We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
41
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
41
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews warm welcome lovely garden home from home diane jams breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2017

David and Diane were there for all our needs. Food was excellent and jams a speciality. A good base from which to visit areas of Wales. We recommend this B&B to all. David had a wealth of information on a variety of subjects, especially the Welsh language and local places.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Aargonbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2017 via mobile

Rhyd Hir really feels like home from home. David and Diane are fantastic hosts, we were given a warm welcome into their beautiful B&B, shown around their well presented home and their lovely garden. It was a shame the weather didn't really allow for us to enjoy the garden but we made use of the conservatory and the peace and quiet. David had plenty of advice and suggestions for places to eat and visit, printing off helpful information where necessary. Diane's bread and jams every morning made breakfast extra special and we sampled some flapjack one evening too - delicious! We would absolutely recommend staying here, we had a wonderful time.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank worrywitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dafydd_G, Owner at Rhyd Hir B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2017

It was our pleasure; we love making sure our guests make the most of their stay, especially since this area is so beautiful and so little known. It's really important that when folks come to an area they don't know that they visit and eat at the best places, so we ensure that we do all we can to help. Thank you so much for the recommendation, we look forward to seeing you both in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2016

Rhyd Hir is a hidden treasure. Tucked away down a farm track, away from the worries of everyday life, as soon as you step in you feel at home. It is a beautiful house, and my room was lovely. Spacious and tastefully decorated and comfortable. The bathroom is spotless and with lovely toiletries.

David is a mine of information about the area and where to go and eat in the evenings. The breakfast is divine, with local produce (bacon and sausages from the local butchers, eggs from the local farms) not to mention the bread Diane makes (including grinding her own flour) and homemade jam & marmalade (which you can buy along with chutney - which I did!)

It is well placed for visiting all sorts of locations, such as Lake Vyrnwy, Bala, Snowdonia, Shrewsbury, Powis Castle, Chirk Castle...

I had a wonderful stay and will definitely be back.

Room Tip: There are two rooms available - both are wonderful!
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexGander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2016

Exceptional B&B. Stayed a couple of nights with a friend. The rooms were spotless, large and with good linen. I don't think I have ever slept so well when away from home - there's just no noise except the odd owl.

Diane and David were very welcoming and in fact invited us out for dinner with the Fron Choir which was a stunning evening and clearly David's passion. Breakfast was perfect and we were treated to wine and a chat in the garden in the evening. Can't fault it really.

Do note there are no TVs or Radios in this property - which to my mind is great and adds to the tranquil atmosphere. David ensures there is a good WiFi connection so if you were desperate to watch something I suggest you download onto a tablet before you go - but really there's no need - just enjoy the quiet. I like Radio 4 and was able to listen to that on my phone using the WiFi in the mornings.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dafydd_G, Owner at Rhyd Hir B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2016

Thank you so much for the review. David and I really enjoyed looking after both of you, and look forward to seeing you again some time in the future. As for radio and television, both rooms are equipped with digital clocks with inbuilt FM radios and if anyone wishes to watch TV we are happy to set up a computer and screen in either bedrooms or in the conservatory to enable guests to watch live or catch-up TV. Having said that, the majority of guests prefer to be away from the TV; our WiFi service is free and unlimited and we also provide guests with free telephone calls to the UK and 64 other countries - Diane Griffiths

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2015

David and Diane made us very welcome. Beautifully restored house with a very comfortable double bedroom with the biggest bed I have ever seen! Very clean room and bathroom, excellent facilities and generous breakfast and David is a diamond mine of local information. Highly recommend this B and B.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wolfes2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews