away
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
#8 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plas Uchaf Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Uchaf Country Guest House

Property: Plas Uchaf Country Guest House
Address: Plas Ucha Tanat Valley | nr Oswestry, Llanfyllin SY10 9LD, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llanfyllin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Llanfyllin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Plas Uchaf Country Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your Plas Uchaf Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plas Uchaf Country Guest House Llanfyllin, UK - Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing