We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality without pretence. No higher accolade in my book.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lake Country House & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 January 2008

This is a great hotel if you want peace, calmness and quality. Beautifully appointed, stunning grounds and walks a-plenty..... or sofas equally plentiful if you just fancy curling up with a book with the only noise being the grandfather clock ticking in the lounge.
Very best of all is that there is no piped music......not anywhere. Sheer bliss. Rooms are great, food excellent and it was lovely to compliment the chef who said thanks and immediately praised his team. A rare chef these days who not only cooks well but who can also lead and develop a team and be understated about it all. How refreshing is that?!
This is a place to go if you like quality without pretence. Attention to detail is excellent and housekeeping is of the 'good fairy' variety.....we saw no-one but our room was miraculously cleaned every day to a high standard. What a nice change not to be tripping over vacuum leads and negotiating cleaning trolleys.
The place has an appearance of ticking along like a well regulated clock. That only ever happens as a result of hard work, good organisation and meticulous attention to service. It is a credit to the owner (whom we met and who was involved, interested and friendly) and the excellent team of staff working there.
The spa was a delight and if Lisa does your massage you're in for a treat.
Without doubt we will be back.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank thisishowitwas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (918)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

902 - 908 of 918 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2007

My wife and I have just returned from the Lake Country House after having spent just one night there for my wifes 40th birthday.I have to say from the moment you drive up nothing was too much trouble.Before the wheels had stopped turning a young man was opening my wifes door and ready to carry our case.The weather was a lovely late summers day so we had a sandwich out in the garden where we were soon joined by Cassie the labrador.The grounds are lovely and so peaceful and Cassie was only too keen to show us them.We made full use of the Spa including massage ,sauna, jacuzzi and pool before making our way back for afternoon tea. Homemade scones and cakes served by a uniformed butler by a log burning fire in a Victorian drawing room.We did dress smartly for dinner but other people were in jeans so dont worry too much about it . Tim the maitre'd is the archetypal English butler and wouldnt look out of place in an Agatha Crystie film ,very formal but also with a sense of humour.Food was top notch as expected.The bedrooms were large and well decorated with an enormous bathroom.Overall this hotel was excellent.Not cheap but well worth the experience for a short stay.One small gripe is the golf course could do with some TLC but thats being picky.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 007Hereford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2007

This place is a wonderful retreat in deepest countryside, just perfect for a get-away-from-it-all break.

The main hotel is Victorian, with many period features. However, there is a separate modern annexe plus a spa, which brings the place right in to the 21st century. We stayed for a 2 day break as a family and occupied 3 rooms in the annexe. All the rooms are large suite-style arrangements, with separate sitting area and bedroom, plus a large well appointed bathroom. The rooms are very modern and include TV and internet access. TV channels are very limited, but we did not find this a problem.

All the rooms have great westerly views down to the river. The rooms are light and airy and welcoming.

The hotel is set in magnificent grounds that include a long stretch along the River Irfon, a large tributary of the Wye. Fishing is available, but the river walk is wonderful at any time - but you may need to bring suitable footware as it can get muddy. There is also a small Par 3 golf course which is also good for walking. The small town of Llangammarch Wells is an easy stroll of a mile or so from the hotel - and interesting trips into the mountains can be made on foot or by car from the hotel.

We enjoyed the modern Spa - there is a large indoor swimming pool which is kept at a very comfortable temperature. There is also a Jacuzzi. The Spa also includes various treatments, although we did not try these. There is also a new tennis court and a large sweep of gardens in front of the hotel.

Dinner and breakfast are very good. The dinner menu changes daily and there is a choice of 3 main courses. The style of food is somewhat "nouvelle cuisine" - great combinations of ingredients, although the servings are on the small side. Wine list is extensive without being extortionately expensive. Service was a little patchy - one of the main courses was delayed by 5 minutes on our second night, which was annoying.

We paid "half price" of £190 per night for a double room, dinner bed & breakfast, under a special offer. This was good value for money. If we had paid "full price" of £380 per night we would have thought it overpriced.

So, well worth it for a great getaway, but make sure you don't pay "full price".

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Inglenook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2007

We recently spent a wonderful weekend at the Lake Country House. It is a beautiful building, set in gorgeous grounds, with a lovely spa overlooking the lake. The rooms are lovely, if a little 80's in decor, and the bathroom left much to be desired, but the wonderful staff made up for everything. From the instant we arrived we felt that we could ask for anything and they'd be pleased to help us and we got the impression that there was real team work between the staff as we ate our meals in the evening, led by the wonderful Luke. It was a nice almost familial atmosphere.

The amazing chefs, led by Sean Cullingford, produced beautiful fine dining in the evening, and the English Toffee Creme Brulee that my husband had for dessert may be the best we have ever tasted. Learning it was made by the receptionists fiance as we checked out and passed on our compliments added to the family atmosphere we mentioned earlier.

Unfortunately, we felt our trip was highly let down by the owner. He seemed rude and patronising, and we were embarrassed by the way he spoke to many of his staff.

Still, as we have said everyone else that we dealt with was excellent, and we wouldn't hesitate to come back. We just may check whether he'll be about first!

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank travelling_belle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2007

If you want a wondeful break in a beautiful but not snotty hotel where the staff are welcoming and will do almost ANYTHING to make your stay memorable, then this is the place to go.

We went with children, one of whom was unwell so not impeccably behaved but not once where we made to feel awkward. High tea was organised by reception without us having to ask, our baby food was stored in the kitchens and heated as soon as we needed. Baby listening, getting rarer in this Health and safety mad world was available. They even let us keep our room for the best part of the last day so our baby could sleep while we enjoyed lunch!

The afternoon tea is a cross between the Ritz and an afternoon with Miss Marple.
The massage in the spa was wonderful, and the views from the hot tub, with snow falling on the lake was incredible.

Roaring fires glow in the lounges, canapes are served before dinner whilst beds are turned down. The rooms are pretty and welcoming full of antiques and designed individually to look like they should -for a Country House.

Don't expect fast food because there aren't millions of staff buzzing around and it is lounge service only but do expect to be waited on hand and foot. To really feel like you are in a Country House they even have a true Butler! I want a Tim at home, he was a real treat and made our stay even more memorable. The owner Pierre also was very approachable and wanted to do all he could to make us feel welcome and it worked.

We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank awifeandtwokids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2006

Loved this hotel! After a long train journey we arrived at this lovely spot at a lake. We had booked a suite which was situated in the newer block and we had spacious room to stretch out. Everything was pretty new and also the bathroom. They serve afternoon tea in the main house in the lobby which we took once. I cannot say anything about the Dinners, as we never had one, but breakfast could have been better. Buffet was not quite a big selection and the servants in the main dinning room were mostly from different countries which made the conversation a bit difficult.
The best at the hotel were the area around, the lake, the spa and the two black dogs, Cassie and Belle, who love to take you for a walk. Cassie is a very clever and smart dog and you will have a lot of fun with her. Belle is a bit old and likes to lay just around.
I would definitively return to this wonderful place.
Only one negative point we had: at 11p.m. the fire alarm went on in our room and it took about 1 hour to solve the problem for the boss and his employee. Beside this we had a good nights spleep and got an discount for this interruption at night.
Highly recommended for people who love peace and quietness!

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Englandish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2006

Really enjoyed our stay here. We'd had a long drive from London to be there and went over an MoD road where we worried we'd get shot by the army. We were greeted by a black labrador who wanted to go for a walk with us! The room was very nice - though need a ladder to climb on the bed (old fashioned bed which is a little higher than the norm). Great bathroom and nice views over the gardens below. We went swimming, which was very nice. The outdoor jacuzzi looking over the lake is also good (the downside being you have to traipse through reception to get there). The food here was excellent - and I enjoyed the fire and lounge area with chess games/board games.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lovvers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangammarch Wells
11.8 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
642 reviews
11.0 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
1,349 reviews
5.5 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Builth Wells
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 3 in Llandeilo
836 reviews
15.8 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
970 reviews
24.1 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#2 of 3 in Crickhowell
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lake Country House & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake Country House & Spa

Address: Llangammarch Wells | Powys, Llangammarch Wells LD4 4BS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llangammarch Wells
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llangammarch Wells
Price Range: £115 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lake Country House & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake Country House Hotel is a 4 star hotel set in the Heart of Mid Wales and is the perfect destination for a luxury hotel break or romantic getaway. The Spa offers a range of Heath and Beauty treatments and is equipped with and indoor pool, sauna and Jacuzzi overlooking the lake. Game Fishing and golf are available on site and there is a good range of other golf courses in the area. Horse riding, the Elan Valley and of course the Brecon Beacons are all near by.An air of elegance and calm informality pervades this exquisitely furnished Welsh country house hotel. Standing serenely in its own fifty acres of parkland, with sweeping lawns, rhododendron lined pathways and riverside walks, this magnificent mid wales hotel is comfort epitomised.The country house itself is an architectural bagatelle, begun in 1840 and remodeled in 1900. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lake Country House & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lake Country House And Spa
The Lake Country House Hotel Llangammarch Wells
The Lake Country Hotel
Lake Country Hotel
The Lake Country House & Spa Llangammarch Wells, Wales - Powys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing