We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Coaching Inn”
Review of Cain Valley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cain Valley Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llanfyllin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The Cain Valley Hotel, is a very nice Coaching Inn full of character. The owners and staff were very friendly and the food was very good, especially the breakfasts. There was a friendly bar full of atmosphere, and the bedrooms are clean and have beams. There is also a lovely little walk down the side of the hotel, where from an old bridge we saw a Dipper and an otter!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benjamin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

Stayed here with a group of lads during the Plains Rally. Good enough Hotel. It is an old building, but was warm and clean and the staff were nice and friendly. The rooms are large and well furnished. The bar is nice and the beer was goon. The food there was fast and of good quality. Did just what we wanted.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We booked this hotel at very short notice as we had to travel unexpectedly to go to a funeral.
The hotel was well presented and clean, with a lovely old world charm. Unfortunately the organisation and quality of facilities were somewhat lacking.

We checked in and said we would be having dinner. When we went for dinner we were told that we should be able to get a table in the lounge bar after the customers left. After half an hour we were advised that the lounge bar had not emptied as expected but there was a small dining room off the bar, alternatively we could eat in the main dining room but the heating would have to be turned on first!.

We ate in the small room off the lounge bar; one meal was cold and we were told that the cook would be advised. The red wine was so cold it had no flavour.

The following morning a relative who had travelled with us said that she had no hot water at all in her room, the management response was that they thought it would be ok as it was next to our room.

Breakfast was served in the dining room and was very good.

Our impression was that we were the only group in the hotel and the hotel was operating on a shoestring. This was a shame as it is a very pleasant, clean hotel full of old world charm.

Room Tip: Ensure the hot water works in your allocated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rickanddenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We were looking for an overnight stop , traveling Lancashire to Pembrokeshire , found this on hotels.com. Room 9 clean, spacious, warm and very comfortable. Staff friendly , and very helpful. Evening meal and breakfast to be recommended. Excellent value

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank clinicstb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

For the last seven years we have visited the Cain Valley Hotel for many special family meals/gatherings and , well really for a meal out. We have nothing but praise for both the quality of meals and certainly the service .
The menu offers an excellent choice and we have nothing but praise for the staff service.
Many thanks .

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Alwyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Because of business responsibilities in the area I needed to stay over on New Year's Eve. I have absolutely no regrets about staying in the Cain Valley hotel. As mentioned in other reviews this hotel has very uneven floors but this adds to the charm of the place. My room was very spacious and comfortable, giving me all I needed without the unnecessary accessories provided in chain hotels. I will definitely be back .

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Llanfyllin is NOT on any beaten track so you need to want to be here.... That being said, the Cain Valley Hotel is a very nice place to rest your weary head. Don't expect boutique style, pillow menus or selections of toiletries. You will get huge dark beams, horse brasses, patterned carpets, really creaky, uneven floors and a generally old fashioned air. However, what you also get is really helpful, friendly staff, really tasty, inexpensive, well proportioned meals, a very comfortable bed and a general feeling of good value and a feeling of satisfaction at having found a great night's accommodation. The hotel is over 300 years old so is doing fairly well...

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BreeSee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanfyllin
7.5 mi away
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llanwddyn
1,608 reviews
15.2 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montgomery
299 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Welshpool
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
The West Arms Hotel
The West Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Llanarmon DC
603 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Hand at Llanarmon
The Hand at Llanarmon
#2 of 2 in Llanarmon DC
450 reviews
22.1 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cain Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cain Valley Hotel

Address: High Street, Llanfyllin SY22 5AQ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llanfyllin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llanfyllin
Price Range: £64 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cain Valley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cain Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cain Valley Hotel Llanfyllin, UK - Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing